Lisbon, Seville & Madrid

11 days Multi-country
Relive the Age of Discovery, when explorers brought treasures from around the world—which are now on display in Portuguese palaces and Spanish cathedrals. Uncover Roman ruins throughout the region, as well as the Moorish influences in exotic Andalusia. And when your hands-on history lesson is complete, fast-forward to the present day to feast on tapas, drink sangria and join the street life in Madrid.

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Tour group size: 18 - 35 travelers

Tour pace: You will walk for about 2 hours daily across mostly flat terrain, including paved roads and cobblestone streets, with few hills or stairs.

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Your tour includes

  • 9 nights in handpicked hotels

  • Breakfast daily, 3 three-course dinners with beer or wine

  • Multilingual Tour Director

  • Private deluxe motor coach

  • Guided sightseeing and select entrance fees

Overnight Flight 1 night

Day 1: Travel day

Board your overnight flight to Portugal today.

Lisbon 3 nights Hotel info

Day 2: Arrival in Lisbon

  Included meals: Dinner

Welcome to Portugal! Meet your Tour Director and fellow travelers at tonight’s welcome dinner.

Day 3: Sightseeing tour of Lisbon

  Included meals: Breakfast

Get to know the Portuguese capital on a tour with a local guide.

• Discover the city’s maritime heritage at the Monument to the Discoveries and Tower of Belém

• Pass by the Jerónimos Monastery, built to honor voyagers, and enter Ajuda National Palace, the former residence of Portuguese royals

• Drive by the Moorish Alfama district in view of the Castle of São Jorge

Enjoy a free evening in Lisbon or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Fado Dinner & Show $85pp* Details

Fado Dinner & Show

Spend your evening at a Lisbon tavern listening to fado. Derived from the Latin word fatum—meaning “prophecy” or “fate”—fado is Portugal’s national musical treasure. Fado’s traditional theme is saudade, a word that doesn’t quite translate to English but conveys a sense of both nostalgia and longing. Dinner is included during this memorable musical evening.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $95)

Day 4: Free day in Lisbon

  Included meals: Breakfast

Enjoy a full free day in Lisbon or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Sintra & the Portuguese Riviera $59pp* Details

Journey to the UNESCO World Heritage-listed town of Sintra and learn why the poet Lord Byron once called it a “glorious Eden.” Get a glimpse into royal life during a guided tour of the 19th-century, romanticist Pena Palace. This mountaintop site boasts picturesque gardens and sweeping views of the Portuguese countryside. After your tour, you’ll have free time to stroll through Sintra, viewing its colorful villas, small shops and impeccably manicured gardens. On your way back to Lisbon, take in the coastal scenery of the Portuguese Riviera. Stop in the old fishing village of Cascais to eat lunch and discover the town’s winding, narrow streets, pastel-colored buildings and bustling fish market before continuing back to Lisbon.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $69)

Seville 3 nights Hotel info

Day 5: Seville via Évora

  Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Travel through the unspoiled countryside of Portugal en route to Spain. Before crossing the border, stop in Évora to follow a local guide through the Church of St. Francis, known as the “Chapel of Bones.” Arrive later in Seville, a city brimming with traditional Spanish charm.

Day 6: Sightseeing tour of Seville

  Included meals: Breakfast

Take in the highlights of Seville on a guided tour.

• Enter the Royal Alcázar, a palace that was once home to King Ferdinand and Queen Isabella

• Get a glimpse into Seville’s rich history, including the tiled pavilion of Plaza de España and the Gothic Seville Cathedral where Columbus is buried 

• Pass the whitewashed homes of Barrio de Santa Cruz, which was once the city’s Jewish quarter

Day 7: Free day in Seville

  Included meals: Breakfast

Enjoy a full free day in Seville or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Jerez Region: Yeguada Farm Visit & Sherry Tasting $99pp* Details

Jerez Region: Yeguada Farm Visit & Sherry Tasting

Travel ​south to the Jerez region to visit a traditional Yeguada stud farm, where Andalusian horses are bred. Learn about Yeguada horse culture as you tour the coach room, saddlery and grounds, which are home to stallions, mares and colts. After, visit a beautiful sherry house, known as a bodega, to learn about one of the most famous fortified wines in the world. Tour the bodega’s lush gardens and see where the sherry is processed and stored before enjoying lunch and a tasting.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $109)

