Portugal, Spain & Morocco

16 days Multi-country
Relive the Age of Discovery, when explorers brought treasures from around the world—now on glorious display in Portuguese palaces and Spanish cathedrals. See the Moorish influences in exotic Andalusia, travel into the heart of Morocco to hear the haunting call to prayer and explore the maze-like medinas of the imperial cities.

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Tour group size: 18 - 35 travelers

Tour pace: You will walk for about 3.5 hours daily across moderately uneven terrain, including paved roads and cobblestone streets, with some hills and stairs.

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Your tour includes

  • 14 nights in handpicked hotels

  • Breakfast daily, 7 three-course dinners with beer or wine in Portugal and Spain

  • Multilingual Tour Director

  • Private deluxe motor coach

  • Guided sightseeing and select entrance fees

Overnight Flight 1 night

Day 1: Travel day

Board your overnight flight to Portugal today.

Lisbon 2 nights Hotel info

Day 2: Arrival in Lisbon

  Included meals: Dinner

Welcome to Portugal! Meet your Tour Director and fellow travelers at a welcome dinner tonight.

Day 3: Sightseeing tour of Lisbon

  Included meals: Breakfast

Get to know the Portuguese capital on tour with a local guide.

• Visit the Plaza del Marqués de Pombal and the Mouraria District

• Discover the city’s maritime heritage at the Monument to the Discoveries and Tower of Belém

• Pass the Jerónimos Monastery, built to honor voyagers, and enter the Ajuda National Palace, the former residence of Portuguese royals 

• Take a short walking tour of the Moorish Alfama District, the city’s oldest section

Enjoy a free afternoon in Lisbon or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Sintra $59pp* Details

The poet Lord Byron called UNESCO-listed Sintra the most beautiful town in the world. Today, Sintra is a popular weekend escape for Lisboetas, but it was once the playground of Portuguese royalty. Get a glimpse of royal life during a guided tour of the 19th-century, Romanticist Pena Palace. This story-book, mountaintop site boasts picturesque gardens and sweeping views of the Portuguese countryside. After your tour, you'll have free time to stroll through Sintra, viewing the town's colorful villas, small shops and impeccably manicured gardens. Then, enjoy beautiful coastal views of the Portuguese Riviera as you drive back to Lisbon.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $69)

Seville 2 nights Hotel info

Day 4: Seville via Évora

  Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Travel through the unspoiled countryside of Portugal en route to Spain. Before crossing the border, stop in the UNESCO-listed city of Évora for a sightseeing tour with a local guide. View the Roman temple and visit the Church of St. Francis, known as the “Chapel of Bones.”

Day 5: Sightseeing tour of Seville

  Included meals: Breakfast

Take in the highlights of Seville on a guided tour.

• View the tiled pavilion of the Plaza de España and step inside the Gothic Seville Cathedral, the third largest church in the world 

• Pass the whitewashed homes of Barrio de Santa Cruz

Enjoy a free afternoon in Seville or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Flamenco Show & Carriage Ride $75pp* Details

Savor a taste of old Seville tonight with a horse-drawn carriage ride and a flamenco show. Flamenco is a unique and colorful Andalusian art form, combining guitar playing, singing, clapping and dancing, and this excursion is sure to be one of the highlights of your Spanish journey. Please note: The carriage ride will run as weather permits.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $85)

Granada 2 nights Hotel info

Day 6: Granada via Córdoba

  Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

On the way to Granada, stop in the town of Córdoba. There, explore the Mezquita, a UNESCO World Heritage site that was built in the eighth century as a mosque and then transformed into a cathedral during the Christian Reconquista of 1236.

Day 7: Sightseeing tour of the Alhambra

  Included meals: Breakfast

Discover Granada on a guided tour that includes the 14th-century Alhambra, the Moorish sultans’ last stronghold and home to a unique blend of Western and Islamic art.

Tangier 1 night Hotel info

Day 8: Sightseeing tour of Gibraltar

  Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

En route to Morocco, travel to the colony of Gibraltar, a pocket of British culture on the Mediterranean.

• Travel up the Rock of Gibraltar to reach St. Michael’s Cave and the Apes’ Den, home to 160 semi-wild Barbary apes

• Marvel at panoramic views stretching all the way to Morocco

• Board a ferry from Tarifa to Tangier

Fes 2 nights Hotel info

Day 9: Sightseeing tour of Tangier

  Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Begin your day with a guided tour of Tangier, a city celebrated by Western writers like Paul Bowles and William Burroughs.

• Explore the stately French plaza and Boulevard Pasteur

• Traverse the maze-like passageways through the medina 

• At Cape Spartel, take in one-of-a-kind views of the Atlantic

On the road to Fes, stop in Chaouen, a hilltop town famous for its blue-painted buildings. Admire panoramic views of the city, then stroll through the streets to soak in Chaouen’s unique character.

