View Dates & Prices

London: The City Experience

7 days City Stays
London was once considered the capital of the world—and it shows. It has a history that stretches back 2,000 years, and a culture as rooted in the local pub as it is in world-class museums. Get acquainted with this city at your own pace, whether that means strolling through Kensington Gardens, entering Westminster Abbey or seeing Big Ben up close.

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Tour group size: 18 - 35 travelers

Tour Pace: You will walk for about 1.5 hours daily across mostly flat terrain, including paved roads and cobblestone streets, with few hills or stairs.

Celebrate New Year's Eve in London on a special winter departure of this tour.

See itinerary

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Your tour includes

  • 5 nights in a well-located hotel

  • Breakfast daily, welcome dinner

  • Signature farewell dinner experience and ride on the London Eye

  • Expert Tour Director

  • Panoramic sightseeing tour of London with a local guide

  • 4-day Tube pass

Map of tour of England

Overnight Flight 1 night

Day 1: Travel day

Board your overnight flight to London today.

London 5 nights Hotel info

Day 2: Arrival in London

  Included meals: Dinner

Welcome to London! Meet your Tour Director and fellow travelers at tonight’s welcome dinner.

Day 3: Sightseeing tour of London

  Included meals: Breakfast

View the regal landmarks of England’s vibrant and cosmopolitan capital on a guided sightseeing tour. 

• Pass the grand Trafalgar Square and Baroque-style St. Paul’s Cathedral, perched atop Ludgate Hill

• See Westminster Abbey, the setting for royal coronations, weddings and funerals

• View icons like Big Ben, the London Eye, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London

• Stop by Buckingham Palace, where you may catch the Changing of the Guard

Enjoy a free afternoon in London or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Windsor Castle $99pp* Details

Led by a Blue Badge Guide, you’ll travel to Windsor for a guided tour of the world’s largest and longest inhabited castle. Founded by William the Conqueror in 1070, Windsor has been the British Royal Family’s preferred retreat for the past 900 years. Step inside the State Apartments and St. George’s Chapel, where the Knights of the Garter ceremony takes place. View the exhibit of royal treasures on display within the castle. You’ll then have time to stroll through the town of Windsor and have a look at Eton College, a prestigious prep school attended by Princes William and Harry. Please note: Windsor Castle is occasionally closed when in use by the Royal Family; a visit to Henry VIII’s Hampton Court will be substituted when necessary. Additionally, St. George’s Chapel is closed to the public on Sundays. This excursion requires advanced reservation and must be booked by 20 days prior to departure.

Must be booked 20 days before departure

Day 4: Free day in London

  Included meals: Breakfast

Get to know London on your own or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Stonehenge & Salisbury $105pp* Details

Stonehenge & Salisbury

After a scenic drive through gently rolling countryside, arrive at Stonehenge, a UNESCO World Heritage site and one of England’s most recognizable icons. Get an informative overview of the prehistoric site’s history at the visitor’s center before exploring the monument. Then, head to the nearby town of Salisbury to peruse the famed Salisbury Charter Market and visit Salisbury Cathedral, home to one of the four original copies of the Magna Carta. Please note: This excursion requires advance reservation and must be booked at least 20 days prior to departure.

Must be booked 20 days before departure

Day 5: Free day in London

  Included meals: Breakfast

Spend the day exploring London on your own or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - A Day in Oxford $99pp* Details

Oxford’s rich culture, world-renowned architecture and prestigious academic legacy have earned it the nickname “the City of Dreaming Spires.” Spend the day getting to know the city on a walking tour with a local guide, stopping at Brasenose College along the way. Many famous writers, athletes and politicians have studied at this 16th-century institution, and you’ll learn more about its history during your visit. Afterward, enjoy free time to explore and eat lunch before transferring back to London. Please note: This excursion requires advance reservation and must be booked at least 20 days prior to departure.

