Barcelona: The City Experience

6 days City Stays
A sparkling city on the Mediterranean Sea, Barcelona is unrivaled for architectural diversity and cultural vibrancy. From the twisting corridors of the Gothic Quarter to the fanciful creations of Antoni Gaudí, Barcelona is packed with unique elements that are beautiful to behold. This dynamic city will draw you in with its alluring architecture, colorful street life and hip cafe scene.

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Tour group size: 15 - 30 travelers

Tour pace: You will walk for about 1 hour daily across mostly flat terrain, including paved roads and cobblestone streets, with few hills.

Celebrate New Year's Eve in Barcelona on a special winter departure of this tour.

See itinerary

Let us handle the details

Expert Tour Director

      Local       cuisine

Handpicked hotels

Sightseeing with local guides

Private transportation

Personalized flight options

Your tour includes

  • 4 nights in a well-located hotel

  • Breakfast daily, welcome dinner

  • Signature farewell dinner experience and flamenco show

  • Multilingual Tour Director

  • Panoramic sightseeing tour of Barcelona with a local guide

  • 3-day Barcelona Metro Pass

Overnight Flight 1 night

Day 1: Travel day

Board your overnight flight to Barcelona today.

Barcelona 4 nights Hotel info

Day 2: Arrival in Barcelona

  Included meals: Dinner

Welcome to Barcelona! Transfer to your hotel and enjoy a free afternoon at your leisure before meeting your fellow travelers at tonight’s welcome dinner.

Day 3: Sightseeing tour of Barcelona

  Included meals: Breakfast

Discover why the Catalan capital is touted for its unparalleled architectural landmarks, many of which are UNESCO World Heritage sites. 

• Step inside La Sagrada Família, Gaudí’s famous masterwork-in-progress

• Drive along Passeig de Gràcia, past Gaudí’s “House of Bones”

• Stop at Montjuïc, site of the 1992 Olympic Games took place, and take in the panoramic views at Mirador de l’Alcalde Park

• Pass Plaça d’Espanya, one of the city’s most important squares, and stroll past the soaring Columbus Monument, dedicated to the legendary explorer

Then, take the afternoon to explore the city on your own or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Park Güell & La Pedrera $85pp* Details

Discover the magnificent works of Antoni Gaudí, the famed Spanish architect known for his bold, distinct designs. Take a guided tour of Casa Milà, popularly known as La Pedrera, built by Gaudí between 1905 and 1910. Everything about the building is visually unique, from the wave-like stone structure and grandly designed roof to the apartment that reflects the style of the 20th- century bourgeoisie. Next, you’ll head to Park Güell, also designed by Gaudí. Your guide will lead you through the park, which contains stunning buildings, intricate stonework and colorful mosaics. At the top of the park, marvel at the brilliant views of Barcelona.

Must be booked 20 days before departure

Day 4: Free day in Barcelona

  Included meals: Breakfast

Enjoy a free day in the city or add  an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Picasso & Gothic Barcelona $65pp* Details

On today’s excursion, visit Barcelona’s Picasso Museum. You’ll also venture to the Gothic Quarter, home to the city’s massive cathedral. Commonly referred to as La Seu, the Cathedral de la Santa Creu i Santa Eulàlia (named after the city’s patron saint), opens its doors to you on this excursion.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $75)

Day 5: Flamenco show & farewell dinner

  Included meals: Breakfast, Dinner

Enjoy another free day in the city or add an excursion.

Tonight, say goodbye to your group at a signature farewell dinner, followed by an authentic flamenco show. The art of flamenco dancing is one of Spain’s most well-loved traditions, and the performance is the perfect way to cap off your trip.

Optional Excursion - Montserrat & Cava Cellars $79pp* Details

Step outside Barcelona this morning on a journey to the Santa Maria de Montserrat Abbey, located about an hour north of the city. After a guided tour, you’ll be free to explore this mountainous enclave on your own. You may have a chance to visit La Moreneta, Catalonia's miraculous and beloved statue of the Black Virgin of Montserrat. Or, ride the St. Joan cable car to the heights of Montserrat, where you’ll find sweeping views of Catalonia. If you’re lucky, you may be able to hear a performance of L’Escolania, the boys’ choir that practices daily at the abbey. Later, drive to cava wine country. You’ll descend into a wine cellar to learn about the production of cava and taste the sparkling white wine for which Spain is famous. Please note: Due to the ever-changing schedule of church activities, a viewing of the Black Virgin of Montserrat statue cannot be guaranteed.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $89)

Day 6: Departure

  Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

Transfer to the airport for your flight home or extend your stay in Barcelona.