Day 10: Sightseeing tour of Fes

  Included meals: Breakfast

A local guide leads a tour of Fes, the spiritual and cultural center of Moroccan life.

• See the University of al-Karaouine, dating back to the ninth century, and the wonderful Souk el Attarine

• Learn about the traditional madrassas, the ancient Islamic schools that serve as the foundation of the city’s intellectual life 

• Explore the labyrinthine medina before reaching the colorful bazaars to barter with potters, weavers and carpenters for their wares

Casablanca 1 night Hotel info

Day 11: Casablanca via Rabat

  Included meals: Breakfast

Tour Morocco’s capital city of Rabat with a local guide before continuing on to the city of Casablanca.

• Explore the Roman ruins at Chellah Gardens

• View Hassan Tower, intended to be the world’s largest mosque until construction halted in 1199

• Tour the white and green Mausoleum of Mohammed V, which houses the tombs of the 20th-century king and his two sons

Marrakesh 2 nights Hotel info

Day 12: Sightseeing tour of Casablanca

  Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Discover the highlights of seaside Casablanca, a city with a modern-day legend that was established by Old Hollywood, with a local guide.

• Step inside Casablanca’s ancient medina, the bustling heart of the city 

• Stroll the fashionable Corniche waterfront area

Day 13: Sightseeing tour of Marrakesh

  Included meals: Breakfast

Get a feel for Marrakesh, located to the north of the foothills of the Atlas Mountains, on a guided tour.

• Visit the Djemaa el-Fna, a festive open-air market where musicians, snake charmers and clowns perform during the evenings

• Marvel at the massive Koutoubia Mosque, which features a minaret that reaches nearly 200 feet high and dominates the city’s skyline

• Enter the evocative Saadian Tombs, the mausoleum for the 16th-century ruling princes, and the ruins of El Badi Palace, once home to King Ahmed el Mansour 

• View the Rue Souk Smarine, famous for its textiles

Enjoy a free evening in Marrakesh or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Evening in Marrakesh: Dinner & Music $55pp* Details

Visit a local Marrakesh restaurant for dinner, where you’ll be served an authentic Moroccan meal. As you enjoy an array of delicious courses, take in a showcase of traditional music and dance.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $65)

Madrid 2 nights Hotel info

Day 14: Flight to Madrid

  Included meals: Breakfast

Fly to Madrid this afternoon and settle into your hotel. Then, enjoy a free evening in Madrid.

Day 15: Sightseeing tour of Madrid

  Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Explore the Spanish capital’s beautiful architecture, lively squares and grand boulevards on today’s guided sightseeing tour. 

• Make a photo stop at the Royal Palace and pass by the Temple of Debod

• Pass the city’s many squares, including Plaza de España and Plaza Mayor 

• Explore the Prado museum, home to the works of Goya, Velásquez and more

Say goodbye to your group at a farewell dinner tonight.

Day 16: Departure

  Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

Transfer to the airport to board your flight home or continue on in Barcelona.

Add Madrid & Barcelona Starting from $529 pp

Please note: Extension is not available on all departure dates.

Linger in the Spanish capital then discover Barcelona's twisting Gothic quarter, the whimsical creations of Antoni Gaudí and the Modernist, egalitarian beauty of the Eixample district—this city's architectural eye candy has no equal. Its music, theater, art, gastronomy, fashion, and architecture set the pace for European chic, and its nightlife will have you dancing 'til dawn.

Madrid 1 night Hotel info

Day 16: Free day in Madrid

  Included meals: Breakfast

Spend a full free day in Madrid or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Toledo $79pp* Details

Discover Toledo, the cliff-top city often referred to as La Ciudad Imperial (“The Imperial City”). Upon arrival, you’ll have some free time to explore. Later in the afternoon, your guided tour begins at Toledo Cathedral, a massive, Gothic structure that houses 750 medieval stained glass windows and a treasure trove of golden artifacts. Gaze upon the cathedral’s sacristy, containing masterpieces by the likes of van Dyck, El Greco, Rubens and Titian. After exploring the labyrinth of medieval alleyways at the heart of the city, you’ll visit the Church of Santo Tomé and one of Europe’s oldest synagogues, Santa María la Blanca. Please note: This tour involves some walking over uneven terrain. Also, depending on the day of the week, the sites visited are subject to change. If the Synagogue of Santa María la Blanca is closed, you’ll visit the Synagogue of El Tránsito instead.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $89)

Barcelona 2 nights Hotel info

Day 17: Sightseeing tour of Barcelona

  Included meals: Breakfast

Take the high-speed train to Barcelona and discover why the Catalan capital is touted for its unparalleled architectural landmarks, many of which are UNESCO World Heritage sites. 