Must be booked 20 days before departure

Day 6: A ride on the London Eye & farewell dinner

  Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Explore London on your own today or add an excursion.

This evening, take in spectacular views of the city’s skyline from the London Eye. Take a tour through the Covent Garden area of the West End before saying goodbye to your group at a farewell dinner.

Optional Excursion - Tower of London & Thames River Cruise $119pp* Details

Enter the Tower of London, a UNESCO site famous for its dark history of treason, imprisonment and beheadings. With a local guide leading the way, you’ll explore the nooks and crannies of this royal castle, seeing ancient coin collections, suits of armor and the glittering Crown Jewels as you go. Later, step aboard a riverboat for a cruise down the Thames and take in views of the London skyline, Tower Bridge, Southbank and more from the water.

Must be booked 20 days before departure

Day 7: Departure

  Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

Transfer to the airport for your flight home or extend your stay to continue exploring London.

Add London Starting from $399 pp

A city that loves to be explored, London beckons with world-class (and often free) museums and galleries, quirky shops, outstanding restaurants, royal pageantry, charming neighborhoods and an unconquered heritage of more than 2,000 years of history.

London 2 nights Hotel info

Day 7: Free day in London

  Included meals: Breakfast

Enjoy another free day to discover London at your own pace or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - St. Paul's Cathedral & Westminster Abbey $119pp* Details

Compare and contrast two of Britain’s most famous churches, whose rich histories provide an unparalleled look into the country’s past. First, visit St. Paul’s Cathedral, the second-largest church building in the United Kingdom and seat of the Bishop of London. This English Baroque-style cathedral is globally renowned for its magnificent dome and glittering mosaics. Continue on to Westminster Abbey, a Gothic church located near the Houses of Parliament. Since 1066, every royal coronation, with the exception of Edward V and Edward VIII, has taken place at Westminster Abbey. The Abbey also serves as the burial ground for Charles Darwin and Sir Isaac Newton.

Must be booked 20 days before departure

Day 8: Free day in London

  Included meals: Breakfast

Spend the day exploring the city on your own.

Day 9: Departure

  Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

Transfer to the airport for your flight home.

How's the weather?

  • London, England
Temperature Precipitation
  • JAN
  • FEB
  • MAR
  • APR
  • MAY
  • JUN
  • JUL
  • AUG
  • SEP
  • OCT
  • NOV
  • DEC

Passport & Visa Requirements

In order to enter Great Britain, U.S. and Canadian citizens need a valid passport. The expiration date must extend at least six months beyond the date of your return home. No visa is required for U.S. or Canadian citizens. If you’re not a U.S. or Canadian citizen, you must contact the U.K. consulate for your specific entry requirements.

Baggage Allowance

Airlines have varying weight restrictions on luggage. Some airlines may impose additional charges if you choose to check any baggage; be advised that you are responsible for any such costs. Contact your airline for detailed information regarding luggage size and weight restrictions for your flight, but please note that Go Ahead travelers are restricted to one checked bag per person due to storage limitations on motor coaches and other internal transfers, which may include train connections or flights. One carry-on bag is also permitted, provided that it does not exceed 45 total inches (length + width + height). Make sure you label your baggage and carry valuables, medication and documents in your carry-on bag.

Clothing & Packing Tips

To ensure you’re comfortable while out exploring, we recommend packing lightweight, loose-fitting clothing that can be easily layered. For sightseeing, we suggest bringing a sturdy pair of walking shoes or sneakers, as well as a lightweight sports jacket or rain wear. If you’re planning a visit to a high-end restaurant or performance, you may also want to bring dressier attire. Also, please remember that it’s preferable to avoid showing bare legs or shoulders during visits to churches or other religious sites (entrance may be denied on this basis).

Currency

The British pound is the currency you’ll be using on your tour. Better rates of exchange are usually available in your destination countries, although it’s worth ordering some currency from your local bank to use when you first arrive. We advise that you take a combination of bank/ATM cards and credit cards, as needed. We suggest that you inform your bank and credit card company of your travel plans, so that they won’t confuse your international purchases for fraudulent charges.