Add Barcelona Starting from $299 pp

Please note: Extension is not available on all departure dates.

From the twisting Gothic quarter to the whimsical creations of Antoni Gaudí and the visionary beauty of Eixample, Barcelona's architectural eye candy has no equal. And its music, theater, art, gastronomy and fashion set the pace for European style. (Plus, its nightlife will have you dancing until dawn.)

Barcelona 2 nights Hotel info

Day 6: Free day in Barcelona

  Included meals: Breakfast

Spend the day exploring Barcelona at your leisure or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Figueres & the Dalí Theatre-Museum $89pp* Details

Venture north of Barcelona for a visit to Figueres, the hometown of Salvador Dalí. Take a guided tour of the Dalí Theatre-Museum, viewing a collection of the artist’s works housed in the town’s former municipal theatre. This is the largest single collection of Dalí’s works anywhere, and the artist himself is buried in a crypt beneath the museum. Afterward, stroll around the artist’s hometown to learn more about where he was born and what his everyday life was like. Enjoy some free time here for lunch before departure.

Must be booked 20 days before departure

Day 7: Free day in Barcelona

  Included meals: Breakfast

Enjoy another free day in the city or add an excursion.

Optional Excursion - Barcelona Chocolate Tasting & Architecture Tour $49pp* Details

Enjoy a drive down Passeig de Gràcia, one of Barcelona’s most important shopping and business avenues, as you make your way to architect Antoni Gaudi’s renowned “House of Bones.” The balconies and pillars of this intricate, colorful building are indicative of Gaudi’s unique work, and you’ll admire this bone-like structure during a photo stop. Then, continue next door for a tour of Casa Amatller. This neo-Gothic building was designed for the chocolate baron and philanthropist Antoni Amatller. You’ll learn about his famous sweets and the history of the building, and taste a variety of chocolates in the original kitchen.

Save $10 when you book this excursion up to 3 days before your tour departs. (On-tour price: $59)

Day 8: Departure

  Included meals: Breakfast (excluding early morning departures)

Transfer to the airport for your flight home.

How's the weather?

  • Barcelona, Spain
Temperature Precipitation
  • JAN
  • FEB
  • MAR
  • APR
  • MAY
  • JUN
  • JUL
  • AUG
  • SEP
  • OCT
  • NOV
  • DEC

Passport & visa requirements

  • In order to enter Spain, U.S. and Canadian citizens need a valid passport with an expiration date extending at least six months beyond the date of reentry. 
  • We recommend having at least one blank passport page for entry stamps.
  • There is no visa required for U.S. or Canadian citizens.
  • If you are not a U.S. or Canadian citizen, you must contact your destination country’s consulate for your specific entry requirements.    

Tour pace

  • You will walk for about 1 hour daily across mostly flat terrain, including paved roads and cobblestone streets, with few hills.
  • Travelers should be healthy enough to participate in all included walks without assistance. Adding optional excursions may increase the total amount of walking on your tour.
  • You should feel comfortable managing your own baggage at times.
  • If you have any mobility concerns or physical restrictions, please contact our Customer Experience Team.

Transportation & arrival information

  • Round-trip flights booked through Go Ahead arrive in and depart from Barcelona. A Go Ahead representative will meet you at the airport and take you to your hotel. Please remain in the arrival lounge, as the representative might be escorting one of your fellow travelers to the bus at the time of your arrival. 
  • Transfers to and from the airport at your destination are included for travelers who have purchased their flights through Go Ahead. Travelers who purchase their own flights may request airport transfers with Go Ahead for an additional cost.
  • All other included transportation on this tour is by private motor coach.
  • For your convenience, a 3-day Barcelona Metro Pass is also included in the price of your tour. 

