Paris, Normandy & the Loire Valley

10 days
Few countries offer such an enticing combination of history, scenery and mouthwatering food and drink. Immerse yourself in World War II history on the beaches of Normandy. Visit iconic landmarks, such as the Eiffel Tower and Mont-Saint-Michel. Sample the sauvignon blanc and feast on coq au vin. From the sights of Paris to the scenery of the Loire Valley, this is the France you’ve read about—now yours to discover.

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Tour group size: 18 - 35 travelers

Tour pace: You will walk for about 3 hours daily across mostly flat terrain, including paved roads, cobblestone streets and sandy paths, with some hills.

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Your tour includes

  • 8 nights in handpicked hotels

  • Breakfast daily, 4 three-course dinners with beer or wine, 1 cheese and cider tasting

  • Multilingual Tour Director

  • Private deluxe motor coach

  • Guided sightseeing and select entrance fees

Overnight Flight 1 night

Day 1: Travel day

Board your overnight flight to Paris today.

Paris 2 nights Hotel info

Day 2: Arrival in Paris

  Included meals: Dinner

Welcome to Paris! Tonight, meet your Tour Director and fellow travelers at a welcome dinner.

Day 3: Sightseeing tour of Paris

  Included meals: Breakfast

A guided tour introduces you to the architecture, scenery and history of the City of Light’s many neighborhoods, called arrondissements.

• Drive down the sycamore-lined Champs-Élysées in view of the Arc de Triomphe 

• Pass the legendary Notre-Dame Cathedral, located on an island in the Seine River 

• See the Eiffel Tower, the Palais Garnier opera house and Place de la Concorde, the city’s grandest square 

• Marvel at the eclectic and iconic architecture of the Louvre 

Enjoy a free afternoon in Paris or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Versailles Palace & Gardens $115pp* Details

The reign of Louis XIV, known as the “Sun King,” set new standards for decadence among the crowned heads of Europe. It took 50 years and 35,000 workers to turn Versailles, once a small hunting lodge, into the most magnificent château in all of France and the envy of royalty worldwide. On this excursion, you will see the palace in all its glory as you tour the State Apartments and the glittering Hall of Mirrors. Then, stroll through the lavish gardens to admire their fine statuary, splendid fountains and colorful flowerbeds.

Please note: The four rooms of the Queen's State Apartment are closed for renovations through 2017.

Must be booked 45 days before departure

Normandy Coast 2 nights Hotel info

Day 4: Normandy via Rouen & Honfleur

  Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Included entrances: Cheese Tasting

Travel through historic cities and pristine port towns on your way to the Normandy region.

• Visit Rouen, home to a large 16th-century clock and the Gothic, two-towered Rouen Cathedral 

• Walk through the Old Market Square where Joan of Arc was executed

• See the untouched Honfleur harbor, once an important port

• Sample cheeses, including Camembert, Pont-l’Évêque and Livarot, paired with cider and Calvados, the region’s distinctive apple brandy

Day 5: Sightseeing tour of Normandy

  Included meals: Breakfast

Relive World War II history during a full-day excursion to Normandy, where the Allied troops landed in June 1944.

• Enter the D-Day Museum with a local guide in Arromanches

• Stop at the American Cemetery in Colleville, the burial place for more than 9,000 American soldiers who lost their lives during the Battle of Normandy

• Visit Pointe du Hoc to view the granite monument that honors the American 2nd Ranger Battalion, which seized German cannons here before they could be used to fire on American troops

• Walk along Omaha Beach, the landing site of American troops on D-Day

Saint-Malo 1 night Hotel info

Day 6: Saint-Malo via Mont-Saint-Michel

  Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Explore the striking 8th-century island of Mont-Saint-Michel on a guided sightseeing tour.

• See how the UNESCO-recognized site, perched high on a granite rock, is surrounded by water at high tide and quicksand at low tide

• Pass by medieval houses and then enter the Benedictine Abbey of Mont-Saint-Michel with your local guide 

Then, continue your journey toward Saint-Malo.

Loire Valley 2 nights Hotel info

Day 7: Travel to the Loire Valley

  Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Take in Saint-Malo’s narrow streets, tall granite homes and medieval ramparts on a guided tour. Later, drive through the Loire Valley, once known as France’s “Playground of the Kings.”