Cuisine

For traditional British fare at a reasonable price, try a pub meal. Stilton cheese, steak and kidney pie, and Cumberland sausages are specialties. Sip afternoon tea with delicious finger sandwiches and scones at Harrods for the ultimate in English tradition. Modern-day London also boasts an array of ethnic restaurants unmatched by almost any other city in the world.

Arrival & Transportation Information

Round-trip flights arrive in and depart from London. When you first arrive in London, a Go Ahead representative will meet you after clearing customs. Please remain in the arrival lounge, as the representative might be escorting one of your fellow travelers to the bus at the time of your arrival.

Tipping

At the conclusion of your tour, it’s customary to offer your Tour Director and driver a gratuity. We recommend tipping in your tour country’s currency, the equivalent of $3USD/CAD per person per day for your driver and $6USD/CAD to $9USD/CAD per person per day for your Tour Director. If applicable, we also recommend the equivalent of $2USD/CAD per local guide. Tips can only be paid in cash. Please keep current local currency exchange rates in mind when tipping.

See what our travelers say about this tour—all reviews are authentic and unedited.

Have you been on tour with us? Visit My Account to submit a review.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 7/16/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: OH

Tour Director: 4 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

London: The City Experience

The trip was amazing! This was my first trip abroad and this was worth my time and my money! I know every trip has different experiences, but this one has the bar pretty high; I cannot wait until my next trip!

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 7/9/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: FL

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Great Experience!

Tour: July 9-17 (two day extension). This was my first trip to England and my first trip with Go Ahead Tours! Everything was extremely well organized from the moment I paid my deposit. Information was posted on the date given. As for the actual tour, everything promised as part of the tour was as it expected: A four star hotel in an excellent location. Less than a five minute walk to the tube station. Also located in the High Street shopping district, so we had everything from high-end retail to Whole Foods to currency exchange right at our door step. Breakfast every morning. In addition to breakfast Go Ahead Tours covered the cost of wifi at the hotel, which was not free. Oyster Travel Card (I loved that this was included. Perhaps those who do the extension should have a bit more on their card, but I understand they were probably all purchased at once to be handed out without having to discriminate). Two Dinners. Excellent pub food for our farewell dinner! The London Eye. Such fun! Bus Tour (On a VERY nice bus with an excellent guide). Airport transport was wonderful (due to booking my flight through Go Ahead Tours). My roommate and I were met promptly at the gate after clearing customs by our driver, who helped us with our bags. The car was a luxury automobile which made it even more special. Kay was our guide, and she was a wealth of information. Warm, kind, and puts people at ease after a long day of travel. Running a tour must be like herding cats at times, and she handles it so well. I only gave four out of five stars for itinerary simply because I did not take advantage of the excursions. I'd signed up of the trip to Oxford but it was cancelled due to lack of interest, which worked out fine (I was promptly refunded). It was a wonderful time and everything Go Ahead did for us was first rate. I will definitely do another trip again!

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 7/9/2016

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: VA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Just enough to keep you busy

I went in July with my friend, this was my second tour and her first. The hotel was right near the heart of London in Kensington only a block away from the underground entrance. We didn't do any optional excursions but we did a bunch of other things around the town. The meals were all amazing and oureally tour director Kay was top notch. The hotel staff was very hospitable and everyone was very pleasant.

1 / 1
 

Hi Kaitlyn! We’re so glad you were able to experience this tour with your friend. We appreciate your feedback, and we’re pleased that you had a good time. Thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you both on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | August 25, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 7/9/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: VA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

A Fun Week

This was a fun week spent going around London with one of my dearest friends. We had the freedom to go where we wanted, but were also able to meet up with the group if we chose to do an excursion. A really nice first tour over seas that I would love to do again.