• Step inside La Sagrada Família, Gaudí’s famous masterwork-in-progress

• Drive along Passeig de Gràcia, past Gaudí’s “house of bones”

• Stop at Montjuïc, where the 1992 Olympic Games took place, and stroll Mirador de l’Alcalde Park

• Pass Plaça d’Espanya and the soaring monument to Christopher Columbus

Day 18: Free day in Barcelona

  Included meals: Breakfast

Enjoy a full free day in Barcelona or add excursions.

Optional Excursion - Montserrat $69pp* Details

Journey to the ninth-century Monastery of Montserrat, which inspired the composer Richard Wagner as he wrote Parsifal. Ride a high-flying cable car up the mountain and enjoy magnificent views of the Llobregat River Valley and—if skies are clear—the Pyrenees. A local guide leads the way to the secluded Santa Maria de Montserrat Abbey, where you may have a chance to see La Moreneta, Catalonia’s miraculous and beloved statue of the Black Virgin of Montserrat. Take some time to explore the monastery before descending the mountain by bus and driving back to Barcelona. Please note: Due to the ever-changing schedule of church activities, a viewing of the Black Virgin of Montserrat statue cannot be guaranteed.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $79)

Optional Excursion - Park Güell & La Pedrera $85pp* Details

Discover the magnificent works of Antoni Gaudí, the famed Spanish architect known for his bold, distinct designs. Take a guided tour of Casa Milà, popularly known as La Pedrera, built by Gaudí between 1905 and 1910. Everything about the building is visually unique, from the wave-like stone structure and grandly designed roof to the apartment that reflects the style of the 20th- century bourgeoisie. Next, you’ll head to Park Güell, also designed by Gaudí. Your guide will lead you through the park, which contains stunning buildings, intricate stonework and colorful mosaics. At the top of the park, marvel at the brilliant views of Barcelona.

Must be booked 20 days before departure

Day 19: Departure

  Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

Transfer to the airport to board your flight home.

How's the weather?

  • Lisbon, Portugal
  • Seville, Spain
  • Granada, Spain
  • Tangier, Morocco
  • Fes, Morocco
  • Casablanca, Morocco
  • Marrakesh, Morocco
  • Madrid, Spain
Temperature Precipitation
  • JAN
  • FEB
  • MAR
  • APR
  • MAY
  • JUN
  • JUL
  • AUG
  • SEP
  • OCT
  • NOV
  • DEC

Passport & visa requirements

  • In order to enter Portugal, Spain, Morocco and Gibraltar (a British colony), U.S. and Canadian citizens need a valid passport with an expiration date extending at least six months beyond the date of reentry.
  • We recommend having at least two blank passport pages for entry stamps. 
  • There is no visa required for U.S. or Canadian citizens.
  • If you are not a U.S. or Canadian citizen, you must contact each country’s consulate for your specific entry requirements.

Tour pace

  • You will walk for about 3.5 hours daily across moderately uneven terrain, including paved roads and cobblestone streets, with some hills and stairs.
  • Travelers should be healthy enough to participate in all included walks without assistance. Adding optional excursions may increase the total amount of walking on your tour.
  • You should feel comfortable managing your own baggage at times, as well as getting in and out of trains and ferries.
  • If you have any mobility concerns or physical restrictions, please contact our Customer Experience Team.

Transportation & arrival information

  • Round-trip flights booked through Go Ahead arrive in Lisbon and depart from Madrid (or Barcelona on the tour extension). A Go Ahead representative will meet you at the airport and take you to your hotel. Please remain in the arrival lounge, as the representative might be escorting one of your fellow travelers to the bus at the time of your arrival. 
  • Transfers to and from the airport at your destination are included for travelers who have purchased their flights through Go Ahead. Travelers who purchase their own flights may request airport transfers with Go Ahead for an additional cost.
  • A ferry from Algeciras, Spain to Tangier, Morocco and a flight from Marrakesh, Morocco to Madrid, Spain are included in the price of your tour. (The tour extension also includes a train ride from Madrid to Barcelona.) 
  • All other included transportation on this tour is by private motor coach.

Baggage allowance

  • Airlines have varying weight restrictions on baggage. Some airlines may impose additional charges if you choose to check any baggage; be advised that you are responsible for any such costs. 
  • Contact your airline for baggage size and weight restrictions for your flight, but please note that Go Ahead travelers are restricted to one checked bag per person due to storage limitations on motor coaches and other transfers, which may include train connections or flights. 
  • One carry-on bag of 45 total inches (length + width + height) is also permitted.
  • Make sure you label your baggage and keep valuables, medication and documents in your carry-on bag.

Clothing & packing tips

  • We recommend packing lightweight, loose-fitting clothing to accommodate varying temperatures, as well as a light jacket or rainwear.
  • Please note that summer temperatures in Morocco are often very high, and it is advisable to wear breathable clothing. 
  • A sturdy pair of walking shoes or sneakers is recommended for sightseeing.
  • You may want to pack dressier attire if you plan to visit a high-end restaurant or attend a special performance. 
  • It is preferable not to visit churches or other religious sites with bare legs and shoulders (and entrance may be denied on this basis). Furthermore, in Morocco, modest dress is preferred for women in general; female travelers often feel more comfortable with shoulders and bare knees covered at all times.