Baggage allowance

  • Airlines have varying weight restrictions on baggage. Some airlines may impose additional charges if you check any baggage; be advised that you are responsible for any such costs. 
  • Contact your airline for baggage size and weight restrictions for your flight, but please note that Go Ahead travelers are restricted to one checked bag per person due to storage limitations on motor coaches and other transfers, which may include train connections or flights. 
  • One carry-on bag of 45 total inches (length + width + height) is also permitted.
  • Make sure you label your baggage and keep valuables, medication and documents in your carry-on bag.

Clothing & packing tips

  • We recommend packing lightweight, loose-fitting clothing that can be easily layered to accommodate varying temperatures, as well as a light jacket or rainwear.
  • A sturdy pair of walking shoes or sneakers is recommended for sightseeing.
  • You may want to pack dressier attire if you plan to visit a high-end restaurant or attend a special performance. 
  • It is preferable not to visit churches or other religious sites with bare legs and shoulders (and entrance may be denied on this basis).

Health

  • There are no major health risks associated with traveling to Spain. 
  • At least 60 days prior to departure, check with your doctor or healthcare provider for the latest updates and entry requirements, or visit the Center for Disease Control and Prevention website at cdc.gov.
  • If you have medication that you take daily, be sure you have enough for each day of the tour as well as any possible delays encountered.
  • If you have dietary restrictions and/or food allergies please notify Go Ahead at least 30 days prior to departure by logging in to My Account and updating your traveler info. To update this information closer to your departure date, please call our Customer Experience Team.

Cuisine

  • Catalan cuisine, which can be found in Barcelona, is markedly different from food in other parts of Spain. Nearly every restaurant will offer pa amb tomàquet—toasted bread with tomato and olive oil. Fresh seafood, hearty meat dishes, cheeses and locally grown vegetables, such as mushrooms, are culinary mainstays.

Electricity & air conditioning

  • Spain operates on the European standard 220-240 volts and uses Types C, E or F plugs with two small, round pins. 
  • We recommend packing a universal adapter, as well as a voltage converter if you plan on using your own hairdryer or other device without a built-in converter.  
  • The strength of the air conditioning in European hotels is often not as strong or as cool as what you might be used to in the U.S. or Canada. When air conditioning is available, it is usually regulated seasonally and controlled centrally by the hotel. 
  • Your hotels may provide hairdryers, irons and other small appliances. However, these amenities cannot be guaranteed.

Connectivity

  • Wi-Fi is available in most hotels, though some charges may apply. 
  • There is no Wi-Fi on any of the motor coaches. 
  • Please contact your mobile service provider for information on roaming charges.

Time zones

  • Spain is one hour ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) and six hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time (EST). 
  • When it’s noon in New York, it’s 6pm in Barcelona.

Currency

  • You will use the euro in Spain. 
  • Better rates of exchange are usually available overseas, although it’s worth ordering some currency from your local bank to use when you first arrive. 
  • We strongly advise that you take debit/bank cards and credit cards, which can be used to withdraw cash at local banks as needed. 
  • You can use most debit/credit cards at ATMs on the international networks Cirrus and Plus, but make sure to check with your home bank about withdrawal fees. 
  • Inform your bank and credit card company of your travel plans so that they won’t confuse your international purchases for fraudulent charges.
  • International banks and businesses primarily accept debit and credit cards that work with the EMV chip system. If you do not already have at least one debit or credit card with a chip in it, we strongly recommend requesting one from your bank prior to your tour.

Tipping

  • At the conclusion of your tour, it’s customary to offer your Tour Director and driver a gratuity in local currency. Please keep current exchange rates in mind.
  • We recommend tipping the equivalent of $7USD/CAD to $10USD/CAD per person per day for your Tour Director and the equivalent of $3USD/CAD per person per day for your driver.
  • If applicable, we also recommend the equivalent of $2USD/CAD per local guide. 
  • Tips can only be paid in cash. 

Purchasing excursions on tour

  • Most optional excursions will be available for purchase while you are on tour.
  • Your Tour Director will only accept cash (in USD only), Visa or MasterCard as payment for excursions. 
  • Please be advised that if you pay for an excursion by credit card while on tour, it may take up to three months for your card to be charged. 
  • Some optional excursions may only be purchased in advance. See page four of your tour itinerary for more information.

See what our travelers say about this tour—all reviews are authentic and unedited.

Have you been on tour with us? Visit My Account to submit a review.

