View Dates & Prices

London, Edinburgh & Dublin

9 days
Some cities just beg to be explored. London, Edinburgh and Dublin certainly make that list. After a local gives you the lowdown in each capital, leading you through landmarks and hidden hotspots, you’ll be free to explore. Whether you spend your time riding double-decker buses, staking out museums or simply sitting back in pubs is entirely up to you.

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Maximum tour group size: 35 travelers

Tour Pace: You will walk for about 1 hour daily across mostly flat terrain, including cobblestone streets and paved roads, with few hills or stairs.

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Your tour includes

  • 7 nights in handpicked hotels

  • Breakfast daily, 3 three-course dinners with beer or wine

  • Multilingual Tour Director

  • Private deluxe motor coach

  • Guided sightseeing and select entrance fees

Map of Tour of England, Scotland, and Ireland

Overnight Flight 1 night

Day 1: Travel day

Board your overnight flight to London today.

London 3 nights Hotel info

Day 2: Arrival in London

Included meals: Dinner

Welcome to London! Meet your fellow travelers at tonight’s welcome dinner.

Day 3: Sightseeing tour of London

Included meals: Breakfast

View the regal landmarks of England’s vibrant and cosmopolitan capital on a guided sightseeing tour.  

• Pass the grand Trafalgar Square and Baroque-style St. Paul’s Cathedral, perched atop Ludgate Hill

• See Westminster Abbey, the setting for royal coronations, weddings and funerals

• View icons like Big Ben, the London Eye, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London

• Stop by Buckingham Palace, where you may catch the Changing of the Guard

Enjoy a free afternoon in London or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Windsor Castle $99pp* Details

Led by a Blue Badge Guide, you’ll travel to Windsor for a visit to the world’s largest and longest-inhabited castle. Founded by William the Conqueror in 1070, Windsor has been the British Royal Family’s preferred retreat for the past 900 years. Step inside the State Apartments and St. George’s Chapel (closed Sundays), where the Knights of the Garter ceremony takes place. View the exhibit of royal treasures on display within the castle. You’ll then have time to stroll through the town of Windsor and have a look at Eton College, a prestigious prep school attended by Princes William and Harry. Please note: Windsor Castle is occasionally closed when in use by the Royal Family; a visit to Henry VIII’s Hampton Court will be substituted when necessary.

Must be booked 20 days before departure

Day 4: Free day in London

Included meals: Breakfast

Spend a full free day in London or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Stonehenge & Oxford $125pp* Details

Stonehenge & Oxford

Visit the city of Oxford, home to one of the oldest and most prestigious universities in the world. Tour the charming city and the University of Oxford, taking in the famous spire-studded architecture and rich history. Next, continue on to Stonehenge, perhaps England’s most mysterious landmark. The origin and purpose of this ring of stones, which dates back an estimated 5,000 years, is unknown, though most believe it was a temple and observatory. Take some time to explore the intriguing stone formations and visit the newly opened exhibition and visitor center before heading back to London.

Must be booked 20 days before departure

Edinburgh 2 nights Hotel info

Day 5: Travel to Edinburgh

Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Journey by train through the English countryside and the lochs and hills of Scotland. Later, arrive in the Scottish capital.

Day 6: Sightseeing tour of Edinburgh

Included meals: Breakfast

Get to know Edinburgh in all its medieval beauty on a tour led by a local expert.

• View the elegant Georgian New Town and the Royal Mile, two UNESCO World Heritage sites

• Pass the Sir Walter Scott monument 

• Enter Edinburgh Castle to view the Scottish crown jewels and Stone of Scone

Spend a free afternoon in Edinburgh or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Abbotsford House & Melrose Abbey $69pp* Details

Travel through the Scottish Borders region to Abbotsford, where you’ll enjoy an included lunch. Continue on to Abbotsford House, the 19th-century estate of Sir Walter Scott. The poet designed his home in the Romantic style to imitate the elaborate baronial estates of British aristocrats. Today it serves as a museum for the Scottish memorabilia and artifacts that Scott collected throughout his lifetime. Then, visit the ruins of Melrose Abbey, one of the most impressive of the four Borders abbeys. Please note: This excursion is seasonal and runs from April to October.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $79)

