View Dates & Prices

Rome: The City Experience

7 days City Stays
Make the Eternal City your home away from home, and step wholeheartedly into the Roman experience. Explore legendary landmarks and ancient ruins. Mingle with the locals who go about their lives in the shadow of ancient ruins. And even walk underneath the city’s streets. We promise, you’re going to leave feeling like an insider.

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Maximum tour group size: 35 travelers

Tour Pace: You will walk for about 2 hours daily across mostly flat terrain, including cobblestone streets and dirt paths, with few hills and stairs.

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Your tour includes

  • 5 nights in a well-located hotel

  • Breakfast daily, welcome dinner

  • Signature farewell dinner experience with cooking class

  • Multilingual Tour Director

  • Panoramic sightseeing tour of Rome with a local guide

  • 4-day Metro pass

Overnight Flight 1 night

Day 1: Travel day

Board your overnight flight to Rome today.

Rome 5 nights Hotel info

Day 2: Arrival in Rome

Included meals: Dinner

Welcome to Italy! Transfer to your hotel and settle in. Then meet your Tour Director and fellow travelers at tonight’s welcome dinner.

Day 3: Sightseeing tour of Rome

Included meals: Breakfast

Embark on a guided tour of the Eternal City, uncovering landmarks that were once at the epicenter of an empire.

• Pass by Trajan’s Column and Piazza Venezia, the city’s central hub

• Stop at the ruins of the ancient Roman Forum, once the setting of parades, elections and trials 

• Soak up over 2,000 years of history in Imperial Rome, viewing the Arch of Constantine, the Arch of Titus and the Temple of Venus and Roma

• Enter the Colosseum, the largest amphitheater of the Roman Empire, and take time to explore on your own

Enjoy a free afternoon in Rome or add an excursion. (It may be offered on day 6, depending on the day of the week.)

Optional Excursion - Ancient Rome: St. Paul’s Basilica & the Catacombs $65pp* Details

Descend into Rome’s ancient catacombs, where early Christians buried saints and popes alongside commoners. A local guide will lead you through burial chambers before your visit to St. Paul’s Basilica, one of the four most important basilicas of Rome, originally founded by Constantine the Great. The Basilica also houses the tomb of St. Paul. Please note: Shorts and sleeveless shirts are not permitted within the basilica. Also, this excursion involves extensive walking and may be inadvisable for claustrophobic travelers.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $75)

Day 4: Free day in Rome

Included meals: Breakfast

Enjoy a free day in Rome at your leisure or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - A Day in Pompeii $179pp* Details

Hop aboard a high-speed train to Naples. Then, transfer to Pompeii for a guided tour of the famous ruins. Discover how Roman citizens lived 2,000 years ago, before Mount Vesuvius erupted and smothered the town of Pompeii in a flood of volcanic ash. Visit the excavated ruins of theaters, villas, temples and baths. Return to Naples to enjoy free time in the city for lunch before returning by train to Rome.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $189)

Day 5: Free day in Rome

Included meals: Breakfast

Spend another free day exploring the city or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - A Day in Florence: Renaissance Art & Architecture $199pp* Details

Journey by train on a daytrip to Florence, birthplace of Italian language, the Renaissance and opera. Your walking tour of the historic city begins at the iconic Duomo. Explore the legendary cathedral’s interior and view Giotto’s Campanile, before visiting the Baptistery of St. John with its east doors which Michelangelo called the “Gates of Paradise.” Then, pass the Dante’s House Museum en route to the Arno River where you’ll see the medieval Ponte Vecchio. Continue along the river through the courtyard of the Uffizi Gallery to Piazza della Signoria and Palazzo Vecchio. Enjoy free time in the city for shopping and lunch before heading back to Rome.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $209)

Day 6: Cooking class & farewell dinner

Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Enjoy another free day or add an excursion.(It may be offered on day 3, depending on the day of the week.)

Later this evening, join your group for a special cooking class and dinner. You’ll craft handmade pasta with the help of a chef before tasting your creations and toasting your trip with local wine.

Optional Excursion - Iconic Sights: Vatican City $99pp* Details

This guided tour takes you inside the world’s smallest state, Vatican City. Upon arrival, you’ll first visit the Vatican Museums, which recently celebrated a 500-year anniversary and hold many of the world’s most important Classical and Renaissance-era sculptures. Next, you’ll visit the Sistine Chapel, where you’ll gaze on what is perhaps Michelangelo’s greatest masterpiece. Finally, you’ll visit the enormous St. Peter’s Basilica, the epicenter of the Roman Catholic faith. The artists whose efforts have contributed to its glory are some of the best Italy has ever known, including Bramante, Peruzzi, Raphael and Michelangelo. Masterpieces await at every turn, from Bernini’s magnificent bronze canopy to Michelangelo’s Pietà. Please note: This excursion is not available on Sundays. Backpacks are not allowed in the Vatican and a dress code of no shorts or sleeveless shirts is enforced. Due to events surrounding the Holy Year Jubilee in Rome in 2016, we cannot guarantee entrance into St. Peter’s Basilica between December 8, 2015 and November 20, 2016.