Optional Excursion - Flamenco Show & Carriage Ride $75pp* Details

Savor a taste of old Seville tonight with a horse-drawn carriage ride and a flamenco show. Flamenco is a unique and colorful Andalusian art form, combining guitar playing, singing, clapping and dancing, and this excursion is sure to be one of the highlights of your Spanish journey. Please note: The carriage ride will run as weather permits.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $85)

Madrid 3 nights Hotel info

Day 8: Madrid via Córdoba

  Included meals: Breakfast

Leave Seville and make your way to Madrid, stopping en route to discover some of the flavors and history of Andalusia.

• Visit an olive farm to tour the grove, mill and cellar with a guide before tasting the flavorful olive oil

• Stop in the town of Córdoba to discover its rich history—at one time, the city was home to 700 mosques, 900 public baths and 70 libraries

• Enter the Mezquita, a UNESCO World Heritage site built in the eighth century as a mosque and then converted into a cathedral during the Reconquista 

Later, board a high-speed train and arrive in Madrid this afternoon.

Day 9: Sightseeing tour of Madrid

  Included meals: Breakfast

Explore the Spanish capital’s beautiful architecture, lively squares and grand boulevards on today’s guided sightseeing tour. 

• Make a photo stop at the Royal Palace, Spain’s largest royal residence 

• Pass by the Temple of Debod, a reassembled temple from ancient Egypt 

• View the city’s many squares, including Plaza de España, Plaza Mayor and the bustling Puerta del Sol

• Explore the Prado, a world-class art museum that began as the private collection of the Spanish monarchy and is home to the works of Goya, Velásquez and more

Enjoy a free evening in Madrid or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Traditional Spanish Evening $99pp* Details

On your way to dinner, walk through the illuminated streets of Madrid, taking in the local neighborhood ambiance in the evening light. Then, enjoy conversation, camaraderie and live music at one of the oldest restaurants in the city. Between traditional Castilian courses, you’ll be entertained by tuna music, an artistic tradition with its roots in Spain’s universities.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $109)

Day 10: Free day in Madrid

  Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Enjoy a free day in Madrid or add an excursion.

Later, say goodbye to your group at a farewell dinner.

Optional Excursion - Toledo $79pp* Details

Discover Toledo, the cliff-top city often referred to as La Ciudad Imperial (“The Imperial City”). Upon arrival, you’ll have some free time to explore. Later in the afternoon, your guided tour begins at Toledo Cathedral, a massive, Gothic structure that houses 750 medieval stained glass windows and a treasure trove of golden artifacts. Gaze upon the cathedral’s sacristy, containing masterpieces by the likes of van Dyck, El Greco, Rubens and Titian. After exploring the labyrinth of medieval alleyways at the heart of the city, you’ll visit the Church of Santo Tomé and one of Europe’s oldest synagogues, Santa María la Blanca. Please note: This tour involves some walking over uneven terrain. Also, depending on the day of the week, the sites visited are subject to change. If the Synagogue of Santa María la Blanca is closed, you’ll visit the Synagogue of El Tránsito instead.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $89)

Day 11: Departure

  Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

Transfer to the airport for your flight home or continue your exploration of Spain in Barcelona.

Add Barcelona Starting from $499 pp

From the twisting Gothic quarter to the whimsical creations of Antoni Gaudí and the visionary beauty of the Eixample district, Barcelona's architectural eye candy has no equal. Its music, theater, art, gastronomy, fashion, and architecture set the pace for European chic, and its nightlife will have you dancing until dawn.

Barcelona 2 nights Hotel info

Day 11: Train transfer to Barcelona

  Included meals: Breakfast

Board a high-speed train from Madrid to beautiful Barcelona. Upon arrival, check into your hotel and start your explorations.

Day 12: Sightseeing tour of Barcelona

  Included meals: Breakfast

Discover why the Catalan capital is touted for its unparalleled architectural landmarks, many of which are UNESCO World Heritage sites. 