Optional Excursion - Royal Yacht Brittania $85pp* Details

For over 44 years, the Royal Yacht Britannia served as a floating residence for Britain’s Royal Family, playing host to world leaders during state visits and acting as a private escape for Queen Elizabeth II. Step back in time as you make your way through lavishly furnished royal apartments and the more modest crew’s quarters below decks. Please note: This excursion is seasonal and runs from November through March.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $95)

Dublin 2 nights Hotel info

Day 7: Flight to Dublin

Included meals: Breakfast

This morning, fly to Dublin, where you can choose to spend the evening exploring on your own or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Traditional Irish Dinner & Show $99pp* Details

Enjoy this special evening of Irish food, music and live entertainment. Dinner will be served first, giving you a taste of traditional Irish dishes. You’ll then be treated to a live show of Irish music and dance. Join in the fun as you enjoy a merry and memorable night. Please note: The specific venue and day of the week for this optional may change due to availability. This optional is seasonal and runs from April through October.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $109)

Day 8: Sightseeing tour of Dublin

Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Take a comprehensive tour of Ireland’s capital city with a local expert leading the way.

• Pass St Stephen’s Green and admire the Georgian architecture of Merrion Square

• Walk down Grafton Street to see the Molly Malone statue and Trinity College

• Step inside the soaring St. Patrick’s Cathedral 

• End your tour with an included pint at a local pub in the Temple Bar District

Enjoy a free afternoon in Dublin or add an excursion. 

Say goodbye to your group at a farewell dinner this evening.

Optional Excursion - Glendalough $29pp* Details

County Wicklow has some of the wildest and most spectacular mountain scenery in Ireland, as well as many of the country’s most important historic sites. Journey through Wicklow’s captivating landscapes to Glendalough, which became famous throughout Europe as a center of Christian learning before it was sacked by Viking raiders in the 10th century. Here, with your Tour DIrector leading the way, you’ll see St. Kevin’s Cross, marking the place where the saint lies buried. In addition, you’ll view the remains of the sixth-century cathedral and the remarkable Round Tower, thought to have been used by monks as a place of refuge. Then, enjoy free time to explore on your own.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $39)

Day 9: Departure

Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

Transfer to the airport for your flight home, or extend your stay to continue exploring Dublin.

How's the weather?

  • London, England
  • Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Dublin, Ireland
Temperature Precipitation
  • JAN
  • FEB
  • MAR
  • APR
  • MAY
  • JUN
  • JUL
  • AUG
  • SEP
  • OCT
  • NOV
  • DEC

Passport & Visa Requirements

This tour includes the following countries: United Kingdom (England, Scotland, and Wales on the transfer) and Ireland. In order to enter these countries, U.S. and Canadian citizens need a valid passport. The expiration date must extend at least six months beyond the date of your return to the United States. No visa is required for U.S. or Canadian citizens. If you’re not a U.S. or Canadian citizen, you must contact each country’s consulate for your specific entry requirements.

Baggage Allowance

Airlines have varying weight restrictions on luggage. Some airlines may impose additional charges if you choose to check any baggage; be advised that you are responsible for any such costs. Contact your airline for detailed information regarding luggage size and weight restrictions for your flight, but please note that Go Ahead travelers are restricted to one checked bag per person due to storage limitations on motor coaches and other internal transfers, which may include train connections or flights. One carry-on bag is also permitted, provided that it does not exceed 45 total inches (length + width + height). Make sure you label your baggage and carry valuables, medication and documents in your carry-on bag.

Baggage Handling

Please be aware that porter service is not available for the train from London to Edinburgh. Please be prepared to handle your own baggage.

Clothing & Packing Tips

To ensure you’re comfortable while out exploring, we recommend packing lightweight, loose-fitting clothing that can be easily layered. For sightseeing, we suggest bringing a sturdy pair of walking shoes or sneakers, as well as a lightweight jacket or rainwear. If you’re planning a visit to a high-end restaurant or performance, you may also want to bring dressier attire. Also, please be respectful and avoid showing bare legs or shoulders when visiting churches or other religious sites (entrance may be denied on this basis).

Health

There are no major health risks associated with traveling on your tour. Be sure to check with your doctor or healthcare provider for the latest updates and travel requirements.

