View Dates & Prices

Rome: The City Experience

7 days City Stay
Step wholeheartedly into the Roman experience and make the Eternal City your home away from home. Explore legendary landmarks and ancient ruins. Mingle with the locals who go about their lives in the shadow of ancient ruins. And even walk underneath the city’s streets. We promise, you’re going to leave feeling like an insider.

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Tour group size: 18 - 35 travelers

Tour pace: You will walk for about 2 hours daily across mostly flat terrain, including cobblestone streets and dirt paths, with few hills and stairs.

Celebrate New Year's Eve in Rome on a special winter departure of this tour.

See itinerary

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Your tour includes

  • 5 nights in a well-located hotel

  • Breakfast daily, welcome dinner

  • Signature farewell dinner experience with cooking class

  • Multilingual Tour Director

  • Panoramic sightseeing tour of Rome with a local guide

  • 4-day Metro pass

Overnight Flight 1 night

Day 1: Travel day

Board your overnight flight to Rome today.

Rome 5 nights Hotel info

Day 2: Arrival in Rome

  Included meals: Dinner

Welcome to Italy! Transfer to your hotel and settle in. Then, meet your Tour Director and fellow travelers at tonight’s welcome dinner.

Day 3: Sightseeing tour of Rome

  Included meals: Breakfast

Embark on a guided tour of the Eternal City, uncovering landmarks that were once at the epicenter of an empire.

• Pass by Trajan’s Column and Piazza Venezia, the city’s central hub

• Stop at the ruins of the ancient Roman Forum, once the setting of parades, elections and trials 

• Soak up over 2,000 years of history in Imperial Rome, viewing the Arch of Constantine, the Arch of Titus and the Temple of Venus and Roma

• Enter the Colosseum, the largest amphitheater of the Roman Empire, and take time to explore on your own

Enjoy a free afternoon in Rome or add an excursion. (It may be offered on day 6, depending on the day of the week.)

Optional Excursion - Ancient Rome: St. Paul’s Basilica & the Catacombs $65pp* Details

Descend into Rome’s ancient catacombs, where early Christians buried saints and popes alongside commoners. A local guide will lead you through burial chambers before your visit to St. Paul’s Basilica, one of the four most important basilicas of Rome, originally founded by Constantine the Great. The Basilica also houses the tomb of St. Paul. Please note: Shorts and sleeveless shirts are not permitted within the basilica. Also, this excursion involves extensive walking and may be inadvisable for claustrophobic travelers.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $75)

Day 4: Free day in Rome

  Included meals: Breakfast

Enjoy a free day in Rome at your leisure or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - A Day in Pompeii $169pp* Details

Travel to Pompeii for a guided tour of the famous ruins. Discover how Roman citizens lived 2,000 years ago, before Mount Vesuvius erupted and smothered the town of Pompeii in a flood of volcanic ash. Visit the excavated ruins of theaters, villas, temples and baths. Lunch is included. Please note: Travel time to Pompeii is approximately 2.5 hours each way.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $179)

Day 5: Free day in Rome

  Included meals: Breakfast

Spend another free day exploring the city or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - A Day in Florence: Renaissance Art & Architecture $199pp* Details

Journey by train on a daytrip to Florence, birthplace of Italian language, the Renaissance and opera. Your walking tour of the historic city begins at the iconic Duomo. Explore the legendary cathedral’s interior and view Giotto’s Campanile, before visiting the Baptistery of St. John with its east doors which Michelangelo called the “Gates of Paradise.” Then, pass the Dante’s House Museum en route to the Arno River where you’ll see the medieval Ponte Vecchio. Continue along the river through the courtyard of the Uffizi Gallery to Piazza della Signoria and Palazzo Vecchio. Enjoy free time in the city for shopping and lunch before heading back to Rome.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $209)

Day 6: Cooking class & farewell dinner

  Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Enjoy another free day or add an excursion.(It may be offered on day 3, depending on the day of the week.)

Later this evening, join your group for a special cooking class and dinner. You’ll craft handmade pasta with the help of a chef before tasting your creations and toasting your trip with local wine.