Day 8: Château de Chenonceau

  Included meals: Breakfast

Get to know châteaux country on a guided tour of the Loire Valley region.

• Step inside the extravagant Château de Chenonceau and explore its gardens

• Discover how the castle got the nickname “Château de Femmes”—some of its famous female residents included Diane de Poitiers and Catherine de’ Medici

Enjoy a free evening or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Loire Valley Dinner & Wine Tasting $99pp* Details

Cap off your day in the Loire Valley by taking in views of châteaux and greenery on your way to a local wine cellar. With its central location in the country, this area draws culinary influence from several parts of France, which you’ll experience during a wine tasting and dinner at a local restaurant.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $109)

Paris 1 night Hotel info

Day 9: Travel to Paris

  Included meals: Breakfast

Return to France’s capital city, making a photo stop at Château Chambord on the way, and enjoy a free afternoon or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Dinner in Paris & Seine River Cruise $115pp* Details

Take in the nighttime allure of the City of Light on a special evening excursion. The event begins with dinner at a local restaurant. After you dine, board a boat cruise along the Seine. As you coast along the river and under Paris’ bridges, you’ll behold the illuminated monuments of the city glittering alongside the riverbanks. Please note: The dress code may vary depending on the restaurant for your dinner. Your Tour Director will advise you on what to wear, but shorts and sneakers are likely to be considered inappropriate attire.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $125)

Day 10: Departure

  Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

Transfer to the airport for your return flight home or extend your stay to continue exploring Paris.

Add Paris Starting from $349 pp

Please note: Extension is not available on all departure dates.

Paris—the city of life, love and light. From the iconic Eiffel Tower to the mysterious Mona Lisa, from the bustling Champs Elysées to the winding streets of Montmartre, you'll find romance, history and beauty. Browse boutiques, stroll manicured parks, take a seat at a sidewalk cafe and watch the sun set over the Seine.

Paris 2 nights Hotel info

Day 10: Free day in Paris

  Included meals: Breakfast

Spend the day exploring Paris on your own or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Iconic Sights: Notre-Dame & the Marais $75pp* Details

Your guided walking tour of Paris begins on Île de la Cité, the city’s legendary birthplace and home to the majestic Notre-Dame Cathedral. Step inside the cathedral to admire the stained-glass rose windows and seemingly weightless vaulted ceilings. Walk along the flower market beside the island’s Palais de Justice, which houses the Conciergerie, the former prison where Marie Antoinette was imprisoned. Wander past the Hôtel de Ville, the city’s administrative heart, and continue through the Jewish Quarter to the gardens of Musée Carnavalet and Place des Vosges, noted as one of the prettiest squares in Paris. Lunch is included.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $85)

Day 11: Free day in Paris

  Included meals: Breakfast

Spend another day exploring Paris or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Monet & the Landscapes of Giverny $85pp* Details

Monet & the Landscapes of Giverny

The village of Giverny was home to Claude Monet from 1883 until his death in 1926. On a visit to Monet’s home and gardens, discover the subtle palette of colors that inspired his Water Lilies series and gave rise to a new way of seeing. Please note: This excursion is seasonal and runs from April through October.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $95)

Day 12: Departure

  Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

Transfer to the airport for your return flight home.

How's the weather?

  • Paris, France
  • Saint-Malo, France
  • Amboise, France
Temperature Precipitation
  • JAN
  • FEB
  • MAR
  • APR
  • MAY
  • JUN
  • JUL
  • AUG
  • SEP
  • OCT
  • NOV
  • DEC

Passport & visa requirements

  • In order to enter France, U.S. and Canadian citizens need a valid passport with an expiration date extending at least six months beyond the date of reentry. 

  • We recommend having at least one blank passport page for entry stamps.

  • There is no visa required for U.S. or Canadian citizens.

  • If you are not a U.S. or Canadian citizen, you must contact your destination country’s consulate for your specific entry requirements.    

Tour pace

  • You will walk for about 3 hours daily across mostly flat terrain, including paved roads, cobblestone streets and sandy paths, with some hills.

  • Travelers should be healthy enough to participate in all included walks without assistance. Adding optional excursions may increase the total amount of walking on your tour.

  • You should feel comfortable managing your own baggage at times.