Health

  • There are no major health risks associated with traveling to any of the countries on this tour. 
  • At least 60 days prior to departure, check with your doctor or healthcare provider for the latest updates and entry requirements, or visit the Center for Disease Control and Prevention website at cdc.gov.
  • While in Morocco, we recommend drinking bottled water and refraining from consuming tap water, even when brushing teeth. Also, avoid eating fresh fruits and vegetables unless they are cooked or washed in clean water and peeled.
  • If you have medication that you take daily, be sure you have enough for each day of the tour as well as any possible delays encountered.
  • Please note that certain medication, both over the counter and prescription, are banned in some foreign countries. The importation of these drugs can carry severe consequences. Please consult your physician 4 weeks prior to departure to ensure that any drugs you may want to bring with you are legal in the countries you visit.
  • If you have dietary restrictions and/or food allergies please notify Go Ahead at least 30 days prior to departure by logging in to My Account and updating your traveler info. To update this information closer to your departure date, please call our Customer Experience Team.

Cuisine

  • Portuguese food is fresh, hearty and delicious. Try seafood stew cooked in a cataplana, a shell-shaped copper pan, or the national dish, bacalhau (salted cod). A couvert, or simple plate of bread, butter and olives, is often served when you sit down to a meal—while it is free in many restaurants, some will add a charge to your bill for it.
  • Cuisine in Spain's southern Andalusia region is heavily influenced by surrounding countries, and has many Arabic elements. Kebabs are popular, and desserts are often prepared with almonds, honey and cinnamon. Be sure to try Serrano ham, which is considered a regional delicacy, as well as the famous chilled soup known as gazpacho.
  • Moroccan cuisine consists of a unique blend of spices, such as saffron, turmeric, cinnamon and cumin. Popular dishes include delicately spiced stews of meat, most often cooked with vegetables or fruit in a conical clay pot known as a tagine. These dishes are often added to couscous. 

Electricity & air conditioning

  • Portugal and Spain operate on the European standard 220-240 volts and use Types C, E or F plugs with two small, round pins. 
  • Morocco operates on 220 volts and use Types C or E plugs with two small, round pins. 
  • We recommend packing a universal adapter, as well as a voltage converter if you plan on using your own hairdryer or other device without a built-in converter.  
  • The strength of the air conditioning in European hotels is often not as strong or as cool as what you might be used to in the U.S. or Canada. When air conditioning is available, it is usually regulated seasonally and controlled centrally by the hotel. 
  • Your hotels may provide hairdryers, irons and other small appliances. However, these amenities cannot be guaranteed. 

Connectivity

  • Wi-Fi is available in most hotels, though some charges may apply. 
  • There is no Wi-Fi on any of the motor coaches. 
  • Please contact your mobile service provider for information on roaming charges.

Time zones

  • Portugal and Morocco are on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) and five hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time (EST). 
  • Spain is one hour ahead of GMT and six hours ahead of EST.
  • When it’s noon in New York, it’s 5pm in Portugal and Morocco and 6pm in Spain.

Currency

  • You will use the euro in Portugal and Spain, the Pound Sterling, UK-issued notes or Gibraltar notes in Gibraltar and the Moroccan Dirham in Morocco. 
  • Better rates of exchange are usually available overseas, although it’s worth ordering some currency from your local bank to use when you first arrive. 
  • Please note that Moroccan Dirhams are usually only available in Morocco. Therefore, it is advisable to wait until arrival to exchange for them, and to re-exchange them when leaving the country.
  • We strongly advise that you take debit/bank cards and credit cards, which can be used to withdraw cash at local banks as needed. 
  • You can use most debit/credit cards at ATMs on the international networks Cirrus and Plus, but make sure to check with your home bank about withdrawal fees. 
  • Inform your bank and credit card company of your travel plans so that they won’t confuse your international purchases for fraudulent charges.
  • International banks and businesses primarily accept debit and credit cards that work with the EMV chip system. If you do not already have at least one debit or credit card with a chip in it, we strongly recommend requesting one from your bank prior to your tour.

Tipping

  • At the conclusion of your tour, it’s customary to offer your Tour Director and driver a gratuity in local currency. Please keep current exchange rates in mind.
  • We recommend tipping the equivalent of $7USD/CAD to $10USD/CAD per person per day for your Tour Director and the equivalent of $3USD/CAD per person per day for your driver.
  • If applicable, we also recommend the equivalent of $2USD/CAD per local guide. 
  • Your guide will partner with a local aide to further assist the group during certain guided sightseeings in Morocco. We recommend tipping the equivalent of $1USD/CAD per aide.
  • Tips can only be paid in cash. 