• Step inside La Sagrada Família, Gaudí’s famous masterwork-in-progress

• Drive along Passeig de Gràcia, past Gaudí’s “house of bones”

• Stop at Montjuïc, where the 1992 Olympic Games took place, and stroll Mirador de l’Alcalde Park

• Pass Plaça d’Espanya and the soaring monument to Christopher Columbus

Enjoy a free afternoon in Barcelona or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Park Güell & La Pedrera $85pp* Details

Discover the magnificent works of Antoni Gaudí, the famed Spanish architect known for his bold, distinct designs. Take a guided tour of Casa Milà, popularly known as La Pedrera, built by Gaudí between 1905 and 1910. Everything about the building is visually unique, from the wave-like stone structure and grandly designed roof to the apartment that reflects the style of the 20th- century bourgeoisie. Next, you’ll head to Park Güell, also designed by Gaudí. Your guide will lead you through the park, which contains stunning buildings, intricate stonework and colorful mosaics. At the top of the park, marvel at the brilliant views of Barcelona.

Must be booked 20 days before departure

Day 13: Departure

  Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

Transfer to the airport for your flight home.

How's the weather?

  • Lisbon, Portugal
  • Seville, Spain
  • Madrid, Spain
Temperature Precipitation
  • JAN
  • FEB
  • MAR
  • APR
  • MAY
  • JUN
  • JUL
  • AUG
  • SEP
  • OCT
  • NOV
  • DEC

Passport & visa requirements

* In order to enter Portugal and Spain, U.S. and Canadian citizens need a valid passport with an expiration date extending at least six months beyond the date of reentry.  * We recommend having at least one blank passport page for entry stamps. * There is no visa required for U.S. or Canadian citizens. * If you are not a U.S. or Canadian citizen, you must contact your destination country’s consulate for your specific entry requirements.    

Tour pace

* You will walk for about 2 hours daily across mostly flat terrain, including paved roads and cobblestone streets, with few hills or stairs. * Travelers should be healthy enough to participate in all included walks without assistance. Adding optional excursions may increase the total amount of walking on your tour. * You should feel comfortable managing your own baggage at times, as well as getting in and out of trains. * If you have any mobility concerns or physical restrictions, please contact our Customer Experience Team.

Transportation & arrival information

* Round-trip flights booked through Go Ahead arrive in Lisbon and depart from Madrid (or Barcelona on the tour extension). A Go Ahead representative will meet you at the airport and take you to your hotel. Please remain in the arrival lounge, as the representative might be escorting one of your fellow travelers to the bus at the time of your arrival.  * Transfers to and from the airport at your destination are included for travelers who have purchased their flights through Go Ahead. Travelers who purchase their own flights may request airport transfers with Go Ahead for an additional cost. * A train ride from Córdoba to Madrid is included in the price of your tour. (The tour extension also includes a train ride from Madrid to Barcelona.)  * All other included transportation on this tour is by private motor coach.

Baggage allowance

* Airlines have varying weight restrictions on baggage. Some airlines may impose additional charges if you choose to check any baggage; be advised that you are responsible for any such costs.  * Contact your airline for baggage size and weight restrictions for your flight, but please note that Go Ahead travelers are restricted to one checked bag per person due to storage limitations on motor coaches and other transfers, which may include train connections or flights.  * One carry-on bag of 45 total inches (length + width + height) is also permitted. * Make sure you label your baggage and keep valuables, medication and documents in your carry-on bag.

Clothing & packing tips

* We recommend packing lightweight, loose-fitting clothing that can be easily layered to accommodate varying temperatures, as well as a light jacket or rainwear. * A sturdy pair of walking shoes or sneakers is recommended for sightseeing. * You may want to pack dressier attire if you plan to visit a high-end restaurant or attend a special performance.  * It is preferable not to visit churches or other religious sites with bare legs and shoulders (and entrance may be denied on this basis).

Health

* There are no major health risks associated with traveling to any of the countries on this tour.  * At least 60 days prior to departure, check with your doctor or healthcare provider for the latest updates and entry requirements, or visit the Center for Disease Control and Prevention website at cdc.gov. * If you have medication that you take daily, be sure you have enough for each day of the tour as well as any possible delays encountered. * If you have dietary restrictions and/or food allergies please notify Go Ahead at least 30 days prior to departure by logging in to My Account and updating your traveler info. To update this information closer to your departure date, please call our Customer Experience Team.