2 / 5

2 / 5

Tour Date: 10/15/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: MA

Tour Director: 2 / 5

Tour Value: 2 / 5

Barcelona City Experience

This trip sounds good on website and on paper, but it is too ambitious to be a leisurely experience in Barcelona in six days. For seniors like myself and my companion, there was definitely too much walking. The first evening meal was at a restaurant that wasn't very good. In fact, I suffered food poisoning from eating there. Our accommodations were lovely. The hotel and its staff were professional and efficient, and very friendly. Our guide, however, was too busy putting people on and off the bus to be any help. She made no effort to ask about my illness the first two days, other than asking my companion where I was. When told, I was ill, no reaction from her, or a call to me in my room. When we did start the walking tour of the old city, the seniors were told to wait at a bench while the others toured the old city. We waited for over one hour. It was not very well organized, and we wasted time, and money, because this excursion was pre-paid, and we got zero from sitting there so long. My companion and I when I recovered did our own thing. We toured what we wanted, when we wanted. We ate in a lovely cafe and had no problems at. all The transportation from Boston to Dublin Ireland on Aer Lingus, was abysmal. Aer Lingus in Dublin was totally unprepared to receive passengers that early in the morning, and as a result of the plane's late arrival, we were forced to literally run to a far gate to our next plane to Barcelona. Terrible. The departure from Dublin was delayed over an hour by, to quote the pilot, "rain on the runway"! Our return trip from Barcelona was just as stressful. the first flight from Barcelona arrived in London, and we had to take two shuttle buses and walk the length of Heathrow to the gate for our next flight. Now, airports are usually bad, I know, but the double-hop scenario that Go Ahead planned for us seniors was ill-advised. Especially since other members of our tour, when we arrived in Barcelona, spoke of their direct flight from Boston to Barcelona on Iberia Air! Why were we not on that flight? We booked early enough. . Let the buyer beware, the trip's low cost should have told us that Go Ahead made the cheapest arrangements. We will not be using them in the future

 

Dear Tom, We regret that you felt this tour was overly ambitious and required too much walking. We are glad that a member of our Quality Control team was able to speak with you to learn more about your experience, as we greatly appreciate your feedback. It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed your accommodations and that you found the staff to be helpful and pleasant. We regret to learn that you became ill after the first evening and that you felt your Tour Director didn’t express enough concern. We will be sure to share this information with her, as this is certainly not how we wish you to feel. Regarding the tour of Barcelona, we regret that you and a few others did not participate. If travelers do not feel up to participating in parts of the core itinerary, this is ultimately their decision, and the Tour Director will do their best to provide alternate suggestions for those who opt out. However, depending on the area and the schedule, it may require those who don’t participate to wait for the rest of the group to complete the activity or tour. In terms of the pacing, this tour is actually categorized as one of our slower-paced itineraries; however, you chose to include a couple of optionals, which will increase the pace of the tour. We offer optionals so that travelers are able to customize their pace to an extent, so in the future, we recommend perhaps not including them if you would like more leisure time. Regarding your flight experience, we regret that it did not meet your expectations. As a company of travelers, we understand the frustration that air travel can cause, and we regret that this was not a smooth, seamless experience for you. Flight delays combined with the stress of making connected flights can make for a taxing trip, and we certainly never want this to be the case for any of our travelers. Unfortunately, the flight experience is out of Go Ahead’s control and at the full discretion of the airlines. Regarding your flight itinerary, the reason we could not book you on a direct flight is because there is no direct flight from Boston to Barcelona. Those who had a direct flight on your tour were not originating from Boston. We regret if this was unclear when you confirmed your flights prior to tour. Again, we regret that you felt this tour was too physically demanding and that your flight experience was not smooth and enjoyable. We will be sure to share all of your feedback with our team internally, and we thank you for sharing it. We hope to welcome you on tour again.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | November 14, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 10/15/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: MA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Barcelona

An overall amazing experience that hits all of the highlights, yet allows the time and flexibility take the city in your own. Our tour guide was wonderful and helpful! Walking is the best way to see this city, so wear comfortable shoes!

 

Hi Samantha! We’re thrilled that you had an amazing time in Barcelona! We appreciate your great feedback on the itinerary as well as your Tour Director. Also, you make a great suggestion to bring along comfortable shoes! Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you on tour in 2017.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | November 14, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 9/24/2016

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: TX

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

A Delightful Week!