 

Hi Brandie! We’re so glad you were able to enjoy London with your dearest friends. We’re also pleased that you feel the itinerary strikes a good balance between structured activities and independent exploration. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you on tour again.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | August 18, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 7/9/2016

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: FL

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

What a Fabulous Trip!

We just returned from this trip and I have to say we enjoyed every minute of it. Five Stars from start to finish. We were picked up at the airport by a car service and the same car service took us back when the trip was over. The Tour Guide (Kaye) was fantastic, friendly, informative and lots of fun! All the excursions that we booked thru Go Ahead were great, we had a Blue Badge guide for the London sightseeing and Windsor Castle excursion. We added the 2 day extension onto our trip and I'm so glad we did, this gave us time to plan some sightseeing on our own as well. The hotel we stayed at (Kensington Close Hotel) was very nice, the rooms are much smaller than we are accustomed to here in the US but if you are taking this trip, you won't be in the Hotel much anyway! The extras included were great, a 4 day Oyster Pass for the London Underground and also WIFI at the hotel. I was sad when the trip was over and if I ever have a chance to go back to London I would pick this tour again!!!

 

Hi Marsha! We’re honored that you rate this tour so highly! It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed every minute of this trip and that your Tour Director kept you informed and engaged. We’re so glad to hear that the optionals you booked enhanced your experience and that you’re happy you included the extension. We agree that it’s a great idea to extend your trip, as we always find that we wish we had more time when a tour nears the end. We’re glad you enjoyed your hotel, and you’re right that sometimes the hotel rooms in Europe are slightly smaller than in the U.S. We can understand being sad when the trip was over, but you can always look forward to the next one! Thank you for your review, and please let us know when you’re ready to travel again.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | July 20, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 6/25/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: DE

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Great Trip

My family and I had a great time. Our London tour was well organized and ran very smoothly. The tour director (Kay) was absolutely wonderful. She was there to help us with any of our needs. She also gave us a lesson on the use of the underground that allowed us to get around with ease. Would highly recommend Go Ahead for your vacation plans.

2 / 5

2 / 5

Tour Date: 5/28/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: LA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 1 / 5

Costly. Better off planning on your own.

I will start off with the positive. The tour director was fabulous. Kay was helpful and very pleasant. I was also happy with other tour guides. My biggest disappointment was pre-departure planning. Here are a list of the issues: 1) No seats are assigned. Once I got the flight information mailed to me, it was too late to sit together. I had to pay extra for seats with my two teenage travel partners who had never traveled abroad. 2) They canceled one of my tours so I needed to book another tour company for that part (Oxford). I couldn't find a tour that didn't include either Stonehenge or Windsor which I had also booked with Go Ahead. It would also use every free day if I booked them all separately through another company. All of this was caused by cancellation of my Go Ahead tour of Oxford. Therefore, I requested to cancel the other two so I can book altogether and not kill every free day and still see Oxford. They charged me (what I consider to be a substantial amount as I'm not allowed to disclose that amount here or my review will be rejected) due to late notice (by late notice, it was the day the informed me that Oxford was canceled so I had no way to know sooner). 3) The hotel had no notice of us traveling together (although all on one Go Ahead account) so they had us in 2 rooms. I can deal with that except both rooms only had 1 bed for 3 total people. My 17 year old son and my 17 year old niece had to share a bed. Not the best situation and could have been avoided with planning. 4) I called the tour company to ensure that I didn't need a letter from my niece's parents to allow her to travel with me. I was told by an agent that she is able to travel alone at 17 and should not need any documentation. Unfortunately, border control in England did not agree. The agent said that the tour company was wrong and documentation was needed. After an interviewing us, they finally let us through. They also wanted proof that my son was mine via a birth certificate given we have different last names. I would have appreciated that heads up as well from the tour company. I have used tour companies in the past for trips to Italy and Greece which created a seamless travel experience and was wonderfully informed. This company does not fair well in that regard. I will just plan it myself or use another company next time. This one added very little value for the high price.