Must be booked 70 days before departure

Day 7: Departure

Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

If you aren’t extending your stay in Rome, transfer to the airport for your flight home.

Add Rome $299 pp

Please note: Extension is not available on all departure dates.

Only in Rome can you sip cappuccino at a cafe in front of the Pantheon, buy grapes at a centuries-old market, and have an audience with the pope—all in one morning. For a mix of spectacular art, grand history and exuberant street life, no other city comes close.

Rome 2 nights Hotel info

Day 7: Free day in Rome

Included meals: Breakfast

Enjoy a day at your leisure or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Castel Gandolfo & Wine Tasting $85pp* Details

Leave the city behind and enjoy an afternoon in Lazio’s wine country. Begin your excursion with a stop at Castel Gandolfo, a gorgeous village draped on the shores of Lake Albano. You’ll have the opportunity to stroll through the square that’s home to the Papal Palace, the Pope’s summer residence. Later, you’ll travel to a vineyard in nearby Ariccia for a wine tasting, where you’ll sample a variety of wines as well as homemade olive oils and other specialties.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $95)

Optional Excursion - Dinner with Tenors $89pp* Details

End your day with an elegant four-course dinner at one of our favorite Roman restaurants. While you dine, you’ll be treated to some of opera’s best-loved arias…and you might even join the singers on stage. Don’t miss this lighthearted evening of food and fun! Please note: This excursion is seasonal and runs from February through November.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $99)

Day 8: Free day in Rome

Included meals: Breakfast

Spend another free day in the city or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Ancient Ostia Antica $95pp* Details

Situated on the Mediterranean at the mouth of the Tiber River, Ostia was once the bustling seaport for the city of Rome and home to more than 50,000 people in the second century. When the Roman Empire fell, the port was abandoned and eventually covered in silt from the river—a natural phenomenon that preserved much of the ancient architecture. You’ll take a guided tour of the excavated city, viewing the remnants of the Ancient Roman lifestyle, including a forum, a theater, bars and restaurants, public baths, religious temples and apartment blocks, many of which are still decorated with the original mosaics and painted walls.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $105)

Day 9: Departure

Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

Transfer to the airport for your flight home.

How's the weather?

  • Rome, Italy
Temperature Precipitation
  • JAN
  • FEB
  • MAR
  • APR
  • MAY
  • JUN
  • JUL
  • AUG
  • SEP
  • OCT
  • NOV
  • DEC

Passport & Visa

In order to enter Italy, U.S. & Canadian citizens need a valid passport. The expiration date must extend at least six months beyond the date of your return home. No visa is required for U.S. or Canadian citizens. If you are not a U.S. or Canadian citizen, you must contact the Italian consulate for your specific entry requirements.

Health

There are no recommended immunizations for travel to Rome.

Cuisine

One of the most enjoyable aspects of traveling is the delightful variety of local cuisine. Most of the staples of the Italian diet have already become favorites in America, but on your tour, be sure to try those less familiar pasta sauces and the vast range of cured hams, cheeses, rustic breads and desserts.

Transportation / Walking on tour

Round-trip flights arrive in and depart from Rome. When you first arrive in Rome, a Go Ahead representative will meet you after clearing customs. Please remain in the arrival lounge, as the representative might be escorting one of your  fellow travelers to the bus at the time of your arrival.

Baggage Allowance

Airlines have varying weight restrictions on luggage. Some airlines may impose additional charges if you choose to check any baggage. Please contact your airline or refer to its website for detailed information regarding your airline’s checked baggage policies. Bear in mind that your luggage will probably weigh more on your return trip due to souvenir shopping. We allow only one suitcase per person. One carry-on bag is also permitted, provided that it does not exceed 45 inches (length + width + height). There may be times when you will have to handle your own bags, and you’ll find that lightweight luggage provides a distinct advantage. Make sure you label your baggage and carry valuables, medication and documents in your carry-on luggage.