Optional Excursion - Iconic Sights: Vatican City $99pp* Details

This guided tour takes you inside the world’s smallest state, Vatican City. Upon arrival, you’ll first visit the Vatican Museums, which recently celebrated a 500-year anniversary and hold many of the world’s most important Classical- and Renaissance-era sculptures. Next, visit the Sistine Chapel, where you’ll gaze on what is perhaps Michelangelo’s greatest masterpiece. Finally, you’ll visit the enormous St. Peter’s Basilica, the epicenter of the Roman Catholic faith. The artists whose efforts have contributed to its glory are some of the best Italy has ever known, including Bramante, Peruzzi, Raphael and Michelangelo. Masterpieces await at every turn, from Bernini’s magnificent bronze canopy to Michelangelo’s Pietà. Please note: This excursion is not available on Sundays. Backpacks are not allowed in the Vatican and a dress code of no shorts or sleeveless shirts is enforced.

Must be booked 70 days before departure

Day 7: Departure

  Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

If you aren’t extending your stay in Rome, transfer to the airport for your flight home.

Add Rome Starting from pp

Please note: Extension is not available on all departure dates.

Only in Rome can you sip cappuccino at a cafe in front of the Pantheon, buy grapes at a centuries-old market, and have an audience with the pope—all in one morning. For a mix of spectacular art, grand history and exuberant street life, no other city comes close.

Rome 2 nights Hotel info

Day 7: Free day in Rome

  Included meals: Breakfast

Enjoy a day at your leisure or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Castel Gandolfo & Wine Tasting $75pp* Details

Leave the city behind and enjoy an afternoon in Lazio’s wine country. Begin your excursion with a stop at Castel Gandolfo, a gorgeous village draped on the shores of Lake Albano. You’ll have the opportunity to stroll through the square that’s home to the Papal Palace, the Pope’s summer residence. Later, you’ll travel to a vineyard in nearby Ariccia for a wine tasting, where you’ll sample a variety of wines as well as homemade olive oils and other specialties.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $85)

Optional Excursion - Dinner with Tenors $79pp* Details

End your day with an elegant four-course dinner at one of our favorite Roman restaurants. While you dine, you’ll be treated to some of opera’s best-loved arias…and you might even join the singers on stage. Don’t miss this lighthearted evening of food and fun! Please note: This excursion is seasonal and runs from February through November.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $89)

Day 8: Free day in Rome

  Included meals: Breakfast

Spend another free day in the city or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Ancient Ostia Antica $85pp* Details

Situated on the Mediterranean at the mouth of the Tiber River, Ostia was once the bustling seaport for the city of Rome and home to more than 50,000 people in the second century. When the Roman Empire fell, the port was abandoned and eventually covered in silt from the river—a natural phenomenon that preserved much of the ancient architecture. You’ll take a guided tour of the excavated city, viewing the remnants of the Ancient Roman lifestyle, including a forum, a theater, bars and restaurants, public baths, religious temples and apartment blocks, many of which are still decorated with the original mosaics and painted walls.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $95)

Day 9: Departure

  Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

Transfer to the airport for your flight home.

How's the weather?

  • Rome, Italy
Temperature Precipitation
  • JAN
  • FEB
  • MAR
  • APR
  • MAY
  • JUN
  • JUL
  • AUG
  • SEP
  • OCT
  • NOV
  • DEC

Passport & Visa

In order to enter Italy, U.S. & Canadian citizens need a valid passport. The expiration date must extend at least six months beyond the date of your return home. No visa is required for U.S. or Canadian citizens. If you are not a U.S. or Canadian citizen, you must contact the Italian consulate for your specific entry requirements.

Health

There are no recommended immunizations for travel to Rome.

Cuisine

One of the most enjoyable aspects of traveling is the delightful variety of local cuisine. Most of the staples of the Italian diet have already become favorites in America, but on your tour, be sure to try those less familiar pasta sauces and the vast range of cured hams, cheeses, rustic breads and desserts.

Transportation / Walking on tour

Round-trip flights arrive in and depart from Rome. When you first arrive in Rome, a Go Ahead representative will meet you after clearing customs. Please remain in the arrival lounge, as the representative might be escorting one of your  fellow travelers to the bus at the time of your arrival.