Cuisine

* Portuguese food is fresh, hearty and delicious. Try seafood stew cooked in a cataplana, a shell-shaped copper pan, or the national dish, bacalhau (salted cod). A couvert, or simple plate of bread, butter and olives, is often served when you sit down to a meal—while it is free in many restaurants, some will add a charge to your bill for it. * In Spain, breakfast like a local with just a pastry and coffee. Then, tuck into a three-course lunch featuring a Spanish staple like savory seafood paella or grilled meat and fried potatoes. Dinner is less hearty than lunch and is served late, between 9pm and midnight. Snack on small plates called tapas any time of day. * Cuisine in Spain's southern Andalusia region is heavily influenced by surrounding countries, and has many Arabic elements. Kebabs are popular, and desserts are often prepared with almonds, honey and cinnamon. Be sure to try Serrano ham, which is considered a regional delicacy, as well as the famous chilled soup known as gazpacho.

Electricity & air conditioning

* Portugal and Spain operate on the European standard 220-240 volts and use Types C, E or F plugs with two small, round pins.  * We recommend packing a universal adapter, as well as a voltage converter if you plan on using your own hairdryer or other device without a built-in converter.   * The strength of the air conditioning in European hotels is often not as strong or as cool as what you might be used to in the U.S. or Canada. When air conditioning is available, it is usually regulated seasonally and controlled centrally by the hotel.  * Your hotels may provide hairdryers, irons and other small appliances. However, these amenities cannot be guaranteed. 

Connectivity

* Wi-Fi is available in most hotels, though some charges may apply.  * There is no Wi-Fi on any of the motor coaches.  * Please contact your mobile service provider for information on roaming charges.

Time zones

* Portugal is on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) and five hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time (EST).  * Spain is one hour ahead of GMT and six hours ahead of EST. * When it’s noon in New York, it’s 5pm in Lisbon and 6pm in Seville and Madrid.

Currency

* You will use the euro in Portugal and Spain.  * Better rates of exchange are usually available overseas, although it’s worth ordering some currency from your local bank to use when you first arrive.  * We strongly advise that you take debit/bank cards and credit cards, which can be used to withdraw cash at local banks as needed.  * You can use most debit/credit cards at ATMs on the international networks Cirrus and Plus, but make sure to check with your home bank about withdrawal fees.  * Inform your bank and credit card company of your travel plans so that they won’t confuse your international purchases for fraudulent charges. * International banks and businesses primarily accept debit and credit cards that work with the EMV chip system. If you do not already have at least one debit or credit card with a chip in it, we strongly recommend requesting one from your bank prior to your tour.

Tipping

* At the conclusion of your tour, it’s customary to offer your Tour Director and driver a gratuity in local currency. Please keep current exchange rates in mind. * We recommend tipping the equivalent of $7USD/CAD to $10USD/CAD per person per day for your Tour Director and the equivalent of $3USD/CAD per person per day for your driver. * If applicable, we also recommend the equivalent of $2USD/CAD per local guide.  * Tips can only be paid in cash. 

Purchasing excursions on tour

* Most optional excursions will be available for purchase while you are on tour. * Your Tour Director will only accept cash (in USD only), Visa or MasterCard as payment for excursions.  * Please be advised that if you pay for an excursion by credit card while on tour, it may take up to three months for your card to be charged.  * Some optional excursions may only be purchased in advance. See page four of your tour itinerary for more information.

See what our travelers say about this tour—all reviews are authentic and unedited.

Have you been on tour with us? Visit My Account to submit a review.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 10/8/2016

Number of Past Tours: 4

From: UT

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Surprised in Spain

Touring Spain and Portugal was a delight. Both countries were clean and welcoming. The tours were very diversified and interesting. Our GoAhead guide, Lois, had everything organized and all elements of the tour fell into place perfectly. There was one city guide that was exceptional in the delivery or his material, Freddy. I'll never visit a museum with the same perspective, he was delightful! I can't wait to go back and see the nothern and southern shores of Spain. I highly recommend this tour.