  • If you have any mobility concerns or physical restrictions, please contact our Customer Experience Team.

Transportation & arrival information

  • Round-trip flights booked through Go Ahead arrive in and depart from Paris. A Go Ahead representative will meet you at the airport and take you to your hotel. Please remain in the arrival lounge, as the representative might be escorting one of your fellow travelers to the bus at the time of your arrival. For more details, please reference the Paris transfer information included in your Go Kit.

  • Transfers to and from the airport at your destination are included for travelers who have purchased their flights through Go Ahead. Travelers who purchase their own flights may request airport transfers with Go Ahead for an additional cost.

  • All other included transportation on this tour is by private motor coach. 

Baggage allowance

  • Airlines have varying weight restrictions on baggage. Some airlines may impose additional charges if you check any baggage; be advised that you are responsible for any such costs. 

  • Contact your airline for baggage size and weight restrictions for your flight, but please note that Go Ahead travelers are restricted to one checked bag per person due to storage limitations on motor coaches and other transfers, which may include train connections or flights. 

  • One carry-on bag of 45 total inches (length + width + height) is also permitted.

  • Make sure you label your baggage and keep valuables, medication and documents in your carry-on bag. 

Clothing & packing tips

  • We recommend packing lightweight, loose-fitting clothing that can be easily layered to accommodate varying temperatures, as well as a light jacket or rainwear.

  • A sturdy pair of walking shoes or sneakers is recommended for sightseeing.

  • You may want to pack dressier attire if you plan to visit a high-end restaurant or attend a special performance.

  • It is preferable not to visit churches or other religious sites with bare legs and shoulders (and entrance may be denied on this basis).

Health

  • There are no major health risks associated with traveling to France.

  • At least 60 days prior to departure, check with your doctor or healthcare provider for the latest updates and entry requirements, or visit the Center for Disease Control and Prevention website at cdc.gov.

  • If you have medication that you take daily, be sure you have enough for each day of the tour as well as any possible delays encountered.

  • If you have dietary restrictions and/or food allergies please notify Go Ahead at least 30 days prior to departure by logging in to My Account and updating your traveler info. To update this information closer to your departure date, please call our Customer Experience Team.

Cuisine

  • For a picnic with French flair, stop at a small grocery store for cheeses, pâtés, cured meats, fresh-baked bread and fruit. In the cities, sidewalk vendors are known for their steaming crepes, while mouthwatering pastries and hot café au lait beckon from cafes. In restaurants, the prix fixe option is a popular way to enjoy a set three- or four-course menu for a good price.

  • Although lunch is generally served from noon until 2pm, dinner is served from 7:30pm onward. Those wishing to eat earlier can stop at a cafe, where light entrées and sandwiches are available throughout the afternoon and evening.

Electricity & air conditioning

  • France operates on the European standard 220-240 volts and uses Types C, E or F plugs with two small, round pins. 

  • We recommend packing a universal adapter, as well as a voltage converter if you plan on using your own hairdryer or other electrical device without a built-in converter.  

  • The majority of the hotels on this tour will have air conditioning. The strength of the air conditioning in European hotels is often not as strong or as cool as what you might be used to in the U.S. or Canada. When air conditioning is available, it is usually regulated seasonally and controlled centrally by the hotel. 

  • Your hotels may provide hairdryers, irons and other small appliances. However, these amenities cannot be guaranteed.

Connectivity

  • Wi-Fi is available in most hotels, though some charges may apply.

  • There is no Wi-Fi on any of the motor coaches. 

  • Please contact your mobile service provider for information on roaming charges.

Time zones

  • France is one hour ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) and six hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time (EST). 

  • When it’s noon in New York, it’s 6pm in Paris.

Currency

  • You will use the euro in France. 

  • Better rates of exchange are usually available overseas, although it’s worth ordering some currency from your local bank to use when you first arrive. 

  • We strongly advise that you take debit/bank cards and credit cards, which can be used to withdraw cash at local banks as needed. 

  • You can use most debit/credit cards at ATMs on the international networks Cirrus and Plus, but make sure to check with your home bank about withdrawal fees. 

  • Inform your bank and credit card company of your travel plans so that they won’t confuse your international purchases for fraudulent charges.