Cuisine

Traditional Irish cooking is simple, relying heavily on meat-based dishes. Pubs serve up hearty lunches, like traditional Irish stew. Soda bread is delicious and very filling, as are Irish cakes, such as scones and Barm Brack. The thick black beer known as Guinness is a national institution in its own right. In recent years, Dublin has seen something of a culinary revolution, and the city now boasts an impressive array of new restaurants offering exciting cuisine with continental European and Asian influences. Specialties of Scotland include kippers, smoked salmon, Scotch broth, venison, shortbread, oatcakes, and haggis (made of sheep innards). As in Ireland, sometimes the best (and least expensive) meals are found in pubs. Whisky is a favored local spirit, and Scottish ales are world-famous. Similarly, for traditional English fare at a reasonable price, try a pub meal. Stilton cheese, steak and kidney pie, and Cumberland sausages are specialties. Sip afternoon tea with delicious finger sandwiches and scones at Harrods for the ultimate in English tradition. Modern-day London also boasts an array of ethnic restaurants unmatched by almost any other city in the world for its diversity. Popular options for the adventurous palate include Indian, Thai, Chinese, Indonesian, Greek and West African cuisine.

Transportation

Round-trip flights arrive in London and depart from Dublin. When you first arrive in London, a Go Ahead representative will meet you after clearing customs. Please remain in the arrival lounge, as the representative might be escorting another traveler to the bus at the time of your arrival. A flight is also included from Edinburgh to Dublin. Included transportation on tour is by train (from London to Edinburgh) and by private motor coach. Dublin and Edinburgh are both best explored on foot, although buses and taxis are plentiful. In London, you can’t get around without using the legendary, 12-line “tube,” connecting all the districts and attractions. You might want to mix up travel on the tube with some walking and bus travel. It’s a lot more fun to explore London on the iconic double-decker buses.

Electricity

Britain (England & Scotland) uses 240 volts. Ireland operates on the European-standard 220 volts.

Time Zones

Britain and Ireland both operate on Greenwich mean time, which is five hours ahead of U.S. Eastern Standard time.

Currency

The British pound and euro (in Ireland) are the currencies you will use on your tour. Better rates of exchange are usually available in your destination countries, although it’s worth ordering some currency from your local bank to use when you first arrive. We advise that you take a combination of bank/ATM cards and credit cards, as needed. We suggest that you inform your bank and credit card company of your travel plans, so that they won’t confuse your international purchases for fraudulent charges.

Tipping

At the conclusion of your tour, it’s customary to offer your Tour Director and driver a gratuity. We recommend tipping in your tour country’s currency, the equivalent of $3USD/CAD per person per day for your driver and $6USD/CAD to $9USD/CAD per person per day for your Tour Director. If applicable, we also recommend the equivalent of $2USD/CAD per local guide. Tips can only be paid in cash. Please keep current local currency exchange rates in mind when tipping.

See what our travelers say about this tour—all reviews are authentic and unedited.

Have you been on tour with us? Visit My Account to submit a review.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Traveled On: 11/7/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NC

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Great experience!

The best part of the Go Ahead Tours experience is the balance between scheduled tours and free time. This allowed my friend and I an opportunity to see the various cities at our own pace, while still having the benefits of the scheduled tours and the convenience of having the flights/hotel/transportation planned.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Traveled On: 9/25/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: VA

Tour Director: 4 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

A Taste of London, Edinburgh and Dubin!

This particular tour was a great way to see and explore the beauty, culture and history of three great European cities. In each city, we had excellent guides for various tours, such as Windsor castle and the bus tour of Edinburgh. Our tour director, Brian, was a personable, knowledgeable and patient. On a few occasions, things could have been more organized and some clearer communication would have helped, but overall Brian was great. He managed the logistics well, which made for a smoothly run tour. I do wish we had had one more day in each of the cities, to do some more exploring locally on foot! I highly recommend this tour, and Go Ahead Tours in general, and look forward to traveling with them again in the future!

review photo
1 / 1

5 / 5

5 / 5

Traveled On: 7/17/2015

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: FL

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Great Tour!

This tour was amazing! The countries were beautiful, it was a great combination. And the food... oh the food! So good! The best part however was the tour director Jonathan - when my luggage got lost going to Ireland (no fault of Go Ahead's), they wanted a cell phone number to call me when it arrived, which of course I did not have. Jonathan gave his number right away and helped me communicate with the airline all evening until they were able to deliver it! He did not have to go above and beyond like he did, but he (and Go Ahead) should know that it was greatly appreciated!