 

Hi Judy! We’re glad that you found Spain and Portugal to be delightful and welcoming. We’re also pleased that you feel this itinerary provided a wide array of interesting activities and tours. It’s great to know that your Tour Director and local guides added value to your experience and helped you to come away with a new perspective. Thank you for recommending this tour, and we hope to welcome you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | November 14, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 10/8/2016

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: MI

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

First Trip to Portugal and Spain

My wife and I had a wonderful experience on our first trip to Portugal and Spain. Our tour guide Luis was outstanding. Luis kept us informed, engaged and on time during our twelve days with him. He always took time to orientate us from our hotel location. At various times he even bought us subway tickets, custard tarts and even cherry liqueur. The four stops at Lisbon, Seville, Madrid and Barcelona were well worth visiting. But, the side trips to Sintra, Cascais, Evora, the Vasilippo Olive Farm, the Flamenco Show in Seville and Cordoba brought even more understanding to the culture and history of Portugal and Spain. In general, the trip allowed for as much free time as you wanted. I would recommend taking advantage of the optional trips. The hotels and breakfast buffets were all splendid. We are already discussing return trip to these cities in the future.

 

Hello! We’re happy that you and your wife enjoyed your time in Portugal and Spain. It sounds like your Tour Director’s efforts enhanced your experience through his knowledge, enthusiasm, and organization, and we’re delighted to hear it. We appreciate your feedback on the itinerary, such as the balance of guided time and free time. We’re glad you recommend including the optionals, as we agree that they offer unique cultural experiences. Thank you for your review, and let us know when you’re ready to travel again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | November 14, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 10/7/2016

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: SC

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

GoAhead Staff

I am very impressed with the GoAhead staff especially during Hurricane Matthew which resulted in unforeseen rapid, numerous travel itinerary changes. The GoAhead staff, particularly Molly M., was responsive, reliable, resourceful and friendly, helping me to feel like a valued customer and putting me at ease knowing that all the details would be handled. A special thank you to Molly M.! She did a stellar job!

 

Dear Rachel, First of all, we’re glad you felt at ease knowing that we were taking care of all the logistics to ensure a safe and enjoyable tour, despite some last minute changes due to the hurricane. We are so pleased to learn that your experience with our staff was responsive, professional, and caring. We are very proud to work with such fantastic people, and we will be sure to share your feedback with them, especially Molly. Thank you for your wonderful review, and we hope to welcome you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | October 20, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 9/10/2016

Number of Past Tours: 3

From: WI

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Great trip!

This was our third trip with Go Ahead and it was great! I highly recommend taking the extension to Barcelona. We appreciated the airport transfers; three night stays (except for Barcelona); travel by high-speed train (Cordoba to Madrid; and Madrid to Barcelona); city tours; and the variety of optional excursions. To allow for more time to explore the cities, we opted for only two optionals: Toledo and the Park Guell, both excellent choices. Our multilingual tour director was especially important as we spoke no Spanish and so many Spainards spoke no English.

 

Hi Elaine! We’re glad to hear your third Go Ahead tour was a success! We’re also pleased to learn that you would recommend extending to Barcelona, and we agree that it’s a great idea to do that. We appreciate your feedback on the tour, and we are glad you enjoyed the optionals you decided to include in your tour. Thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you on tour again.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | October 14, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 9/10/2016

Number of Past Tours: 3

From: TX

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Recent tour

We had one hotel that was not up to standards. The other hotels were great. Would have loved to have more time in some of the smaller places. And visited fewer cathedrals and more of the local less tourist places. Felt some days there was to much on the agenda The tour guide was awesome and 90% of the local guides could not have been better.