Baggage Allowance

Airlines have varying weight restrictions on luggage. Some airlines may impose additional charges if you choose to check any baggage. Please contact your airline or refer to its website for detailed information regarding your airline’s checked baggage policies. Bear in mind that your luggage will probably weigh more on your return trip due to souvenir shopping. We allow only one suitcase per person. One carry-on bag is also permitted, provided that it does not exceed 45 inches (length + width + height). There may be times when you will have to handle your own bags, and you’ll find that lightweight luggage provides a distinct advantage. Make sure you label your baggage and carry valuables, medication and documents in your carry-on luggage.

Clothing and Packing Tips

To ensure you’re comfortable while out exploring, we recommend packing lightweight, loose-fitting clothing that can be easily layered. For sightseeing, we suggest bringing a sturdy pair of walking shoes or sneakers, as well as a lightweight sports jacket or rainwear. If you’re planning a visit to a high-end restaurant or performance, you may also want to bring dressier attire. Also, please remember that it’s preferable to avoid showing bare legs or shoulders during visits to churches or other religious sites (entrance may be denied on this basis).

Currency

The euro is the currency you’ll use on tour. Better rates of exchange are usually available in your destination countries, although it’s worth ordering some currency from your local bank to use when you first arrive. We advise that you take a combination of bank/ATM cards and credit cards, as needed. We suggest that you inform your bank and credit card company of your travel plans, so that they won’t confuse your international purchases for fraudulent charges. 

Tipping

At the conclusion of your tour, it’s customary to offer your Tour Director and driver a gratuity. We recommend tipping in your tour country’s currency, the equivalent of $3USD/CAD per person per day for your driver and $6USD/CAD to $9USD/CAD per person per day for your Tour Director. If applicable, we also recommend the equivalent of $2USD/CAD per local guide. Tips can only be paid in cash. Please keep current local currency exchange rates in mind when tipping.

See what our travelers say about this tour—all reviews are authentic and unedited.

Have you been on tour with us? Visit My Account to submit a review.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 7/14/2016

Number of Past Tours: 5

From: TX

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Rome

Excellent experience. Eventhough the welcome dinner was below expectations, the tour in overall was excellent and the hotel location and the transportation pass made it very easy to move around.

 

Hi Jose! We're so glad you enjoyed your tour. Thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | August 19, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 6/25/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: WY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Magical

I read reviews on this trip and was very excited to go. I also heard bad reviews about the hotel that they usually book with this tour and I thought it was amazing! They were all so nice and helpful. This trip was simply magical and I will always book with GAT because they make it stress free. Literally, our trip was stress free, which was much needed for my husband and I who were out celebrating our 10 year anniversary. Thanks GO AHEAD TOURS!!!

 

Hi Theresa! First of all, happy belated anniversary! What a lovely way to celebrate. We're thrilled to learn that your tour was magical and stress-free. We're also glad that you enjoyed your accommodations and will be sure to share this feedback with our Operations team. Thank you for your review, and let us know when you're ready to travel again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | July 22, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 6/25/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Rome

This was my first time to Rome and wanted to see it as a guided tour. I chose Go Ahead because of the length of the tour and the variety of places to visit in and around Rome. The Hotel D'Azeglio was fantastic in both location and historical feel. The breakfasts were great, varied and the staff were pleasant. The tour guide, Stefani, was extremely friendly and helpful and made the tour wonderful. The Thursday farewell dinner at a place to make our own pasta and enjoy eating it was a superb ending, when many left. The only problem I had with the tour was that I had signed up for all of the optional tours (except for Florence because I had been there many times before) and had hoped that all my time was with the guided tour. When I arrived on Sunday, Stefani told me that optional tours needed a minimal number and that several of my tours would be canceled unless more people signed up. It was for these optional tours that I had signed up for this tour with Go Ahead and was quite disillusioned with this. I did not see anything that said the optimal tours needed a minimal number before signing up. Luckily, she talked more people into going to Pompei, the Sistine Chapel, and the Catacombs so those tours happened. My tours on the Friday and Saturday extension were canceled and I found myself alone for 2 days which is not what I expected on this tour. Luckily Stefani gave us a 7 day metro/bus pass and I did get around, but I was not happy to be left alone.