A wonderful experience with just the right amount of free time and several optional tours. Bring your walking shoes. An art and architecture extravaganza. By all means take the excursion to the Dali Museum.

 

Hi Michael! We're thrilled that you had a wonderful time. Great suggestion to bring comfortable walking shoes! Thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you on tour again.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | October 05, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 9/3/2016

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

My favorite City!

I had a fantastic time on the Barcelona tour! This was my second time traveling with Go Ahead and I have had very positive experiences both times. I travel alone so I appreciate not having to plan everything myself and having the support of a tour guide when I need them. This tour was a short one so I booked the extension and I'm glad I did! I would have been sad to leave so soon. Our tour guide Fabiola was great, so funny and helpful. I loved all the excursions, so much was packed into a day I felt like I was able to see everything I wanted and still have plenty of time to walk around and explore this amazing city. I will most definitely be back!!!

 

Hi Julie! It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed your second Go Ahead tour. Barcelona is certainly an amazing destination! We're glad you felt like you had enough time to explore the city on your own, while still enjoying the benefits of a guided tour. Thank you for your review, and we can't wait to welcome you on your third tour!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | September 15, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 7/23/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NC

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

My First Time

This was my first time traveling abroad and my tour director Antonio made it a great experience. He was very knowledgeable about all of the excursions and was very helpful in making suggestions when it came to touring the city on our own. The people I met were also amazing, many who had travelled abroad with Go Ahead previously. I will be booking my next trip very soon.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 7/23/2016

Number of Past Tours: 3

From: MO

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

LA PEDRERA

EL TOUR FUE UNO DE LOS MEJORES QUE HEMOS TENIDO CON GO AHEAD EL TOUR GUIDE ANTONIO MUY CONOCEDOR DEL AREA EN BARCELONA SIEMPRE TRATANDO DE BUSCAR ALGO EN QUE PODAMOS DISFRUTAR MAS DEL LUGAR EL GUIDE LOCAL MUY INFORMADA SOBRE EL TODO EN GENERAL

 

Hola Eduardo! Nos alegra que este ha sido uno de los mejores tours que han tomado con nosotros! Apreciamos sus comentarios sobre Antonio y el guía local, y nos encargaremos de compartirlos. Un millón de gracias por sus lindas palabras sobre su experiencia en Barcelona. Los esperamos en el próximo tour!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | August 19, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 7/22/2016

Number of Past Tours: 5

From: FL

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

The Old and the New

Barcelona was fantastic, especially the 4 buildings (church, 2 homes and a park) designed by the architect, Antonio Gaudi. Each was so unique that it defies description... As we toured each part of the city, I really felt admiration for the people who had worked hard to build and improve each of the sections of town, so that the newer parts blended well with the original structures. The food was a treat for the taste buds!

 

Hi Betty! Gaudi is certainly one reason to fall in love with Barcelona! We’re so glad you were able to admire his iconic work. It’s also great to learn that you enjoyed the cuisine, and we couldn’t agree more that it’s a treat for the taste buds! Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you on another tour.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | August 17, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 5/21/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: CA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Easy, organized, a true vacation