3 / 5

3 / 5

Traveled On: 9/25/2015

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: IL

Tour Director: 2 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Tour director didn't make the trip pleasurable

The locations were nice, but the accommodations could have been better. The hotel in Dublin should have been situated more-so near the attractions and shopping. My tour director failed in comparison to my tour director from last year. He was always so rushed and not very welcoming. There were days when he didn't speak in the morning. Rather I had to initiate a "good morning". He didn't do a good job with making sure that the group stayed together. He would mostly walk fast ahead and the group had to catch up. He was nice I guess, but I wouldn't want him back as a tour director. During the tour, we handled our own bags a lot, which was somewhat of a headache. Overall I had a decent time, but I'm glad that this was not my first tour. If this were my first tour, I probably would not have returned. The excursions were very nice though. I ABSOLUTELY ENJOYED THE IRISH EVENING!!!!!

 

Dear Sheree, Thank you for continuing to travel with Go Ahead, and for taking the time to review your most recent trip with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Optional Excursions for this tour! As you know, at the end of each tour, we ask our travelers to fill out detailed evaluations. We read over every evaluation we receive and compile all of the data so that we can monitor the performance of all our on-tour components. We hand-select each of our hotels to balance safety, value, amenities, and to be either centrally located, or near public transportation. The Tour Director on your tour is one that we have used quite a bit in the past, rates very well, and our travelers typically have great things to say about him. We will keep an eye out for the evaluations from your group, and will continue to survey the performance of this Director. We will use your comments to help your Tour Director improve for future tours, and we thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you onto another Go Ahead tour in the future!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | October 12, 2015

3 / 5

3 / 5

Traveled On: 7/14/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: CA

Tour Director: 1 / 5

Tour Value: 2 / 5

Great itinerary with substandard direction

How can one go wrong with these three great cities? Unfortunately, our tour director had a lackluster outlook on them. Even before the first meeting, the communications of the itinerary were substandard. For instance, if we knew we would not be going into the Tower of London on tour, we would have done so on our own. But with a hotel right next to the tower, what were we to expect? And at the first meeting, our director made us feel like we chose the wrong tour by describing it as "quite the rush-about" or some such Don't get me wrong, the cities were fantastic and the city guides were really great Our tour director had a tough lot in that there were varying levels of mobility in our 30+ person group. But there were times when the group needed to look after the slower members. Our free time in Oxford, for example, caused many of us to wonder how to get back to the bus. And, according to one group member, she was watching as the bus left without her, when she had signed up for an excursion. Our director simply did not know who was signed up and who was there. Many members of our tour were repeat customers... One couple were celebrating their 10th Go Ahead Tour. With that endorsement, we might agree to try again. But from our first-time experience, the jury is still out.

 

Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share your tour experience, and for traveling with Go Ahead. Our Tour Directors are chosen via a rigorous selection process with years of guiding experience and are extremely impassioned individuals. As a company, we are very proud of our Tour Directors, and are consisntantly monitoring the ratings and comments they receive from our travelers to ensure they are providing a high level of service. Your comments about your Tour Director are particularly startling to us, and we will be looking into this further and addressing internally. We thank you for your insight and for your important review. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you on tour again where we can reassure you of your decision to travel with us.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | August 19, 2015

4 / 5

4 / 5

Traveled On: 6/19/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: AR

Tour Director: 1 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Disorganized Director

The tour designed by Go Ahead was good; however the director was disorganized. He did not communicate well with the tour group. We never knew what to expect from day to day. He embarrassed our group on the train by putting us on the wrong car. He then didn't give us our tickets so we were, again, in the wrong seats. He was not attentive to details. His communication was vague. He always told us, "no problem". We had problems. He showed a lack of concern when we raised questions. It's alarming when the local guides tell the director to "act professional". This happened more than once. Even the bus drivers commented that he needed to tell us more information. Thank goodness for the other participants. They made the trip fun.