  • International banks and businesses primarily accept debit and credit cards that work with the EMV chip system. If you do not already have at least one debit or credit card with a chip in it, we strongly recommend requesting one from your bank prior to your tour.

Tipping

  • At the conclusion of your tour, it’s customary to offer your Tour Director and driver a gratuity in local currency. Please keep current exchange rates in mind.

  • We recommend tipping the equivalent of $7USD/CAD to $10USD/CAD per person per day for your Tour Director and the equivalent of $3USD/CAD per person per day for your driver.

  • If applicable, we also recommend the equivalent of $2USD/CAD per local guide. 

  • Tips can only be paid in cash. 

Purchasing excursions on tour

  • Most optional excursions will be available for purchase while you are on your tour. 

  • Your Tour Director will only accept cash (in USD only), Visa or MasterCard as payment for optional excursions. 

  • Please be advised that if you pay for an excursion by credit card while on tour, it may take up to three months for your card to be charged. 

  • Some optional excursions may only be purchased in advance. See page four of your tour itinerary for more information.

See what our travelers say about this tour—all reviews are authentic and unedited.

Have you been on tour with us? Visit My Account to submit a review.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 11/11/2016

Number of Past Tours: 3

From: LA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Terrific Trip!!

This was a truly great trip. The tour director was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. He wanted everyone to have a great time and he gave over 100%. My wife and I had such a good time. The individual tour guides were also great. All of them knew a great deal about their tour and were very enthusiastic about sharing it with us. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone.

 

Hi James! We’re glad you had a wonderful time on tour. It sounds like the enthusiasm and expertise of your Tour Director and local guides enhanced your experience. We will be sure to let them know! Thank you for recommending this tour. We can’t wait to see where you’ll go next!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | December 05, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 10/14/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NJ

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Paris, Normandy and the Loire Valley

My wife Athena, and I just returned from our first Go Ahead Tour and it was great! We never thought we would ever go on a guided tour, but I have to say we are sold on travelling again with Go Ahead. Every aspect of our trip was great from our transportation from the airport (beginning) to our transportation to the airport to go home was wonderful. Our fabulous tour director, Ronen was not only very knowledgable, but he went over and above to make sure all our needs were met. The accomodations were all very nice,and our meals never disappointed. I've been told these tours are for older folks, but based on this trip I think all adults would enjoy this type of trip. The knowledge you gain while travelling while also enjoying free time to explore on your own is priceless. We're now devoted travellers with Go Ahead and we encourage others to try it too.

1 / 1
 

Hi Andrew! We’re thrilled to hear that Go Ahead is a great fit for you and your wife. It’s wonderful to know that every aspect of your trip went off without a hitch and that your Tour Director added value to your experience. We appreciate your feedback on the itinerary, and we’re thrilled that you feel you came away from this tour with a greater understanding of the region. Thank you for your kind words, and we hope to welcome you both on tour again soon!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | October 31, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 9/30/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: OK

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

France

Just busy enough! Free time available. Excellent guide! Very helpful with personal issues among travelers.

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 9/30/2016

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: CA

Tour Director: 3 / 5

Tour Value: 3 / 5

France in the Fall 2016

Our first trip to France was for the most part exceptional. Jen Sebastian our 24/7 guide & friend helped us immensely understand the differences in our country's cultures which helped us appreciate this awesome country even more. We felt very safe traveling & touring during the 12 day trip in Paris, Normandy & the Loire Valley. There were a few snafus that I wondered about: our Paris city bus trip occured on Sunday & was interrupted by a half marathon near the River Seine, causing street closures. Why hadn't our bus driver and 'city tour guide' been informed weeks before? We enjoyed all of the suggested additional excursions. Excellent guides for Notre-Dame & the Marais, Saint-Malo & Mont-Saint-Michel!!! There are 'No words' to describe the impact Normandy had on us...except 'Thank you'. The grand Versailles Palace & grounds tour was disappointing not only because of the briefness of our visit, but we did not appreciate the tour guide for the Palace. Her comments & explanations of this time in France's history seemed embarrassingly shallow. She seemed amused at the elite's(royalty) disgusting lavishness. What else was happening during this time???? There were no hints of unhappiness among the priviledged, or how the animosity grew & developed among everyone else. It could've been much better. But! ahhhh, we were honored to see the grandness, craftmanship & planning of Versailles. Incredible! Incredible!!! That is the word we are using to describe this special visit to a country we'd only seen in pictures. Thanks GoAhead & Bravo again on this, our 2nd trip with you!