If you're considering a Go Ahead tour, at least to Barcelona (my first and only Go Ahead trip, so far :-) ), then consider no longer and book!!! The entire process was flawless and ended up being everything I wanted in a vacation. Go Ahead takes out all of the legwork for you, planning and coordinating flights and hotels, pick up from the airport with transportation to hotel, pick up from hotel with transportation to airport, a wonderful welcome dinner, a beautiful day seeing the city with a wonderfully knowledgeable guide - then "optional" excursions, which, you should choose a couple - and a farewell dinner and show together. I searched for a while and read a lot of Go Ahead reviews before choosing them, and I am very glad I did. I have not a single criticism of the tour - other than it was too short ?. Something I was not aware of which our Go Ahead tour guide told us was that many of the major sightseeing experiences can be difficult to get into on your own - if you just walk up to them randomly to buy tickets....there's the possibility you could wait in line for hours, or miss the sight entirely. Case in point, we had our reservation and tickets to get into Parc Guell, where they only let 400 people in every hour? half an hour? something like that (which I had no idea), but we got right in with our reservation so we didn't miss this wonderful adventure; and this was an optional excursion. A couple on my tour didn't choose this optional but decided to go see Parc Guell on their on with their free time the next day and they arrived at 11:00 a.m., and were told they could not get in until after 4:30 p.m., they decided not to wait and never got to go inside. SO, tours are wonderful for this reason, if not this reason alone! We saw La Sagrada Familia, Parc Guell, Monsterrat, and took a tour of the Freixenet cava cellars. All planned, all paid for (by you when you book your tour, no need to pay more onsite), all with transportation and guides throughout. Fabiola was our Go Ahead representative in Barcelona and she was outstanding! Barcelona is a beautiful city, with a rich history, and each day I packed so much in! I will need to go back to take some time to lay on the beach and drink cocktails, this trip, there was no time. If you are a futbol fan Camp Nou is not to be missed! This wasn't on any agenda, I took the Metro through the city to the appropriate stop, walked the rest of the way, and for approximately 22euros I took the tour. Awesome! It should be noted that I took this tour alone, I hadn't traveled internationally in over 20 years, and so I wasn't sure what to expect, but I can truly say it exceeded my expectations. I can't wait to book my next tour with Go Ahead!

1 / 8
 

Hi Jana! We’re thrilled that you had a flawless experience! We love taking care of all the planning so that you can relax and enjoy your time on tour. You’re right that tours can provide opportunities for travelers which may be challenging to have independently. We have a very knowledgeable staff who know the ins and outs of all of our destinations. We’re so glad you were able to see Parc Guell, one of the major works of Gaudi. Barcelona is such a fascinating city, and with this tour you’re able to see much of what makes it unique. It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed your Tour Director and that she was a wonderful resource for you. We agree that a second trip to Barcelona is a good idea, as there’s so much to see and do (including relaxing on the beach with a cocktail). Thank you for your fabulous review, and we look forward to welcoming you on tour again!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | June 01, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 3/12/2016

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: VA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Well Done; excellent tour guide

This was the perfect get-away. the perfect mix of explore on your own time and organized excursions. Our Tour guide was lovely and our group had an unexpected medical emergency and she took care of all their needs; above and beyond just a tour guide service. I would feel very confident that Go Ahead Tours will take care of you when you are with them. I traveled with my 82 year old mother, and she was completely comfortable with the group, the pace and the accommodations. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

 

Hi Kathleen! We’re happy you enjoyed the balance of the itinerary and that you felt taken care of by your Tour Director. Traveler safety and health are always our top priorities on any tour, and we’re glad you could sense that. We’re also pleased to learn that your mother found the pace and the accommodations to be comfortable. Thank you for choosing Go Ahead, and thank you for submitting a review! We hope to see you on the road again soon.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | April 12, 2016

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 12/5/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: VA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

“Barthelona"

I was supposed to go to Barcelona with (E F Tours) and several teacher friends several years ago. It was to be an adult vacation during my Easter break from school. One week before we were supposed to go it was changed to going with a middle school group of kids and our trip was reassigned to Madrid. Madrid is a wonderful city but not at all what we had planned. I was terribly disappointed and not the plan. The guide seemed tired and it was just a bummer. Barcelona was AMAZING! I was with my friends and the tour guide Jose’ Ramon Garcia Sanchez, He had a passion for his job, his country and life! I had never experienced such love, such kindnesses, such a zest for living as the days spent with Jose’. We experienced the people, the food, the wine, the smells, the city, the electricity in the air and the artistry like no other group trip I have ever been a part of. To say that I LOVED Barcelona is an understatement! I am planning another trip there soon. Thank God for Jose! What a guy!

 

Dear Sandi, We regret to learn that your experience with our sister product, EF Educational Tours, did not meet your expectations. However, we are glad that you had an amazing time on your recent Go Ahead tour to Barcelona! As the adult tours division of EF Education First, it sounds like Go Ahead is a better fit for you, and we’re so glad you were able go to Barcelona with us. We appreciate your feedback on your itinerary in Barcelona, as well as your Tour Director. We love to hear that your Tour Director’s passion and enthusiasm for his country positively impacted your experience. We will be sure to share that with him. It’s also great to know that you fell in love with Barcelona, and we can certainly understand why! Thank you for your thoughtful review, Sandi. We hope to welcome you on tour again.