Purchasing excursions on tour

  • Most optional excursions will be available for purchase while you are on tour.
  • Your Tour Director will only accept cash (in USD only), Visa or MasterCard as payment for excursions. 
  • Please be advised that if you pay for an excursion by credit card while on tour, it may take up to three months for your card to be charged. 
  • Some optional excursions may only be purchased in advance. See page four of your tour itinerary for more information.

Tour Director

  • In addition to your Tour Director, you will be accompanied by a Morocco National Guide for the duration of your trip in Morocco. Your Morocco National Guide is there to assist with any and all matters, including emergencies, providing a local’s perspective and any issues that may arise.

See what our travelers say about this tour—all reviews are authentic and unedited.

Have you been on tour with us? Visit My Account to submit a review.

2 / 5

2 / 5

Tour Date: 9/9/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: BC

Tour Director: 2 / 5

Tour Value: 2 / 5

Cannot recommend

Review by both Calvin & Dawn. Dawn was the one whi pushed for this trip because friend's & acquaintances had traveled with Go Ahead Tours before & really liked they're tour! Although the hotel lobbies were 4 star, the rooms were not. Often dirty, for sure dusty, something usually more than one thing was always missing. It varied in each hotel what those items were. Did not like a lot if the places on the itinerary...especially in Morroco! Very very pricey trip for the things we were able to do. Therefore found the value of the tour poor. The meal in Seville was amazing, so good, but that was the only dinner included that was great. The places we had to find on our own for lunch & dinner were never very good. The buffet breakfasts were alright. Our tour director was good sometimes & terrible others. Direct questions were answered but it seemed like more direction & information should have be given! Stranded was how we felt at times. Did not enjoy either of the two excursions we took. Different reasons for both. People we met on the tour from the US said never take the excursions, of course this was after the fact. As for recommending this tour to family & friend's; no I don't think so. Not sure even about taking or recommending Go Ahead Tours!

 

Dear Travelers, We regret to learn that this tour did not meet your expectations. A member of our Quality Control team reached out to you to learn more about your experience. If you would like to share additional feedback, please give us a call back at 1-800-597-0350. Regarding your hotels, we regret that you were not pleased with the rooms. Hotel standards and amenities vary greatly around the world. Therefore, they are not always comparable to those we have in North America, particularly those in developing countries such as Morocco. In terms of the itinerary stops in Morocco, we regret that you did not find them enjoyable. This tour includes a handful of the most iconic and touristic spots in Morocco, which boast a number of UNESCO World Heritage Sites, very prominent religious sites, and a taste of the predominant cultural and social aspects of the country. In terms of your meals, we regret that the cuisine did not meet your expectations. Spanish, Portuguese, and Moroccan cuisine share a few similarities, but Moroccan food stands out as being the most unique on this itinerary, primarily due to the Arabic, Andalusian, and Berber influences. We regret that you did not always enjoy the food, and we will be sure to share that information with our Operations team. Regarding your Tour Director, we are surprised to hear such feedback. We regret that you would have liked additional direction and information, and we will be sure to share this feedback with your Tour Director. Regarding the two optional excursions you signed up for, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy them. We do hope you will give us a call back so that we can understand what it was about them that did not meet your expectations. In terms of our optionals, our Quality Control team speaks with many of our travelers post-tour, and we often hear that the optionals they experienced were the highlight of the whole tour. Of course, the rating of an optional, just as the rating of an entire tour, is very subjective because all travelers have varying interests. Some of our travelers love art and museums, while some would prefer to do more physical optionals, such as hikes or snorkeling excursions. Again, we are saddened to learn that you did not enjoy your tour, and we do hope to hear from you so that we can understand your experience better. We value your feedback very much.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | October 26, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 7/22/2016

Number of Past Tours: 5

From: MD

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Wonderful cultural experience

The tour of Portugal, Spain, and Morocco was a wonderful cultural experience. Our tour director, Fabrizio, was extremely well-organized, professional, knowledgeable, and kind. Our accommodations were excellent. Since we went in late summer, the temperatures in Seville, Fes, and Marrakesh were very high, but air-conditioned buses and resort-like hotels made these days tolerable. This tour involves a lot of walking over uneven surfaces so one needs to be reasonably fit. One surprise was that we had a second tour director in Morocco and an additional person some days. They were very helpful, but it would have been good to have been notified of this in advance due to the tips expected. Overall I was very pleased with this tour. Most folks would likely enjoy it more in the spring or fall.