Clothing and Packing Tips

To ensure you’re comfortable while out exploring, we recommend packing lightweight, loose-fitting clothing that can be easily layered. For sightseeing, we suggest bringing a sturdy pair of walking shoes or sneakers, as well as a lightweight sports jacket or rainwear. If you’re planning a visit to a high-end restaurant or performance, you may also want to bring dressier attire. Also, please remember that it’s preferable to avoid showing bare legs or shoulders during visits to churches or other religious sites (entrance may be denied on this basis).

Currency

The euro is the currency you’ll use on tour. Better rates of exchange are usually available in your destination countries, although it’s worth ordering some currency from your local bank to use when you first arrive. We advise that you take a combination of bank/ATM cards and credit cards, as needed. We suggest that you inform your bank and credit card company of your travel plans, so that they won’t confuse your international purchases for fraudulent charges. 

Tipping

At the conclusion of your tour, it’s customary to offer your Tour Director and driver a gratuity. We recommend tipping in your tour country’s currency, the equivalent of $3USD/CAD per person per day for your driver and $6USD/CAD to $9USD/CAD per person per day for your Tour Director. If applicable, we also recommend the equivalent of $2USD/CAD per local guide. Tips can only be paid in cash. Please keep current local currency exchange rates in mind when tipping.

See what our travelers say about this tour—all reviews are authentic and unedited.

Have you been on tour with us? Visit My Account to submit a review.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Traveled On: 10/3/2015

Number of Past Tours: 3

From: CO

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Fabulous!!!

This was my first tour with Go Ahead Tours. I traveled alone. Our Tour Director Vania was AMAZING! The hotel Massimo D' Azeglio was adorable. The staff were lovely and the buffet every morning was delicious with great choices. The excursions were excellent and a must. I met amazing people, ate the most delicious food, saw and learned so much, and never wanted to leave Rome...ever! I cannot say enough, except this tour is a MUST!! I am planning another trip with Go Ahead for this year. Thank you!!!

 

Hi Denise! Wow, thank you for the fabulous review! We love to hear that you had such a wonderful time on tour in Rome. We can understand why you didn’t want to leave! Between the food, the people, and the cultural and historical offerings, we agree that this tour is a must. We look forward to welcoming you on your next tour. Thank you again for your review, and thank you for choosing Go Ahead!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | January 20, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Traveled On: 11/7/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: HI

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Best tour ever!

I am a frequent traveler and have traveled to Europe many times but this was my first with GoAhead Tours. It most certainly will not be my last! From making the air and tour arrangements, to getting the unexpected but delightful GoAhead carry on bag, to being met at the airport, and most importantly, our fantastic tour director, Barbara V., to meeting some wonderful new friends, I can honestly say this was one of the best tours I have ever taken. I was especially impressed with our tour director, Barbara, who kept us organized and on schedule with detailed plans of the day posted on the hotel bulletin board. She also gave us custom wake-up calls depending on the day's activities. I also very much appreciated her help in calling a taxi for me and giving the driver explicit instructions for a non-GoAhead tour! This was certainly above and beyond the call of duty! Our group only had twelve people and they were all strangers to me, as this was the first European tour I took by myself since my husband died. By the first night, though, we were all friends. I was always included in the group's activities, even during the free time, so I never felt left out or lonely. There were so many highlights of our short five days in Rome, but certainly the Trevi Fountain (just reopened three days before), the Vatican, St. Peter's Basilica and Square stood out. I am glad I took the optional tour to Pompeii and was blown away by the wide scope and vastness of it. We were fortunate to have gone at just the right time of year: the weather was picture postcard perfect with clear blue skies and no rain. There were tourists, but it was not overly crowded as in my previous trip to Italy. Plus, the exchange of the euro to the dollar was at an all-time low. Thank you, GoAhead, for a fantastic experience!

review photo
1 / 1
 

Hi Katherine! We are absolutely thrilled to hear you had a fantastic experience on tour! We’re also very happy to hear you enjoyed your Go Ahead messenger bag. Hopefully it came in handy. Thank you for choosing Go Ahead, and we can’t wait to welcome you on another tour soon!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | December 31, 2015

4 / 5

4 / 5

Traveled On: 12/5/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: PA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Great trip!

This was my first time with goahead.com, first time out of the country (US), and first time traveling alone. Needless to say, I was nervous! However, the people I met in my tour group were great and my tour guide was the best! If you're into the art and history of Rome, you will love this tour. I'm a young, city girl, and used to a fast-paced, modern lifestyle, so admittedly some things were a little boring and redundant, but that still didn't stop me from having a great time! The only negative was the occasional dirty looks and rude attitudes I'd get from older Italians. There's not many African Americans there (besides mostly annoying vendors) and it's obvious I'm not European, so I was certainly an anomaly, lol. Either way, I had a WONDERFUL time!! I definitely recommend this tour!