 

Dear Mary, We're glad that overall you enjoyed your tour experience. However, we regret that it was unclear to you that optionals require a minimum number of participants to run. This policy is outlined in our Terms & Conditions, which you signed prior to departure. One of our Quality Control team members gave you a call to discuss your experience but was unable to reach you. If you would like to discuss your concerns, please give us a call at 1-800-597-0350. Thank you very much for your review.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | August 11, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 3/19/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: OH

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Best Tour Director!

Michia was educated, familiar, and real. The kids and I all felt comfortable and secure. Her choice of restaurants were fabulous and all other tour guides were very good. We had a blast making our own noodles and the master chef was magnificent. The beauty and history of Rome is stunning and captivating. Was not impressed with the room we stayed in but the hotel itself was very nice and the breakfast was phenomenal.

1 / 27
 

Hi Joan! We’re so glad you enjoyed your tour of Rome. It sounds like you and your kids had a fabulous time with your Tour Director, eating delicious Italian food, and even learning how to cook it! We agree that the beauty and history of Rome is captivating, which is why we love this tour, as it gives travelers an opportunity to explore it more in-depth. We regret to hear that you were not impressed with your room, but happy to hear the hotel itself was satisfactory. We will be sure to communicate your feedback to our team internally as well as our team on the ground in Rome. Thank you for your great review, and we hope to welcome you on tour again soon!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | April 18, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 3/19/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: TX

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

In The Company of Greatness!

Rome rejuvenated me as a Senior Citizen from Texas. As a construction superintendent to see the magnificent ancient churches and remains of Rome filled me with awe. All my needs were taken care of by Misa, our tour guide who was available at all hous. The pace of the tour was just right leaving us with plenty of free time to explore at our leisure. My wife uses a cane because of a titanium ankle and she loved the sites and did well in the City of Seven Hills! Want to go back! Florence and the high speed train was so exciting!

 

Hi Gilbert! We’re so glad you felt rejuvenated by your time in Rome and that you were able to admire the architectural gems of the city. Rome truly fills one with awe! We’re also pleased to learn your needs were met by your expert Tour Director and that the pace of the tour was good for you and your wife. Thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you on tour again soon!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | April 18, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 12/5/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: PA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Great trip!

This was my first time with goahead.com, first time out of the country (US), and first time traveling alone. Needless to say, I was nervous! However, the people I met in my tour group were great and my tour guide was the best! If you're into the art and history of Rome, you will love this tour. I'm a young, city girl, and used to a fast-paced, modern lifestyle, so admittedly some things were a little boring and redundant, but that still didn't stop me from having a great time! The only negative was the occasional dirty looks and rude attitudes I'd get from older Italians. There's not many African Americans there (besides mostly annoying vendors) and it's obvious I'm not European, so I was certainly an anomaly, lol. Either way, I had a WONDERFUL time!! I definitely recommend this tour!

 

Dear Nicole, Welcome home, and thank you very much for writing this thoughtful review of your time with us in Rome. We are so honored that you chose to take your first trip outside of the United States with Go Ahead. We were, however, troubled by your account of your treatment by the Italians that you came into contact with while in Rome. We have tried to reach out to you to learn more, but were unable to connect. If you would like to discuss your experience, please call us at 1(800) 597-0350. We hope that you will continue to travel and see the world, and that we have the opportunity to welcome you onto a future Go Ahead tour.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | December 24, 2015

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 12/5/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: CA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Such a great city experience!