 

Dear Eric, Thank you for your review of your recent trip to London, Edinburgh, and Dublin. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the tour’s itinerary, and that you had fun with the other participants on tour. We regret to learn that you were unhappy with your Tour Director, and that there were concerns that arose on tour. We can let you know that your Tour Director has rated well in the past, and we have not seen this type of feedback about him before. We value these types of comments, as they provide important insight into the on tour experience. We are working to improve future tours based on your review and others like it, and we thank you for taking the time to share it with us.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | July 20, 2015

4 / 5

4 / 5

Traveled On: 6/19/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: AR

Tour Director: 1 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

The absent minded tour director

Our tour director was very disorganized and did not communicate schedules and expectations effectively. Despite his ineffectiveness, we enjoyed our tour because of the participants and sights. Local guides told our tour director multiple times to "be professional". They told him, "you need to tell them information". Daily, I saw his underwear as his pants sagged. He frequently dismissed questions and suggested we have a coffee while waiting. We were placed on the wrong train car. Had we been given our tickets, this could have been avoided. We had to wait an extended time for the bus because the wrong time was provided. Very disappointed with the director. It began with the first day when the transfer shuttle dropped me and my family a block away from the wrong hotel (more than 5 miles from the tour hotel). The director was non-chalant in his response. He was passive by not offering assistance.

 

Dear Carol, We are a company that takes the upmost pride in the individuals we hand-select to lead our tours. We are constantly reviewing our Tour Directors based on customer feedback, and we monitor their performance closely to ensure that we maintain a very high standard of leadership. We are sorry to hear that you do not feel your Tour Director met your expectations. We understand that you had concerns on tour, and were happy that you were able to discuss these concerns with our team here in the office as they unfolded. We are certainly investigating the performance of this individual, and we thank you for your thoughtful contribution to his evaluation.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | July 20, 2015

5 / 5

5 / 5

Traveled On: 7/11/2014

Number of Past Tours: 5

From: TX

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Great trip but need to go back

Loved the trip but it was too much for the time we had.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Traveled On: 7/11/2014

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: TX

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Best Vacation Ever

My husband and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary, and signed up for the trip to London, Edinburgh and Dublin. Our tour director, Cornelius, was hilarious and very knowledgeable. We enjoyed the bus tours in each city to point out the major sights, but then we usually took off on our own to explore. Looking forward to more tours.

4 / 5

4 / 5

Traveled On: 11/7/2013

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: VA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Great value and lots of freedom

Just returned from this tour. First time I've used Go Ahead, and was recommended to the company by a friend. I chose GAT because I've never traveled abroad and was not sure that I would know how to get around in a foreign city. I'm very pleased with my tour and the tour director. We got a great value for all that we saw, since the price of the tour includes air fare and hotel accommodations. The accommodations were okay. London's Novotel and Edinburgh's HI Express were in good locations. They were both clean and served good continental breakfasts. Dublin's Maldron Hotel in Smithfield was the worst. The location was far from the city center and all on our tour were greatly concerned with the safety of the location. Luckily, there were no serious incidents, but everyone was approached at least once by drunk locals looking for handouts. I sincerely hope GAT never puts their customers in this hotel again. It was clean and had sufficient amenities, it was just in a really poorly chosen spot. We had a wonderful tour director who was helpful but also very easy going. He made himself available to answer questions and help us decide what to do and how to get there every morning. My friend and I chose to skip the sightseeing tour in London because we had so many other activities planned, and our director was fine with that. The best part about GAT is that there is a lot of free time to do what you want and go at your own pace. We had a very small group so GAT cancelled all of the optional excursions, but did not bother to tell anyone until the first day of the tour. My friend and I called ahead on several occasions and were prepared for this, but no one else in our tour was, and they were upset. The tour director was also upset that travelers were not contacted by GAT ahead of time to let them know this. Tip for perspective travelers: call GAT at least once a month and ask for updates on the number of people booked for the tour and likelihood of canceling excursions. Also, many of the optional excursions can be done on your own through other companies, and they are significantly cheaper than what GAT charges. Take the time to do some research before committing. As an introductory tour to an international location, this was perfect. You get to experience three different cities and all the different types of public transportation you can imagine. However, you do not get to spend a lot of time in each city. If you are able to do an excursion, that will lessen your time in the city even more, and especially for places like London where there is so much to do and see, you may want to think about opting for the city stay as well. It would be worth the additional cost. I was concerned about the weather, but November was a great time to go. It was cold, so pack coats that can withstand rain. Layer your clothes as the restaurants and pubs can get warm. And of course, don't forget your umbrella. The sturdier the better because of possible high winds. We lucked out and had incredibly beautiful days with lots of sunshine for most of the trip. Only hit rain one day in London. Cloudy and cold but dry the rest of the time. Best of all about going in November - no lines!!! The streets and museums were still crowded, so I can't even imagine how bad it would be during peak season. Very glad we decided to go when it was cheapest, and very glad we decided to tour with Go Ahead.

Show More Reviews