 

Hi Lyndsay, We’re delighted to learn that you enjoyed your second Go Ahead tour. It’s great to know that your Tour Director was helpful in illuminating the culture and history of France. We’re also very moved to hear the impact Normandy had on you. We appreciate your comments on certain aspects of the itinerary which didn’t meet your expectations, such as the Versailles Palace and Gardens optional. We regret that you felt your local guide should have emphasized other historical information. We are surprised to hear that her explanations did not appear satisfactory, as we regularly receive very positive reviews for our local guides. We will be sure to share this feedback with her supervisor. Again, we’re glad you had a wonderful time on tour, and we thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | November 04, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 9/23/2016

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: CA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Bonjour

Wonderful Tour Director, Sebastien. He took very good care of all of us. There were issues at a couple of Hotels, mainly Wi-Fi. When you are away from home this is your primary connection to home, so it is very important. The food was Fantastic ! The itinerary was great. Disappointing that you can no longer go down to Omaha Beach and that the obstacles in the water were gone. One cannot appreciate the problems they had going ashore. I would recommend this tour to everyone. Definitely recommend Sebastien Buisson as your Tour Director ! Vive'la France !

 

Hi Thomas! We're so glad you would recommend this tour to everyone, and we're pleased to learn that your Tour Director's efforts shone through. It's also great to know that you had a good culinary experience throughout your tour. Regarding Wifi, we understand that this is important for many travelers. However, Go Ahead cannot guarantee internet access. Wifi is not a consistent amenity in other countries as much as it is in the U.S., and in destinations with less infrastructure, it is much harder to come by. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to welcome you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | October 07, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 6/10/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: VA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Absolutely wonderful tour, Theirry was wonderful!

Rodney and I had a simply wonderful time - it was a belated honeymoon and we were totally charmed and pleased. I speak some French, and had lived in Paris for three years as a child. I would have like to have more time in Paris, but we neither one of us had the leave from work to be away longer, so the stops outside of Paris were perfect. I'd go back to live in Saint Malo in a heartbeat. The regional guides were all terrific as well, and made the stops very interesting. The fact that it was a small group - only 12 of us, made it an even more enjoyable time, especially as we all got along well, and there were not disagreements among us. My only recommendation would be that the last night be a "group" dinner - with all included, so that we'd have a chance to say farewell to each other. I can't recommend Theirry enough. His English is excellent, his knowledge of the subjects at hand, especially World War II and the Normandy beaches was marvelous (he could easily be a history teacher) and he has a delightful sense of humor. Bus driver Jean Claude (I think was his name) was also wonderful, navigating Paris traffic!

 

Hello! We’re so glad you both had a delightful time on tour and belated honeymoon! We can understand wanting more time in Paris, as there is much to see and do there. We’re pleased to learn that you enjoyed your guides and small group size. It sounds like your group really bonded throughout tour, one of the many benefits of group travel. We appreciate your suggestion to include a group farewell dinner on the last night of tour and will be sure to communicate that to our Product Development team. We also appreciate your feedback on your Tour Director and bus driver. It sounds like their knowledge and expertise enhanced your experience, and we’re glad to hear it. Thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | July 14, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 6/10/2016

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: WA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Un Voyage Fabuleux

So pleased I chose Go Ahead for my first trip abroad. As a solo traveler - from start to finish Go Ahead made it easy. Our Tour Director, Thierry was incredible. He treated us as though we were guests in his own home, seeing to our every need and using his expertise to share stories and insights we would not otherwise have had. The excursion tour guides were also extraordinary - each bringing a personal touch and incredible knowledge of their venues (Versailles, Mt. Ste Michel, Cidery, Chenonceau). Of course it was lovely our small group was comprised of warm, engaging individuals from across the U.S. who only added to the overall enjoyment...my heartfelt thanks goes to each of them for ensuring I was alone only when I chose to be. So grateful.