 

Hi Janet! We appreciate your constructive feedback on the tour, as we are constantly using customer suggestions to make improvements. We regret that one of your hotels did not meet your expectations and that you would have liked the itinerary to provide more time for exploration, perhaps in some less touristic areas. It’s great to know that you found your Tour Director and most of your local guides to be excellent, and we will be sure to share this feedback with them. Thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | September 28, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 3/12/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: MN

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Wonderful Tour

I've been praising this tour to everyone I talk with, especially to people who like to travel independently and who are leery of organized tours. We had a perfect combination of tours led by very well-informed local guides in each of the cities, followed by free time to explore on our own. Our tour director, Tamara Hauptmen, was outstanding--knowledgeable, thoughtful, caring, and charming. (I discovered, when praising Tamara, that a friend had had Tamara as tour director on a trip to Italy. It was because my friend and I were so enthusiastic that we discovered we'd had the same tour director!) Our group was congenial and small enough to allow us to get to become acquainted and feel connected to each other. It was very nice not to have to worry about transportation to and from airports and train stations, and our bus driver was great! Of course, Portugal and Spain were wonderful, and I'd like to go back and spend more time in both countries. The hotel accommodations were very nice, and we had only a few quibbles (e.g., no soap dishes or wash cloths in the bathrooms, the hotel in Seville which wanted to charge for use of the safes--until Tamara intervened).

 

Hi Solfrid! We’re so glad you enjoyed your time on tour, and we’re very appreciative of you singing its praises to others! It sounds like both your group and your Tour Director made a very positive impact on your experience. We’re happy to hear it. That’s also very cool that your friend had had Tamara as a Tour Director previously! We’re pleased to learn you were able to relax and enjoy your time on tour without worrying about all the little details. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you on tour again soon!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | April 22, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 7/11/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Excellent Tour

This 10-day tour was very well organized and very well structured. The places visited were part of the "must-see" locations and the two recommendations I would make are: 1) Extend the time in transfer cities, such as Cordoba and Evora. It would be worthwhile spending at least 2-3 more ours in these cities 2) Definitely use European airlines for the flights. Most (if not all) European airlines (Lufthansa; KLM; etc) surpass by a great length the quality of service and space as compared to AA and Delta.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 6/20/2015

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: OH

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Great Tour

I LOVED this tour. A little too long in Madrid, but otherwise it was GREAT!

 

Hi Gayle! We're so glad you loved this tour. Thank you for your feedback on Madrid. We will be sure to pass it along to our Product Development team. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | June 17, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 6/20/2015

Number of Past Tours: 5

From: OH

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Great trip!

We had an exciting 13 day trip to Portugal and Spain. I loved our tour director, Luis! When we arrived at each new city, he provided a walking tour to get us acclimated to where things were in the city. He showed us how to get the subways also. He was very helpful in showing us how to get wherever we wanted to go. Go Ahead Tours are great because after giving a pretty thorough bus tour of each city, we were given tips on what to see and we could do what we wanted on our own or in small groups. That was MUCH better than trying to follow a big tour group everywhere! We have taken six trips with Go Ahead and I highly recommend them.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 6/20/2015

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: TN

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Best Tour Director

Luis is the most outstanding tour director we have ever had. He went out of his way to make sure the tour was completely organized and that it ran smoothly. He is personable and funny, and very knowledgeable of Spain and Portugal. He went out of his way to make sure we had a wonderful experience. I will recommend him and Go Ahead to all of our friends.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 4/18/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: FL

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Love Spain

I greatly enjoyed the trip. The walking tours were a little bit to fast especially when you're older and can't keep up. The cities that we visited were fantastic. Not enough time to really shop.

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 4/18/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: FL

Tour Director: 4 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Not enough time!

Would have liked to have same tour spread out over more time. There was so much to do, particularly in Madrid and Barcelona, and I felt like we barely skimmed the surface. Omitting some of the excursions would have helped but those were good too. The guides were all great and the food was wonderful! I would like to spend the rest of my life at the Sana Malhoa Hotel in Lisbon. Everything there was so extraordinary, the other hotels paled by comparison. Whoever managed to book us in Seville during the week of their festival really scored a coup. All in all it was a very good trip. I didn't want to come home.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 10/19/2014

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: MO

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

fantastic tour director

Our tour diector was outstanding. His name is Fabrizio and I could not have been more pleased. He exhibited professionalism and was very caring. I would consider another tour if he is the director. The tour itself was much more than I had expected. Thank you.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 9/27/2014

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: FL

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Best Tour Director

In our opinion,Walter's and me, Rafael was excellent,we loved him and the bus drivers too. He handled our group,42 people, very well, everything worked ontime,we did not have any problems or incidents.We had a great time and got great memories to share with our loved ones. Thank you!