Thank you Go Ahead! This was both my first solo trip and my first time using Go Ahead Tours. The trip was fantastic. It was perfect blend of structure and free time, and as a solo traveler, it was pretty much perfect (our group has a nice balance of couples and solo travelers). The logistics were well executed; the first night's group dinner was a perfect way to start (and the restaurant was excellent, authentic Italian). Our tour guide, David, was knowledgeable, patient and friendly. I am really glad I experienced Rome with Go Ahead, as the planned segments provided great structure, for me to then explore additionally in my free time. It was also great to meet the people in my group. I don't know how much control Go Ahead has over the composition, but our group was a really neat mix of personalities. One of my favorite moments of the trip was sharing the train ride to Florence, and getting to know two of the people in my group and learning how they took such excellent photos (so now I have a new interest and appreciation for photography!). The excursions were well-chosen: I do recommend the catacombs (which I will never forget), the Vatican, and the Florence day trip.

1 / 22

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 11/7/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: HI

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Best tour ever!

I am a frequent traveler and have traveled to Europe many times but this was my first with GoAhead Tours. It most certainly will not be my last! From making the air and tour arrangements, to getting the unexpected but delightful GoAhead carry on bag, to being met at the airport, and most importantly, our fantastic tour director, Barbara V., to meeting some wonderful new friends, I can honestly say this was one of the best tours I have ever taken. I was especially impressed with our tour director, Barbara, who kept us organized and on schedule with detailed plans of the day posted on the hotel bulletin board. She also gave us custom wake-up calls depending on the day's activities. I also very much appreciated her help in calling a taxi for me and giving the driver explicit instructions for a non-GoAhead tour! This was certainly above and beyond the call of duty! Our group only had twelve people and they were all strangers to me, as this was the first European tour I took by myself since my husband died. By the first night, though, we were all friends. I was always included in the group's activities, even during the free time, so I never felt left out or lonely. There were so many highlights of our short five days in Rome, but certainly the Trevi Fountain (just reopened three days before), the Vatican, St. Peter's Basilica and Square stood out. I am glad I took the optional tour to Pompeii and was blown away by the wide scope and vastness of it. We were fortunate to have gone at just the right time of year: the weather was picture postcard perfect with clear blue skies and no rain. There were tourists, but it was not overly crowded as in my previous trip to Italy. Plus, the exchange of the euro to the dollar was at an all-time low. Thank you, GoAhead, for a fantastic experience!

1 / 1
 

Hi Katherine! We are absolutely thrilled to hear you had a fantastic experience on tour! We’re also very happy to hear you enjoyed your Go Ahead messenger bag. Hopefully it came in handy. Thank you for choosing Go Ahead, and we can’t wait to welcome you on another tour soon!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | December 31, 2015

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 10/3/2015

Number of Past Tours: 3

From: CO

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Fabulous!!!

This was my first tour with Go Ahead Tours. I traveled alone. Our Tour Director Vania was AMAZING! The hotel Massimo D' Azeglio was adorable. The staff were lovely and the buffet every morning was delicious with great choices. The excursions were excellent and a must. I met amazing people, ate the most delicious food, saw and learned so much, and never wanted to leave Rome...ever! I cannot say enough, except this tour is a MUST!! I am planning another trip with Go Ahead for this year. Thank you!!!

 

Hi Denise! Wow, thank you for the fabulous review! We love to hear that you had such a wonderful time on tour in Rome. We can understand why you didn’t want to leave! Between the food, the people, and the cultural and historical offerings, we agree that this tour is a must. We look forward to welcoming you on your next tour. Thank you again for your review, and thank you for choosing Go Ahead!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | January 20, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 10/3/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Amazing Trip!!

I traveled solo with Go Ahead to Rome. It was amazing! Not a single negative. Vania, our tour director, was helpful and gave great advice and suggestions for our free time. I met some great people and ate A LOT of great food. The hotel, Massimo D'Azeglio was great. Small rooms but they were clean and had their own bathrooms. The staff was also very friendly. Try the restaurant just around the corner on Via Principe Amedeo, sit outside and order the Pizza Margherita with buffalo mozzarella. I suggest you book all the excursions, the local tour guides were wonderful and they were all worth the cost. In Florence though tickets to the Academia and Uffizi weren't included so you'll want to book those on your own in advance, and also the Borghese Museum is a must as well (the excursion is on the extension so depending on the number staying it may be canceled, so I booked my own ticket in advance). I'm very happy with my choice to take this tour and I'm already planning another for next year!

Show More Reviews