 

Hi Susan! We’re so grateful you chose to travel with Go Ahead! It’s wonderful to know that you felt cared for before and throughout your tour. It sounds like your Tour Director played a major role in that by meeting your needs and sharing his valuable insights. We will be sure to pass along your feedback to his supervisor, as well as the supervisor of your local guides. We’re glad to learn that your group was inclusive and grew close throughout the trip. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | June 27, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 5/13/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: PA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

The Best of Everything!!!

This trip was a dream for my friend and I. She finally retired, and off we went to France. She had always wanted to visit Paris, I had wanted to go to Normandy...This tour had everything we had hoped for...plus....the best tour director, bus driver and the new friends we traveled with.Great trip!!!! ..

 

Hi Susan! What a fantastic experience to have with your friend! We’re so glad this itinerary fulfilled both of your wish lists. Thank you for your lovely feedback, and we hope to welcome you both on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | June 03, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 5/13/2016

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: LA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Best Tour Director

This trip was beyond my expectations and they were pretty high since we have done Italy and Spain with Go Ahead. Every tour guide so far has been wonderful but Adoram was just beyond fantastic. Not only was he so well educated but he had a personality to keep you interested every moment. His stories were so wonderful and interesting that you just wanted to learn more. I told my husband that if I would have had a history or geography teacher like him in school I would have learned more. The sights were more subtle than Spain and Italy but spectacular and left me wanting more of France. We did Normandy and The Loire mostly for my husband as I just wanted to see Paris but I am so glad that we did it all. It was wonderful and we will definitely go back to Paris on our own. Thanks to Adoram we learned the Metro and could not believe how easy it was!!!! In our free time he took us all over Paris and other small cites!!! I talked about our trip so much to my best friend that she has already booked it for next year and I pray she gets our guide, Adoram!!!! My only regret is that I did not keep a journal as I am getting older and could use some backtracking!!! Loved Giverny and the photos taken there!!! P.S. Bus driver, Mamouk was wonderful!!!!

 

Hi Renee! We’re thrilled to hear this tour exceeded your expectations! It sounds like your Tour Director played a huge role in that, and we’re happy to hear it. We’re so glad you were impressed with Normandy and the Loire Valley, and we can understand wanting to go back to Paris on your own. Thank you for telling your best friend about this tour – we’re so glad she’s going to experience this wonderful itinerary, too! A travel journal is always a good idea, and you can keep one on your next tour. Thank you for your feedback and for recommending Go Ahead. We hope to welcome you on tour again soon!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | June 14, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 10/9/2015

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: WA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Great Experience

Thank you Go Ahead Tours. My Dad is a WWII veteran and this trip was a special journey for him and me. He trained with many of the men who jumped in Normandy. We enjoyed the contrast between Paris and the countryside we traveled through. Mont St. Michel was high on our list of must sees, too, and we enjoyed walking the streets of St. Malo. We really enjoyed our tour guides care and knowledge that he shared with us as we traveled. We are ready to plan our next adventure.

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 10/2/2015

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Good value

Although hotel in Paris was not in the best location, Go Ahead provides really good value.

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 10/2/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Worst airlines ever - United!

Our Friday 5 PM 10/2 flight Rochester to Newark was delayed several times, finally canceled. Saturday flight 10/3 Rochester to Dulles delayed 2 hours, flight from Dulles to Charles de Gaulle delayed 2 hours causing us to lose our first full day in Paris as we arrived 24 hours later than scheduled. We also missed our first optional tour, Versailles. Our Sunday 10/11 flight from Newark to Rochester also delayed 2 hours.

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 9/30/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: GA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

First Go Ahead Tour

Just got back from our first Go Ahead Tour to Paris and France and we were very pleased. Franck, our tour director was wonderful and went out of his way to make sure everyone was enjoying their trip. The hotels that were chosen were clean with friendly staff and wonderful breakfasts. The dinners, for the most part, were very good and the staff at each location was pleasant. Each of our individual tour guides were well informed and you could tell they enjoyed being with us. I would highly recommend Go Ahead Tours.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 9/25/2015

Number of Past Tours: 5

From: FL

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Best Tour So Far!