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | December 02, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 12/5/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: IL

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Jose is AMAZING

If you get Jose as your tour director, you won't be disappointed. He is AMAZING. He goes out of his way to make sure you have the best experience of your life and that you see everything you want to see. He could not have been more helpful, courteous, or engaging. Barcelona was also amazing - I had a phenomenal time on the trip and would love to go again! The trip actually lost a star for Go Ahead Tours' corporate office. The customer service there is INCREDIBLY sub-par. Jose is the ONLY reason I haven't cancelled my two upcoming trips with Go Ahead and I will do everything I possibly can online so I don't have to deal with their corporate office. If you want an amazing trip, definitely travel with Jose, but if you're expecting world class customer service, there are MUCH better tour companies out there than Go Ahead.

1 / 1
 

Dear Dannie, Welcome home and thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear you had the best experience of your life and that you saw everything you wanted to see. How wonderful! We’re also very pleased to hear you enjoyed your Tour Director. Our Operations Team does a fantastic job in finding the very best guides. We agree that Barcelona is an amazing spot, and we’re so glad you were able to enjoy it! Regarding your customer service experience, we regret to hear it did not meet your expectations. A member of our Quality Control team has reached out to you today via e-mail to begin a dialogue if you’d like to discuss your experience further. You can also give us a call at 1(800)597-0350 and ask for Quality Control. We are concerned to hear your feedback about our customer service as we receive positive feedback in this area. Again, we regret to hear this aspect of your experience with Go Ahead did not meet your expectations, and should you want to discuss it further, please feel free to reach out to us. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you on your next Go Ahead tour!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | January 14, 2016

4 / 5

4 / 5

Tour Date: 12/5/2015

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: IL

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

Barcelona has it goin' on

This tour was a lot of fun! We saw so many beautiful things and went to lots of great places. My only complaint about this tour is that it is too short! Jose was a great tour guide. He was so thoughtful and did everything possible to help anybody that needed help during the tour. You should consider making it six or seven days instead. I missed out on three things I wanted to do simply because there was not enough time. I booked all of the optional excursions and they were great, but Monday was the only day we had a lot of free time and this day it also happened that the Picasso museum is closed so I didn't get a chance to do that. Barcelona has so much great architecture and art everywhere. I would recommend this tour to anyone that loves are and or architecture.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 10/1/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Barcelona: Welcoming Tour and Guide

This was my first tour ever so I had some trepidation about travelling to Barcelona on my own. However, it was one of my favoriite vacations of all time!! Firstly, our hotel, Old Berna, was beautiful and the staff could not have been more accomodating. And we lucked out with Lourdes as our tour guide who was very personable and informative. I took all of the excursions save for one and had the best time on all of them. My favorite was the tour to La Sagrada Familia which just popped up out of nowhere as we turned a corner. An amazing site followed by a glass of cava. Could you ask for a better day? The other people on the tour were very friendly and we shared many dinners and tour wonders with each other. After 6 days, I was sad to leave. I have already recommended this tour to friends and am looking forward to taking another in the next year or two.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 10/1/2015

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

My New Favorite City

This tour is a must for anyone who dreams of visiting Spain or has a love Gaudi architecture. I loved that this tour was in one hotel so you do not have to move every day. I liked that there was a lot of free time but I thought there was not enough group activities. For this tour there was only one welcome dinner and one day which everyone participated as a standard tour. Every other tour was optional. And every other meal was on your own. (Except standard hotel breakfast) This is good for people who like to pick and choose and it was lucky that all tours were given but there is a chance that enough people won't sign up and I think that is a negative about this tour. I also did not like that there was not a farewell dinner which every tour I have been on typically has. Our wonderful tour director Lourdes did offer a farewell drink at a local bar so we could all try the Vermouth. (Which was delicious) I would recommend to Go Ahead to have one day devoted to Gaudi instead of several tours over several days. This tour did not include a visit to the Miro Museum or the National Museum which really is a must for any traveler to Barcelona. The hotel was very comfortable but some of the front desk staff did seem put off when any questions were asked or help was needed. Our tour director really made the time special by giving recommendations to local attractions that is off the regular path of tourists. From her suggestions I visited a Moorish Spa, went to two concerts, ate at a restaurant that had the best Duck LÓrange I ever ate. Her help was invaluable to get the most from this tour experience.