 

Hi Gary! We’re so glad you feel that this tour provided a wonderful cultural experience. We appreciate your feedback on your Tour Director, as well as the pace of the tour. We regret that there were a couple surprises in terms of guides, but we do appreciate your flexibility. We will be sure to share your thoughts with our Operations team. Thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you on another tour soon!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | September 01, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 7/8/2016

Number of Past Tours: 3

From: OH

Tour Director: 3 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

New Adventures

This is our third Go Ahead trip! All of them have been Great Learning experiences! This one had two issues which I am hoping can be improved to make it excellent! We had two guides, one in Portugal and Spain and one for Morocco! The guide for Spain needed to review better his agenda and stay focused! Too many long walks when underestimating distance, making poor decisions in arranging small side excursions and uncertainty about how to handle important items like boat trip to Morocco! Second, I would end the ferry trip to Tanger and make other arrangements! It was AWFUL! Our tour through Morocco was excellent! Loved the new experiences!

 

Hi Peg! We are so happy that you had an excellent time in Morocco and had great new experiences. We appreciate your feedback regarding your Tour Director. We expect a lot from our Tour Directors and we look forward to sharing your feedback with your guide’s supervisor to ensure improved communication in the future. We also thank you for your thoughts about the ferry to Tangier. We use ferries in large part because many of our customers want to experience crossing the Strait of Gibraltar by boat. We are however open to changes that can improve our traveler’s time on tour and will be happy to share your thoughts with our operations and product development team. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you on tour again soon!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | September 06, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 6/30/2016

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: NJ

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

AWESOME experience

Every single days i was looking forward to a new exitements , new culturas, new experiences, people were so nice, food extraordinary, i ENJOY MARROKESH so much, i would Like to go back againg.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 6/30/2016

Number of Past Tours: 3

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Culture shock!

What a contrast between friendly Spain and Portugal, and hooded Morocco. Very friendly everywhere, and excellent guides in every country. The Prado was a real treat!

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 5/13/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: AB

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

A Literal Adventure

To start with, the customer service at GoAhead is amazing, keeping in contact and following through with requests before and during the tour. The tour consultant, to our local tour guides, and director, everyone is very accommodating. From trying out a local pastry together, to organizing a camel ride, to name a few examples. Our tour director Rosa was especially lovely, and a joy to be with. GoAhead will handhold you through this journey, but allows for just enough free time to let you breathe and take in the diverse culture at your own pace. To fully enjoy the trip I spent most days constantly moving, with many late nights, and would advise if you're thinking of taking this tour to have at least an average fitness level. For some tour highlights I thought that the city of Rabat was entirely amazing and loved every part of it, the private tour of the Prado museum is a must see. Sadly I would have to say that visiting Casablanca for an overnight trip was unnecessary and disappointing, rather staying at Rabat would've been more enjoyable. This is a fast paced, jam packed tour, with a mini adventure each day. With an open mind and lots of sunscreen, I'm sure this tour would not disappoint.

1 / 1
 

Hi Cassandra! We’re thrilled that you feel our Customer Relations team was attentive and accommodating. We are very proud of our team and will be sure to share your feedback with them. It’s great to know that your Tour Director enhanced your experience and arranged extra activities for you. We appreciate your feedback on the balance of the itinerary, and we’re pleased to learn that you feel you had enough free time to discover the destinations at your own pace. It’s wonderful to hear that the city of Rabat was a highlight for you, and we will be sure to pass your feedback along regarding the overnight stay in Casablanca. Thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | July 11, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 4/1/2016

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: CT

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Terrific Trip!

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We can't wait to go back to Spain and Portugal for a more extended stay. The history and beauty was fantastic. Our tour guide Manuel S. was top quality. Friendly, knowledgeable, and very accommodating. I only have two suggestions. The visit to Gibraltar wasn't really worth it other than to say you had been there. The second is the number of buffet dinners. Most were mediocre at best. Having said that I would still recommend this trip.

 

Hi Richard! We’re delighted that you and your wife enjoyed exploring Spain and Portugal. It’s understandable that you’re already looking forward to returning! We’re glad that you found your Tour Director to be accommodating and knowledgeable. We will be sure to let him know. We appreciate your feedback on a couple aspects of the itinerary, including the visit to Gibraltar and the included meals. We will be sure to share your thoughts with our Operations team for consideration on future departures. Thank you for recommending this tour. We hope to welcome you and your wife on tour again soon!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | November 23, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 4/1/2016

Number of Past Tours: 4

From: AZ

Tour Director: 4 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Fast Paced, Interesting Tour!

Our tour of Portugal, Spain & Morocco was as expected, fast moving, fun and interesting. Some of the highlights were Cordoba, the Alhambra and the medinas of Morocco. Our guide Manuel was helpful and with the assistance of Karim set up an interesting "cooking" demo in Marrakesh and a tour of Le Jardin Marjolle. We were very disappointed that we "skipped" Chaouen. We were told it was never included and it is still on the itinerary today! The local guides were very informative in Evora, and Gibraltar. The private tour of the Prado was exceptional, the guide really made the paintings come to life. The flamenco show and carriage ride to it were well worth it. We could have spent less time in Tangier and perhaps included Essaouria in the southern portion of Morocco. We were very impressed with Morocco generally the new King is very progressive and doing great things there. Overall it was a good tour and of course the people on tour and those we met made it great.