 

Dear Nicole, Welcome home, and thank you very much for writing this thoughtful review of your time with us in Rome. We are so honored that you chose to take your first trip outside of the United States with Go Ahead. We were, however, troubled by your account of your treatment by the Italians that you came into contact with while in Rome. We have tried to reach out to you to learn more, but were unable to connect. If you would like to discuss your experience, please call us at 1(800) 597-0350. We hope that you will continue to travel and see the world, and that we have the opportunity to welcome you onto a future Go Ahead tour.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | December 24, 2015

5 / 5

5 / 5

Traveled On: 12/5/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: CA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Such a great city experience!

Thank you Go Ahead! This was both my first solo trip and my first time using Go Ahead Tours. The trip was fantastic. It was perfect blend of structure and free time, and as a solo traveler, it was pretty much perfect (our group has a nice balance of couples and solo travelers). The logistics were well executed; the first night's group dinner was a perfect way to start (and the restaurant was excellent, authentic Italian). Our tour guide, David, was knowledgeable, patient and friendly. I am really glad I experienced Rome with Go Ahead, as the planned segments provided great structure, for me to then explore additionally in my free time. It was also great to meet the people in my group. I don't know how much control Go Ahead has over the composition, but our group was a really neat mix of personalities. One of my favorite moments of the trip was sharing the train ride to Florence, and getting to know two of the people in my group and learning how they took such excellent photos (so now I have a new interest and appreciation for photography!). The excursions were well-chosen: I do recommend the catacombs (which I will never forget), the Vatican, and the Florence day trip.

review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo review photo
1 / 22

5 / 5

5 / 5

Traveled On: 10/3/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Amazing Trip!!

I traveled solo with Go Ahead to Rome. It was amazing! Not a single negative. Vania, our tour director, was helpful and gave great advice and suggestions for our free time. I met some great people and ate A LOT of great food. The hotel, Massimo D'Azeglio was great. Small rooms but they were clean and had their own bathrooms. The staff was also very friendly. Try the restaurant just around the corner on Via Principe Amedeo, sit outside and order the Pizza Margherita with buffalo mozzarella. I suggest you book all the excursions, the local tour guides were wonderful and they were all worth the cost. In Florence though tickets to the Academia and Uffizi weren't included so you'll want to book those on your own in advance, and also the Borghese Museum is a must as well (the excursion is on the extension so depending on the number staying it may be canceled, so I booked my own ticket in advance). I'm very happy with my choice to take this tour and I'm already planning another for next year!

5 / 5

5 / 5

Traveled On: 3/7/2015

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: CA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Awesome Rome

My wife and I, had an awesome time in Rome. Meeting awesome people in our tour group. Seeing awesome ancient sites in the city. Awesome weather and being able to travel the city on our own. Seeing those ancient sites , I fantasized about being there during the 1st century. Pompeii was awesome, too.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Traveled On: 9/19/2015

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Best hotel, tour director, local guide

We thought the hotel choice in Rome was excellent. It was near the train and metro stations which was very useful for us as we took the bullet train to Capri and didn't have to go far to get the train. The breakfast was the best "included" breakfast we've ever had. It gave us lots of choices. It was also set up so beautifully. I can't remember the last time I was eating breakfast with linen tablecloths and napkins. The wait staff were dressed in white linen jackets and you could see they took pride in their appearance and in their jobs. We left the hotel at 5:30 a.m. and were surprised to find our tour guide, Vania, and the hotel clerk with a bag of breakfast for each of us to take to the airport. That was a nice touch. Our tour guide, Vania, was so welcoming and was very patient with our group and answered questions and gave suggestions as to things to do, etc. Even after a very long day, she made herself available for anything anyone in our group might need. When we landed in Rome, Vania met us. Our daughter was ill and Vania immediately telephoned the airport hospital to find out if someone could see her. Even though she had only 20 minutes before the next flight was due in, Vania walked with us through 3 terminals to get us to the airport hospital. She made sure to keep in touch with us and had the driver pick us up near the hospital so we didn't have to go back to the main terminal. Lastly, but definitely not least, is our local guide, Ioanna Nicolaou. We've been to Rome several times before and have seen many of the sites Ioanna took us to. Even though this is something Ioanna does frequently and could do in her sleep, she made it all exciting and tried to convey her excitement to us. She gave us not just facts but asked us to use our imagination. She was patient, knowledgeable and thoroughly enjoyable! For example, in the Sistine Chapel where it's very overcrowded Ioanna pointed out things to look for. When we got into the Chapel, we were able to look for the things Ioanna had mentioned and found this visit so much more pleasurable because we could stand in the crowd and see and understand what Ioanna had mentioned. Ioanna was also a very good reason this was such a great trip and as this was our daughter's first trip to Europe, she had a memorable experience. When we had finished our trip through St. Peter's and were in the gift shop, Ioanna told us she thought we might like to try something different and mentioned St. Paul VI Hotel which is right next to the gift shop. She told us there was a beautiful rooftop where we could have lunch and enjoy the view. Unfortunately, it wasn't open until 4:00 p.m. but we definitely will go back and try it next time. Ioanna is a keeper! Linda