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 9/27/2014

Number of Past Tours: 3

From: RI

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Great Value! Got a lot for the money!

I just returned 2 days ago from this tour, and the experience was exceptional. From Lisbon, then Seville, Madrid and finally, Barcelona, everything was a fulfilling experience. Our tour guide, Rafael, was knowledgeable about where to eat, shop and explore locally. Cabs were inexpensive and easy to get, thereby making getting around fairly simple. The Castillian dinner was exceptional, as were the Flamenco Show and Carriage Ride. I was thrilled to go to the Prado Museum, and the tour guide who worked with our group there was exceptionally knowledgeable about art. The day we went to the Prado in Madrid, the Reina Sophia was open free to the public on Sundays, so after lunch we went there and saw Picasso's "Guernica". Two museums for the price of one! The weather was perfect (not a drop of rain) and the temps were summer like. Tapas and Sangria were inexpensive and delicious, as were the wines we drank. Great, great time and the group was wonderful!

1 / 4

3 / 5

3 / 5

Tour Date: 9/27/2014

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NY

Tour Director: 3 / 5

Tour Value: 3 / 5

Disappointment

The "Real Parque" hotel in Lisbon was a grave disappointment. The accommodations were very uncomfortable, the hotel is outdated and located in a dismal part of the city. The front desk staff were not pleasant. The hotel Zenit in Seville was somewhat better, however, still outdated. Side tours were good, with tour guides being adequate. All dinner meals included in tour package were terrible, breakfast in all hotels were very good. All in all, I can't imagine using or recommending your tour company.

 

Antoinette, Thank you for taking the time to review your tour to Lisbon, Seville & Madrid. We are very sorry to hear that your experience was so unsatisfactory. Please be assured that our travelers’ feedback is taken very seriously and that our attention to quality is of the utmost importance. As such, we will be following up with our suppliers regarding the issues you have raised. We recognize that every traveler has a unique perspective and it is very unfortunate that your travel experience was not what you were looking for.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | October 28, 2014

3 / 5

3 / 5

Tour Date: 6/20/2014

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: MO

Tour Director: 4 / 5

Tour Value: 3 / 5

Not exactly as represented... :(

This is a review of my general experience using GoAhead Tours & how that worked out for me. (Not a review of our specific destination.) I am a first-time user of GoAhead Tours. Pros: I liked the fact that we didn't have to book our own air travel & train travel & hotels in cities & countries where I did not know the language or the areas that would be the best to stay in. Pros: The local guides often gave interesting information about the cities we were in. I enjoyed their knowledge. Pros: Our tour guide was personable & pleasant to spend our trip with. It is comforting to have someone along that 'knows the ropes' of travelling in the specific area you are in. Pros: Before the tour, we seemed to get good customer service from GoAhead Tours any time we had a question. I appreciated that. Our phone calls with the company were always pleasant & helpful. This was our first 'tour' experience, so we had a lot of questions! ;) Cons: One reason we booked through this tour company was the really interesting optional excursions that were available with our tour. Without those optional excursions, I do not think their 'basic tour' would have caught our eye. We very much like exploring the heck out of a destination, so those excursions were a big plus to us & in my mind one of the biggest reasons we tried this particular tour company. BUT... Of the 6 excursions we booked (we booked every one available to us), one was cancelled due to lack of interest before the trip began & we did get our money back on that before we ever left-- disappointing, but understandable. What wasn't quite understandable to me & was a real disappointment for me, was that once we got on tour 2 of the 5 remaining pre-purchased optional excursions were cancelled on the tour itself. ?! Now our tour only included 3 of those 6 optionals we were looking forward to. That was a big disappointment! :( If only 3 of the optionals had been represented on the website originally, I might have never booked this tour, thinking it didn't offer 'quite enough' for my tastes. While on tour, our tour guide did try to coordinate other excursions to replace the ones that were cancelled. I would say one of those worked out very well & one was a 'little cheesy'. We had to pay her in cash (Euros) on the trip in order to be able to participate in these 'optionals' as well. We were told at the time, she would report the cancelled optional excursions to GoAhead tours & within a couple of weeks of our return, we would have a refund. Again, I was disappointed in GoAhead tours, because it wasn't 2 weeks it was over 6 weeks & 3 phone calls to GoAhead tours before this was resolved & because of 'fine print' they actually only refunded us for one of the optionals instead of both of the optionals that were cancelled on tour. BE CAREFUL! If they give you something for free when you book, like they gave us one optional for free, and then they cancelled that particular optional excursion on tour, they will not then give you something you actually paid for for free in return, but you will just lose your free excursion. So it is like you never got the 'deal' they were giving you to begin with. That didn't sit well with me. I very much expected better customer service after the trip was over. I was told I should have know this, it was in the 'fine print' of the deal. Also, the last representative of GoAhead Tours I talked to on the phone told me it is NOT UNCOMMON for them to cancel optional excursions after the tour starts. Ok then!... Wish they would have publicized that fact in bold print somewhere before I booked with them?! I will probably try a DIFFERENT tour company next time, because those 'optional excursions' were important to me & a main reason I chose to book with GoAhead tours. In the end, I don't feel like they represented their optional excursions 100% truthfully. And they've now 'rubbed me the wrong way'... I want to know what I'm paying for, pay for it & then get that experience, not have things cancelled or changed once I'm already on tour. If the 'optional excursions' do not interest you & you are looking for a basic tour/travel agent experience, you should do fine booking with this tour company. They seemed well organized. I personally, wanted more. I thought I was getting more. I paid for more. And that didn't exactly work out for me. Honestly, the customer service after the trip: the multiple calls, the long wait for our refund & not getting all our money back for the cancelled optional excursions has just worn on me. A little extra-nice customer service at the end of this trip would have gone a long way to remedy to all that & could have left me with a different attitude toward GoAhead Tours in the end. But no...