 

Hi Suzan! We’re pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time on tour. It sounds like you had many fun and informative experiences, such as the private tour of Prado and the cooking demo in Marrakesh. We regret to hear the confusion surrounding Chaouen. One of our team members reached out to you to learn more about this situation. If you would like to discuss it further, please call 1-800-597-0350 and ask for Quality Control. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | May 26, 2016

3 / 5

3 / 5

Tour Date: 10/18/2015

Number of Past Tours: 8

From: CA

Tour Director: 2 / 5

Tour Value: 3 / 5

Worst tour Director

I have taken many trips with goahead tours and always had very good tour directors but for this Portugal spain trip , the tour director Macrena was most un-coperative. She wanted us to eat foods which she likes not what we want. If we ask for a change she will refuse. I took a friend whoes was the first trip outside US, hoping she will enjoy the trip but she did not enjoy. She may not go with goahead again becase of the tour director. The tour director did not plan the stops for lunches properly. She will promise and not dio it. She will not listen to our suggessions. The local tour guide for Morocco , Karim was great. He made the trip very interesting and whatever we told him he made sure he helps us to get it done. He was great.

 

Dear Maya, Thank you for providing this thoughtful review about your recent experience on tour with us. We regret to learn that your Tour Director did not meet your expectations. As you well know from past tours, we are proud to have a team of expert Tour Directors all over the world. These professionals are hand-selected for their leadership qualities and local knowledge. We monitor their performances very closely to ensure that they are providing our travelers with the best possible experience. We look forward to receiving and processing your group’s Evaluations, and will assess your Tour Director based on the responses we receive from your group with your comments in mind. Thank you again for sharing your observations, we do hope to welcome you onto a future Go Ahead tour!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | November 23, 2015

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 10/17/2015

Number of Past Tours: 4

From: VA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Portugal, Spain, Morocco

This was an excellent tour with excellent tour guides. A lot of history!!

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 11/7/2014

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: MI

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

A True Cultural Whirlwind!

This trip was incredible. The cities, the culture, the history, the food... but the real treat was our Tour Director, Dina! The trip would not have been the same without her constant support and experience (especially during some difficult times in Morocco). I would recommend this trip, but it is extremely fast-paced and not for the weak of heart (or stomach). If you are ready for a fast-paced cultural whirlwind, this is the trip for you!

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 10/17/2014

Number of Past Tours: 5

From: MA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

"Jose, The Best Tour Director!"

Jose was the best tour director one could ever have! The trip was great but he brought it to another level......Fantastic! Jose was always a step ahead of our expectations with his personal and caring approach to all matters. The pace of the trip was as expected with each day full of informative and exciting sightseeing. Traveling with a small group was an added bonus. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in Portugal, Spain, Morocco, and the extension to Barcelona. A very nice contrast in cultures and experiences.

1 / 1

3 / 5

3 / 5

Tour Date: 5/2/2014

Number of Past Tours: 4

From: CA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 3 / 5

spain, morocco,portugal tour

The Barcelona extension was very worthwhile, the city is excellent and easy to navigate. Our tour director Luis was excellent, went out of his way to answer all questions, fulfill our requests and advise us in arranging restaurant and special other events. Spain is an interesting country, the day at Toledo is very worthwile

3 / 5

3 / 5

Tour Date: 5/2/2014

Number of Past Tours: 4

From: VA

Tour Director: 3 / 5

Tour Value: 3 / 5

Disappointing Itinerary

If this tour had been our first (it was our 4th) with Go Ahead, it would have been our last. The pace was way too fast throughout - very little time to truly enjoy the sites, way too little time to enjoy a meal and to browse & shop if that was one's desire. Tour Director would walk at such a pace that it was impossible to keep 35 people together without getting lost into the crowds. The constant habit of not using the whispers by the Tour Directors (separate guy in Morocco) and the local guides was uncalled for. The tour members missed so much of the details presented because we could not hear. Overall, the experience in Portugal and Spain was good to excellent. Gibraltar was excellent and the highlight of the tour. It was the first Go Ahead tour where we were expected on many occasions to lug our own suitcases in and out of airports and hotels - even one location required us crossing a busy bicycle path to reach the sidewalk. Most of the optional excursions were worth the extra expense, except for the Moorish Tea House Dinner. The Montserrat trip was a disaster from the beginning due to transportation issues that left us with little time to enjoy the site & the local guide provided nothing of any significance; again, no whispers were used! Morocco should be offered as the Post-Tour Extension, with Barcelona included in the main tour, thus allowing more time to enjoy Madrid & Barcelona. Morocco could be condensed to Casablanca's mosque and Rabat. For most tour members, spending an entire day waiting for others to shop at the rug factory and the fabric store was unbearable. Experiencing one "medina" should suffice. Our Tour Director was knowledgeable and went out of his way to accommodate each of us. Comparing him to the three previous tour directors is why we ranked him in the middle. His personal appearance was lacking most of the time. He is the first director not to arrange a time for a group photograph and arrange an exchange of e-mail or addresses among the tour members.