3 / 5

3 / 5

Traveled On: 9/19/2015

Number of Past Tours: 3

From: MD

Tour Director: 4 / 5

Tour Value: 3 / 5

Rome could have been better

I just returned from my Rome City Stay trip. I had a wonderful time as I always do in Italy. However, this was my first time in Rome & I was very disappointed as were others in our group to find that the Trevi Fountain was under construction. That is one of the MAIN attractions other than the Vatican and the Spanish steps and personally one of the sites I was looking forward to seeing for years! Had I known it was under construction with NO water and a huge plexiglass around it, I would NOT have gone to Rome. I would have chosen another destination. It would be nice if the GA staff would keep up with such things and let travelers know before they book their trip. It costs way too much money (especially when I have to pay extra for being a single traveler) to visit a country only to find one of the most famous sites shut down.

 

Dear Monique, Thank you very much for traveling with us to experience the amazing city that is Rome. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time in Italy! As is true with many places all over the world, there are buildings, bridges, and even fountains that are due for maintenance from time to time. While we do our best to stay informed about the status of many of these places of interest, there are some cases in which the timeline of public projects are either altogether unknown, or are unavailable months in advance when our travelers are booking their tours. We regret to learn that your experience viewing the Trevi Fountain did not meet your expectations, but we are glad that this did not keep you from having a wonderful time in Italy! Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you onto another Go Ahead tour in the future!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | September 29, 2015

5 / 5

5 / 5

Traveled On: 4/11/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: CA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Emilio!!

We had the most amazing time on our 'Rome- The City Experience' trip. Emilio C. was just extraordinary! I can't say more great things about him! He was so insightful, organized, and full of energy! He went over and beyond the normal protocol to give us a trip that we would never forget! Loanna N. was also amazing, she oozed enthusiasm and knowledge at the Vatican and made the Sistine Chapel really come alive for us. How passionate the two of these people are about their jobs and their love for their country was truly a sight to see. I felt like I had stars in my eyes the entire time, they truly made the experience so rich and magical. We enjoyed our hotel, the staff was lovely, the breakfast was great and the cappuccinos everywhere in Italy were (sigh... ) amazing. (I miss them so much) We visited the Colosseum (were my now fiancé proposed) We were lucky enough to have Loanna be our tour guide for both the Colosseum/St Paul's Basilica day and for the day we spent at the Vatican (She's just fantastic) Pompeii was excellent and we loved our witty Sicilian tour guide (Can't remember his name, I think it was Anthony?) he was celebrating his 80-something birthday and was easily making jokes while he flowed through all the history of this historical city. We also took a trip to the Catacombs which was so great and awesomely eerie! The gal there was super informative and sweet. The food, oh how I miss the food! Emilio sent us to the most amazing restaurants and cafe's and even joined us a couple times ( which was so fun and helpful to have a local show us some of the cities best hidden gems.) We spent one of the free days in Florence and he took the time to print a map and give us detailed directions to the top spots to visit there (We spent two extra days in Venice on our own and he did the same thing, this guy needs a raise! ha!) By the end of the trip we couldn't believe all we concurred in 9 days, but we made it happen! It was a trip of a lifetime and we hope to continue our tours with Goahead (as long as we have Emilio as a tour director! :) ) Thank you again!!

5 / 5

5 / 5

Traveled On: 7/11/2015

Number of Past Tours: 5

From: MN

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

When in Rome . . .

I am a huge Go Ahead Tours fan - this was my 5th trip but my first city stay. I was short on vacation time but dying to travel. Although I traveled to Venice, Florence & Rome with Go Ahead several years ago, this was my husband's first trip to Europe. A city stay is a great way to see all the "must-do's" while allowing you the free time to customize and do your own thing. Our tour director, Vania, was amazing. And the optional excursions were the perfect way to add some adventure to our trip. If you're short on time but long on desire to see the world, a Go Ahead city stay is the way to to!!

Show More Reviews