 

Dear Sharon, Although we are pleased that you enjoyed your Tour Director and local guides, we regret that you feel your pre-departure experience could have been better. We certainly don’t want that to be the case. Regarding your seating arrangements, Go Ahead has no control over seating or fees associated with seating. This is all at the discretion of the airlines. Anytime you want specific seats we recommend contacting the airline directly, and even then, they cannot guarantee that that seating will not change because it is dependent on many factors. Some airlines charge for this service, such as in your case, and others do not. Regarding the optionals, we had to cancel Oxford due to low enrollment. Unfortunately, we must require a minimum number of participants for each optional. The other two optionals which you cancelled that were still running, Stonehenge and Windsor, were pre-book optionals, meaning we buy and acquire the tickets in advance. This means that we already had your tickets and places reserved, so when this happens, it is our policy to charge a cancellation fee. However, as a gesture recognizing the frustration you felt, we actually only charged you a cancellation fee for one of the optionals. Regarding the hotel rooms, our records indicate that you booked your tour online. When you booked online, you selected your own room arrangements throughout the process, which were one single room and one double room (2-person bed). We are sorry this was confusing or unclear, but this is what you reserved online and what was provided for you. Regarding the documentation for traveling with minors, we state in our terms and conditions that travelers are responsible for all of their travel documentation. Requirements vary from country to country, case by case, and they often change. We regret that you had this experience, but we’re glad that it presented no further issues. We are surprised to hear that one of our Customer Service representatives would ever advise you on this matter, as our staff is not trained to advise on this issue. Again, we regret that your pre-departure experience did not meet your expectations. One of our team members reached out to discuss your concerns, but was unable to reach you. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please give us a call at 1-800-597-0350 and ask for Quality Control. Thank you very much for your feedback.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | June 08, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 5/7/2016

Number of Past Tours: 7

From: OH

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Lots of Free Time

This is a great trip if you like to plan your own itinerary so you can be as busy or leisurely as you want. Our tour director, Kay, was a sweetheart and was available to make suggestions on things to do and how to get there. The subway pass that we received was a nice extra and Kay showed us how to read the signs so we were able to use the tube. The VOX that we used when we were on the city tour and with Kay was a wonderful addition to the travel experience. Everyone in the group was able to hear what Kay and the city tour guide were saying no matter if you were in the front of the group or the back of the group. Our hotel was in a very convenient location.

 

Hi Linda! We're glad that you enjoyed the flexibility of this tour! It's also great to know that your Tour Director was helpful and insightful throughout your trip. Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we hope to welcome you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | June 09, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 5/7/2016

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: TX

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

wonderful tour director

Kay is the best! the whole thing was wonderful :)

 

Hi Ashley! We're so glad you enjoyed your tour and Tour Director. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | June 09, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 5/7/2016

Number of Past Tours: 3

From: AR

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Week in London

I really enjoyed my week's stay in London. The hotel was close to a Tube station and easily navigated the city for the week. I like the City Stays and loved not having to pack and unpack. There were only 2 real events planned, a Quick Tour and Eye visit. The rest of the time was free to explore and see what I wanted to see. Our tour director, Kay, was great and very friendly. She was helpful when asked and easy to find. My room was tiny... real tiny. One piece of advice: Bring a wash cloth or body sponge with you since the hotel didn't have them. The internet connection was awful as well but it gave me a break plus you could connect all over the city. There were nice, fair priced restaurants within two blocks and next to the Tube station.

 

Hi Donald! We agree that the City Stays are pretty fantastic. It’s definitely nice not having to live out of your suitcase. We’re glad you enjoyed the itinerary and found your Tour Director to be a great resource. You’re right that accommodations can sometimes be smaller in Europe, as their standards often differ from those in North America. Thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | May 20, 2016

Show More Reviews