1 / 4
 

Thank you for your thoughtful feedback about your tour of Spain, Portugal & Morocco! It is very helpful for us to receive your comments and suggestions for the itinerary as we continually strive to improve and offer the best to our customers. We assure you that our attention to quality is of utmost importance so we apologize if this tour did not quite live up to what you were expecting from us. We will be further investigating the use of Whisperers on tour, as we know how important they are to the guided aspects of the itinerary. You raised a great suggestion with moving around aspects of the itinerary to allow for more time in certain areas, and we look forward to reviewing this information as well. We hope to welcome you on another Go Ahead Tour in the future.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | June 02, 2014

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 3/7/2014

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: ON

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Love GoAhead Tours

GoAhead Tours are an excellent value for very good trips. The Tour Directors are always very friendly and very knowledgeable. I believe that you will be happy with any of their tours. Try them once and I am sure that you will go back to them for more.

 

Hi Joan! Thank you so much for your review. We’re thrilled that you enjoy your Tour Directors and that you would recommend Go Ahead. We hope to welcome you on another tour in the future!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | January 19, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 3/7/2014

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: PA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Exceptional Tour Director

Paz G. provided remarkable knowledge, insight and service to the tour participants. She is fluent in Spanish, Portuguese, French, English and competent in Arabic. She was invaluable to making the tour a success. She consistently gave expert advise and appropriate suggestions. She was always ready to help no matter what the problem. She has a warm personality and relates easily to others. The tour was extraordinary in the places visited and she ensured that everyone felt comfortable and safe during the whirlwind tour! Go Ahead is fortunate to have her as a director.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 11/1/2013

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Excellent Tour, Best Tour Director

Very well planned and organized.

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 11/1/2013

Number of Past Tours: 8

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Good hotels, Marcelo is the best tour Director

Too much time spent on the bus inMorocco, I had a lot of plans to shop in Morocco but 20 minutes for shopping is not enough.

1 / 3

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 11/1/2013

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: TX

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Marcelo, our Tour Director, is the best!

Wonderful tour director and itinerary but cultural evenings should be part of the tour. We missed too many of them because not enough people signed up for them. If they had been included in the tour, everyone would have enjoyed them. Since they were so pricey as extras, many people passed on them, which made it less fun for everyone when they were cancelled. So they need to be cheaper or included as part of the tour.

2 / 5

2 / 5

Tour Date: 11/1/2013

Number of Past Tours: 4

From: NY

Tour Director: 4 / 5

Tour Value: 3 / 5

Very disappointing

I was most looking forward to the Morocco, Sevilla, and Granada parts of this itinerary, because I'd been to Lisbon, Madrid, and Barcelona before. None -- as in not even one -- of the included dinners featured or included local specialties. A key feature of experiencing a culture is to eat the foods. We had to seek out such dishes on our own when a dinner wasn't included. This was not at all easy in Morocco, because the hotels were European style in the newer parts of Marrakesh and Fez. For one non-included lunch we were taken to a spot with no choices of restaurants. I've come home feeling I still haven't been to Morocco, due to the food and the places we stayed. Why weren't we in riads? And why did our guides so furiously discourage us from trying any foods in the medinas? We had run-through walks through the medinas! with no time to really explore. I don't like being taken shopping. For those interested in shopping, you could just give a list of recommended vendors. For the extension in Barcelona, a basic city tour should never be an optional with extra cost. There was way too much bus time on this tour. A variety of types of transportation would make this trip more interesting. How about some train travel? How about getting to Morocco by boat/ferry? We had 2 days with included flights (Madrid to Marrakesh, and Casablanca to Barcelona) that were completely wasted in airport time. Here are some tips culled from the best tours I've ever been with: 1 - When arriving somewhere late in the day, an overview bus ride to see "the illuminations" e.g. the city lit at night, is a lovely intro to the city layout. 2 - A tour guide who interacts with the locals during a walk, and draws the group into the interaction, makes for wonderful authentic experiences. 3 - A tour or tour guide that recommends local cultural performances (not tourist shows) and special local exhibits is a feature I especially appreciate. For example there was a show in Barcelona at the Palau de la Musica Catalan one night we were there, but not having had a heads up on it, we missed the performance. Where do the locals go for entertainment? And here are some don'ts: 1 - Local guides should not assume our group feels any particular way, unanimously, on American political issues, which our Morocco guide did. 2 - Local guides should not mention Jewish areas (mellahs in Morocco) as being the wealthy areas. This perpetuates the stereotype that all Jews are wealthy, which is untrue and very offensive. This was my fourth trip with goahead, but possibly my last.

Show More Reviews