This was my fourth tour with GoAhead and it was probably my favorite and most memorable! First, the group dynamic was amazing! From my experience, the group has a lot to do with the enjoyment of the tour. On this tour, there were a lot of fun, middle aged professionals like myself, in addition to my regular travel buddies, so it made the tour extra enjoyable. Second, Sebastien was our tour guide and he was very professional, knowledgeable and organized. I should note that my birthday fell on one of the days during the tour and he had the bus sing happy birthday and presented me with a small box of French chocolates from GoAhead. How thoughtful! Next, on these tours, I usually have one terrible hotel experience, but I can't think of one. In fact, the hotel in Deauville was absolutely charming! It didn't look like much from the outside, but on the inside, the hotel opened up to a cute little French country courtyard and my room faced the courtyard. It was adorable. The Marriott in Paris was nice too, of course. I know, it's Marriott, but sometimes it is nice to have all the American comforts were accustomed to abroad. The beds were nice and there were washcloths, etc. Yes, the hotel was a little removed from the city center, but I enjoyed that. The hotel was in an arrondissement that was adjacent to Montparnasse, so we enjoyed walking around that area and discovering an area we might not normally have explored. And, we're used to walking around so the walk was really nothing for us. Lastly, we thoroughly enjoyed the cities of Honfleur, Deauville, St. Malo and of course, the trip to Normandy was very memorable. I have wonderful memories of meeting a local lady who handmade soaps in Honfleur then sipping white wine by the water, or eating crepes then sipping champagne with the group in St. Malo, or the beautiful evening boat ride down the Seine. So many great memories! I guess if I had to provide some ways on how the trip could be improved, I was not really a fan of the calvados (apple brandy) tasting. While the scenery was quaint and the lady giving the explanation was super sweet, I understand the process of fermentation and the apple brandy was not tasty. The best part of the calvados tasting was the various cheeses they provided. The same goes for the wine tasting. We were taken to a very small winery in the country where the girl giving the tour spoke almost zero English. Frankly, I took French in school and probably would've understood more if she had just spoken French. The wines they provided were just okay, and I love wine. Again, the best part of the wine tasting was the cheeses provided. Also, there was a large old St. Bernard type dog roaming around the tasting area and while I absolutely adore animals, my travel buddy is scared of large dogs and seemed very put off by the dog roaming around. I thought it sort of added to the atmosphere, but she certainly did not. LOL! So, that's about all I can think of at the moment. I would not hesitate to recommend this tour to anyone! This was my fourth tour and I've since taken my fifth. This tour is still my absolute favorite. You will not be disappointed! I think this tour was extra special considering just a few weeks after we left Paris, the Paris incident happened. We felt such a special bond with the French people that the news devastated us all. We wish them all peace.

 

Hi Angela! Thank you for your lovely review! We’re thrilled that this was your fourth – and most memorable – tour with us! We agree that group dynamic plays a role in your overall tour experience, and it sounds like your group really clicked. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your Tour Director, your accommodations, and the overall itinerary. It sounds like you had many wonderful experiences, such as meeting the local lady who produces handmade soaps and sipping white wine by the water. We appreciate your feedback on the calvados tasting. Though it wasn’t of much interest to you, we’re glad you were able to enjoy some nice cheeses. We’re glad that you would recommend this tour, and we thank you for your detailed review. We look forward to welcoming you on your next tour!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | March 29, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 9/25/2015

Number of Past Tours: 3

From: FL

Tour Director: 4 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Awesome trip!

Tour guide good, hotels nice and food very good!

 

Hi Patti! Thank you for your great review. We look forward to your next tour!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | July 18, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 9/25/2015

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: CA

Tour Director: 4 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

History and Beauty

We enjoyed this tour very much! There is no other place like Paris! The rest of the itinerary was amazing---so much history in a beautiful part of France. The mix of touring with some free time seemed just about right.

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 9/25/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NC

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Wonderful tour!