 

Welcome home, Diane, and thank you very much for writing this review! We are so pleased that you chose to explore this beautiful and historical city with Go Ahead, it is certainly one of our favorites as well. We are proud to offer our travelers a wide portfolio of tours to satisfy a range of interests. We have some tours where many things are included and there is much more structured time for those looking additional guidance. We also have some tours that are better suited for travelers who like to explore on their own, with the suggestions and support of their Tour Director. We certainly appreciate your suggestions for how to improve this tour, and will keep them in mind when evaluating this itinerary moving forward.Thank you again for sharing your highlights and suggestions for this tour. We hope to welcome you onto another Go Ahead tour in the future!

Posted by Daniela, Director of Quality Control | October 14, 2015

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 9/19/2015

Number of Past Tours: 2

From: NC

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

BEST TOUR DIRECTOR

TOUR DIRECTOR TOOK CARE OF US FROM THE TIME OF ARRIVAL UNTIL DEPARTURE. KEPT OUR DAYS FULL OF EXCITING THINGS TO DO AND PARTICIPATE DURING OUR STAY. AVAILABLE AROUND THE CLOCK TO HANDLE ALL OF OUR QUESTIONS AND PROVIDED DETAILED INFORMATION.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 9/19/2015

Number of Past Tours: 4

From: TN

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Nice Intro to Spain

This 4- day trip to Barcelona was amazing, but too short- should have done an extension! We were able to tour around the major site-seeing areas created by Gaudi such as Sagrada Familia and Parc Gaudi. We also saw Montserrat and the Dali museum. But we felt like there was still more to see which we didn't have a chance to. Our 5-star hotel was centrally located which was a big help when getting around to other tourist stops and easily grabbing a taxi. This was my fourth Go Ahead tour, and I plan to continue to use them. Before I came I thought that the language barrier would be a problem, but it wasn't at all- everyone was kind and spoke English. Our tour guide, Jose, was really the best tour guide I have experienced with the company- he was so kind, generous, and patient with everyone which contributed to this once in a lifetime experience. I honestly would not have had a great time with any other tour director. Our local guide to the Dali museum was a gem and she provided the history behind the major art pieces which added to the experience. Keep in mind that some excursions may take a significant time out of your day which may limit your time to do other things.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 5/2/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: FL

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

The Best of Barcelona

This 4 day tour with added excursions was exciting, thorough, professional and comfortable. Accommodations were clean, centrally located,and updated. Our tour director was well informed had excellent communication skills,and was very approachable. It was a fun, interesting trip!

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 5/2/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NC

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Great Vacation days

Our tour director Fablolo was great. She more than took care of us all. We also had excellent guides for reiviewing the sites as well as art. We extended our tour two days to May 9th. and everything was taken care of as far as the hotel, flight arrangements and airport pickup. Again Fablolo was great on the spain end and the go ahead crew on the us end. The overall trip was beyond our expectations. The only slight negative was the United Airline trip to spain where they used a too crowed small plane to go that long ways. Going back was more like it. Will see goahead soon for another trip.

1 / 1

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 5/2/2015

Number of Past Tours: 1

From: NY

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 5 / 5

Great tour!

This was a great experience for me. I enjoyed Barcelona and I wished I could stayed longer.

5 / 5

5 / 5

Tour Date: 3/7/2015

Number of Past Tours: 3

From: VA

Tour Director: 5 / 5

Tour Value: 4 / 5

The best of Barcelona in less than a week!

Our hotel, Eixample 1864 with it's exquisite exterior frescoes, was fabulous, Fabiola, our tour director was energetic, enthusiastic and a wealth of knowledge. With it's unusual surreal buildings, unique tiled gardens, bustling Las Ramblas shopping district, plus a plethora of tasty tapas seemingly around every corner, Barcelona definitely met my every expectation. My favorites, were Casa Mila, the Picasso Museum, and of course the breathtaking Sagrada Familia. And all of this within the backdrop of the beautiful turquoise waters of the Mediterranean Sea. My memories of Barcelona will last a lifetime.

Show More Reviews