 

Dear Annette, Thank you for taking the time to talk with me and for sharing your candid feedback. I am happy that I was able to hear all of your feedback, and I’m glad that we were able to come to an agreement. We’re so happy that you enjoyed your tour overall and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you on another Go Ahead tour in the future.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | August 29, 2014

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 5/10/2014

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: IL

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

My Dream Came True!

I have dreamt of touring Portugal & Spain. Thanks to Go Ahead Tours, my dream came true. This was my first tour, and I did it alone. My biggest fear was that I would get stuck with a large group of 20+, my happily I was with a small group of 13. And we all bonded immediately. Our Tour Director, Africa, was fantastic. Friendly, knowledgeable and made sure all our needs were met. Our local Tour Guides were gems. You could tell they loved and were proud of their country. The hotels in each City exceeded my expectations. The side-trips to Sintra, Evora, Cacais, Cordoba and Toledo ... incredible. The history, architecture ... truly awe-inspiring. I had signed up for all the optional excursions and the only one that disappointed me was the Fado Dinner. Not truly Fado music ... and very touristy. But the Flamenco Show and day trip to Toledo were incredible. Toledo ... no words can describe how beautiful this City was. Seville was everything I had hoped it would be. Madrid surprised me ... I fell in love with Madrid. If you dream of visiting Portugal & Spain ... this is definitely a tour for you.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 3/15/2014

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Best Tour Director

Had an amazing time on this tour met some wonderful people and visited several beautiful areas of these two great countries. Leonor our tour director was wonderful so genuine and kind. Everyone could tell that she loves her job and wanted to make all of us feel welcome and special. I would definitely do another tour with her I consider her to be a great great person and tour director.

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 3/15/2014

Number of Past Tours: 5

From: MD

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Great Tourist Experience

Portugal is filled with historical and sometimes unexpected locations. The ride from Lisbon to Seville was a lesson in the gifts of Portugal. The tour of Spain was exciting and highlighted with a carriage ride and seeing experts doing the flamenco. Our guide professionally dealt with an unavoidable situation in Madrid. Spanish protests did not limit the Madrid tourist experience...it added to it. The only regret was a necessary quick departure from Cordoba. The trip was topped off with a day in Toledo. Toledo is one of the most fantastic places that I have had the privilege to visit in Europe.

Show More Reviews