Overall, we really loved our tour!!! We had never been to France, and we wanted to experience some of the highlights and to get a feel for the country. We were most excited about going to the Normandy to see the D-Day beaches and the American cemetery both were wonderful and deeply moving, but we did not have enough time to fully savor this as we would have liked...we could have spent another day here). Our tour director was terrific and attentive, and he was very knowledgeable about France. We enjoyed our fellow tour-mates, and they added a lot to the richness of the trip. We loved getting out of Paris and into Normandy, Brittany and the Loire Valley....this gave us a much better and more nuanced sense for this beautiful country. The group meals were hit and miss in terms of the quality of the food. Several of the meals were excellent, and several were terrible. It's hard to serve such a large group and to get it right for all. I'm a foodie and so I am, perhaps, pickier than most. Also, several of the means included just one glass of wine (which sparked many grumbles from the group). We would have loved a bit more downtime to relax and to shop. We will probably take fewer excursions next time to give us more time to do just this. The accommodations were very good with the exception of the rooms at the hotel in Deauville which were very dark (I like a lot of light - preferably natural - in my spaces). We particularly liked the Novotel in Amboise. I'm partial to the Marriott chain, and so I liked the Paris Marriott Rive Gauche (in terms of amenities and helpful staff). It was, however, not as close to many of the key sites in Paris as we would have liked.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 9/11/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: IL

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Viva la France

This tour was well planned. Our main tour guide as well as other guides gave excellent presentations and were well informed. Meals and accommodations were excellent. All in all it was a pleasant pace with plenty of time to go out on our own.

1 / 2

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 9/4/2015

Number of Past Tours: 12

From: FL

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Paris & Normandy at their finest!

I highly recommend this extraordinary tour and, if you are fortunate enough to take it, hope-hope-hope that you get Adoram as your TD. He was absolutely amazing, going the extra mile to maximize our time and filled it with fun-filled activities. (The TD can make or break a tour ... Adoram was the best!!) PROS of the Tour: We had the perfect number of people in our group (a very sociable, compatible group of 16) and the weather was picture-perfect at 70F every day! Our room on the 25th floor of the Hyatt Regency had the most spectacular views of the Eiffel Tower, particularly the nighttime light show (I have since recommended this hotel to others planning a visit to Paris). The beaches of Normandy were extraordinary, and the visit to the museum and cemetery were unparalleled. Quick stops in Honfluer and Rouen was enjoyed by all. Approaching Mont St Michel was like stepping back in time to King Arthur, Sir Lancelot & Geneviève ... simply magical. The Loire Valley was beautiful and extraordinary & the Chateau de Chenonceau was exquisite. Fun times at the winery (the wine tasting was perfect) and the Calvados tasting was enjoyed by all! Everyone raved about the Michelin-rated farmhouse restaurant after our visit to the Plou et Fils winery. It was everyone's favorite meal, hands down. Do not pass up a chance to take the nighttime Seine River cruise to see Paris in all her glory. Fabulous!! Cons of the Tour: (Only 2, actually). #1 We were so close to the Bayeux Tapestry (we could see the Cathedral's spires) ... why not work that in?? To pass up the opportunity to see such an extraordinary historical artifact is beyond me. #2 Everyone was a little disappointed with our hotel outside of Tours ... we all would have preferred a hotel in Tours instead of 30-40 minutes out. While it was a nice hotel, it was too remote: So, the bottom line is: I still highly recommend this tour to everyone ... definitely 5 STARS to our wonderful, very impressive TD and 5 Stars for the extraordinary tour itself.

1 / 4

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 7/17/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Best Tour Director

Yes, Susanne is a great tour director. She has a great sense of humor. Despite the dairy farmers' strike, (they were blocking sections of the highways), Susanne with the GPS on her phone and our driver, Kadir, gave us a scenic tour of the French countryside while trying to keep up with our schedule. We missed Bayeux tapestries because of the detour, but she made up for it by taking us to the Apocalypse Tapestries in Angers. The beaches in Normandy are overwhelming, especially the American cemetery. We had to walk extra to Mont Saint Michele, again because of the strike, but the effort was worth the sight from on top of the monastery. Saint Malo is refreshing and the chateau, Le Chenonceau, is so beautiful. Just wish we had more time to spend there. On the way back to Paris, it was decided by democratic vote to skip Chambord and instead go to Chartres to see the cathedral and the Saturday morning farmers' market. I think we supported the dairy farmers that morning by buying cheese for our lunches! Susanne had to take a group to the Marais the morning we left to meet up with a tour guide. She insisted on returning to the hotel to see us off and a good thing she did. The driver was 30 minutes later because he went to the wrong hotel. Susanne was on her phone trying to clear up the problem. Overall, the itinerary of the trip was great, the local tour guides were also very informative, and our clever tour guide make what could have been a mess because of the strike into a very enjoyable vacation.

Show More Reviews